one_glove

Suspended
both are rumored to want to leave as everyone would know by now, I think these would both be very hand for the saints (obviously), specifically Blake... What are the saints chances and what does everyone think we would have to give up for these geelong boys?

Blake for Blake ?????

I doubt Blake will leave, he is a born and bred Geelong boy. It would surprise me greatly if he did.
Sorry to intrude

There was an artical on players who got dropped for Grand Finals in the hearld sun - not one played with that team the next year

Aparently he didnt go to the GF parade even when Geelong wanted him to

Also i remember pre match comments from Balme and Thompson basically talking about how badly he was and had the 'bad luck but thats life get on with it' attitute. It felt like they took delight in Blake's misfortune.

i think it's plausible he'd want to leave... I also think he would be a very handy inclusion

Mark Blake is another player being overated because he played in a great team. He would give us nothing we don't already have in Rix. Just another big doofus who can contest the ruck duels and then dawdle around the ground amassing zero posessions. Give me another hard running midfielder anyday.

usally I find Saints fans to be quite intellegent - no joke!

I guess there is always an execption!! If you cant see Blakes potential you have rocks in your head

I tend to agree with fryman on this, I don't doubt he has potential but I'm not willing to give up much to get him. He's been overrated this season because he was made to look good in that side but his value around the ground is limited. He may come on in the next few years but I'm not too keen on him.

Prismall on the other, I'd like to see him join us. I rate him quiet highly and think he'd be a great pick up. I'd definately give up a 2nd round pick for Prismall.

yep and geelong will carry someone for 22 rounds

riiiiiiiiighhhhhhhhhhtt

you forget that King was injured for most of the year, so Blake was given more opportunity than his form warranted. Had a bit of a good run towards the end of the H&A but then fell off again come finals. When it came to the crunch in the GF we went with King. I think that speaks volumes.

Agree ... Blake played some good footy, but if King had been fit the whole year, I don't reckon Blake would have played more than about 10-12 matches.

He still needs 2-3 years development before he is a #1 ruck. Even then, I see him more in the Darren Jolly mould of a solid hitouts ruckman without offering a huge amount more.

Blake won't leave, especially now with the CATS looking good for the next 3 years or so. He knows his chance will come and unlucky he missed a shot at the GF.

Prismall would be good, clean hands and good kicking skills. Performs well under pressure. Another player unfortunate not to get a spot in their seniors. Line ball on whether he's worth a first round pick or not.

Sorry to intrude

There was an artical on players who got dropped for Grand Finals in the hearld sun - not one played with that team the next year

Also i remember pre match comments from Balme and Thompson basically talking about how badly he was and had the 'bad luck but thats life get on with it' attitute. It felt like they took delight in Blake's misfortune.

i dont know about this "apparently....." and then you allow to speak as much bullshit as you want...

i was at the parade and mark blake was definately there.
another thing, apparently jed addcock has gotten his manager to sell him around other clubs before signing his contract cause basically theres no money left in lions cap with power and brown taken up 1.5 between them already.

How does being in a good team help a ruckmen look good? A good team doesn't win you hit outs.

You have to give him credit, as a ruckmen drafted in 2003 his performance has been tremendous. 10th in the league for hit outs while playing 2nd fiddle to Ottens and with an above average hit outs to advantage %.

His figures this year are actually better than Dean Cox, Aaron Sandilands & Hamish McIntosh's were at the same time in their career. Granted he has a dud kick, particularly at goal, but he is improving rapidly in every part of the game. Another two years of development could see him as one of the league's better ruckmen.

Lets remember that King at 27 is an ex AA ruckmen & 2 x B&F. Harsh but the right decision was made. King is a better ruckmen at this stage and gave the best ruck combination a hiding on Grand Final day. That says nothing about Blake's ability if you ask me.

Blake's good and will continue to develop sure. But most people would agree that a ruckman has to be able to kick properly - especially if they're going to be "rested" in the forward line. A ruckman who can't kick and can't kick goals will become a liability so resting him on the bench will cost another player his spot.

At this stage in their careers, if they have a suspect kicking style, how can they be taught to kick properly? You would think it's one of those areas which should have been addressed in his teenage years. But then again, it's possible to teach a old dog new tricks :)

Sorry to intrude

What bollocks.

Yep. It would have been an extremely difficult decision for the GFC match committee to make; IMO they made the correct call to play King over Blake. PA have 2 big well seasoned rucks, and GFC needed to at least match them in that area. (In fact they surpassed them, and winning a flag clearly justified the decision)

Blake is a decent ruck now, and should get much better. Frankly, I'd be amazed if he went elsewhere, especially given King's history of injury. GFC isn't the boat to jump off just yet, they could easily have a serious crack at a flag again next year as well, and possibly even beyond that.

blake was ok all year, so too was nathan ablett
at any other club they would have been made to look ordinary
when the team is killing it you can look awesome
if richardson was a catter he would be a superstar, considering our delivery up front
blake's dad wants to chat re his richmond game, geez i think even the cats mascot would have played ok in the ruck that day
all the crapola re blake is self inflicted, he released info to the media, his manager is shopping him around, his dad is sooking

needs to grow up, his skill set is poor

as for prismall awesome player, highly rated, and will not be going anywhere, we need quality backup

Blake's good and will continue to develop sure. But most people would agree that a ruckman has to be able to kick properly - especially if they're going to be "rested" in the forward line. A ruckman who can't kick and can't kick goals will become a liability so resting him on the bench will cost another player his spot.

At this stage in their careers, if they have a suspect kicking style, how can they be taught to kick properly? You would think it's one of those areas which should have been addressed in his teenage years. But then again, it's possible to teach a old dog new tricks :)

Scotty Wynd anyone. Snagged a Brownlow too.

regards,

REB

Scotty Wynd anyone. Snagged a Brownlow too.

regards,

REB

Yeah fair comment too. But I think in todays game environment, it would be a whole new ball game. Not bagging Blake though, he will continue to develop and hopefully he does get the medal that he missed out on. Things have a funny way of evening out.

Read the article in todays Hun as well. Think they (family) should just vent and get on with it. Nothings going to change now and if he wants to leave the club, then he's probably shooting himself in the foot. $800k is good money though and most people would jump at the opportunity.

But would it be for the money or do they really think it would benefit their careers?