Bluemour Discussion Thread IX

So by 2022 he might have played a decent game then.

Tonight is his chance to actually show something more than a pressure act. Let's see if he takes that opportunity.

Nah, based on his upward progression he's due for 15 possessions, 6 tackles and a goal in a couple of matches.

We suck (obviously), and Polson isn't going to be the difference between sucking and winning. There really is no rush to put a line through him.

Or we can play Graham and allow opposition to use his lack of mobility to cut us up consistently on the rebound, that would be fun.

He's taken 1 mark in 5 games. That's pathetic.

If he's medium sized and quick he should be able to get some seperation at some stage to present as a target.

If you're getting nothing offensively from a player it makes a forward line that can't score for shit even less potent.

If he doesn't get 12-15 touches, 4-5 marks and tackles and a goal back to the Magoo's for Polson.
I reckon if Polson can hit those numbers while maintaining his 'pressure first' mindset he'll have put out nearly as good a small forward performance of any Carlton player this year in terms of game impact.

Also, let's put that "12-15 touches, 4-5 marks and tackles and a goal" expectation into context:
Eddie's averages this year are 13 disposals, 2.9 tackles, 1.7 goals and 2.3 marks.
Daniel Rioli: 10, 6, 1.3, 2.3.
Bolton: 8, 1.5, 0.5, 2.
Castagna: 10, 3.1, 1.5, 2.4.
Cameron: 12, 4.3, 2.5, 1.5.
McDonald-Tipungwuti: 11, 3.3, 4.1, 1.
Wright: 13, 3.8, 2.2, 0.9.
LeCras: 14, 3.8, 3.4, 1.7.
Puopulo: 11, 1.5, 4.4, 1.
Papley: 13, 3.1, 2.9, 1.

Only room for one credible Mr around here.

As for Polson, he is trending up with every game played and I'd take his 9 possessions and 25 pressure acts over Graham's 15 possessions and poor defensive coverage.

Graham is a net negative already, Polson can be a net positive through adequate defence.
Sad to see you go, mate.

Y'all forget about a fella called Simmo who didn't get a touch in his first few. Well now he's played 300 games. Give Polson and the MC a chance to prove themselves. I have more of an issue with Wright's inability to put any pressure on the opposition and not kick easy goals.

Took Simmo more than 20 games to break an average of 10 disposals a game

I reckon if Polson can hit those numbers while maintaining his 'pressure first' mindset he'll have put out nearly as good a small forward performance of any Carlton player this year in terms of game impact.

Also, let's put that "12-15 touches, 4-5 marks and tackles and a goal" expectation into context:
Eddie's averages this year are 13 disposals, 2.9 tackles, 1.7 goals and 2.3 marks.
Daniel Rioli: 10, 6, 1.3, 2.3.
Bolton: 8, 1.5, 0.5, 2.
Castagna: 10, 3.1, 1.5, 2.4.
Cameron: 12, 4.3, 2.5, 1.5.
McDonald-Tipungwuti: 11, 3.3, 4.1, 1.
Wright: 13, 3.8, 2.2, 0.9.
LeCras: 14, 3.8, 3.4, 1.7.
Puopulo: 11, 1.5, 4.4, 1.
Papley: 13, 3.1, 2.9, 1.

Excellent research. Well done.

I'm assuming the goals and marks columns are not in the same order as the lead-in (Eddie)?

Some players just show promise, even if they aren't killing it on the stats sheet.

Other players are destined to be plodders, despite racking up half-decent numbers.

Polson is one of the former. Graham the latter.
I agree for the most part, but there are of course exceptions

Many used to say the same about Ed

yeah, bit confusing, all follows the same as Eddie: disposals, tackles, goals, marks (hopefully haven't got any in the wrong order).
I think you may have flipped it for some of them. I wouldn't have thought McDonald-T and Puopolo are averaging more than 4 goals a game.

Well we don't know what he'll be as he's done sod all. For now though he's not contributing much on the field at all.

You need to start finishing your statements with an " In my opinion " attached to them. I have read your statements the last page and a half yet you are writing as if what you are saying is fact. It isn't. Just one random internet person's opinion.

Bold Prediction (otherwise going against the grain but with reason): Cam Polson will be in consideration for All-Australian pressure forwards by 2021.

Honestly, I love what the young lad is doing. We've needed genuine a pressure forward to come through for several years. The possessions and the goals will come. It's not about separation from his opponents. He's simply not being targeted at all for that to be a concern. He's quick enough for the role that he needs to fulfill already and he'll get quicker and stronger as his body matures. He has a few brain fades or periods of skill lapse but the kid's in his first few games for ****s sake. I don't know a kid that doesn't. What I love most is the intensity. Kid is vicious. He's going to become an attack dog. Now you add two ridiculously athletic and mobile key forwards in Charlie Curnow and Harry McKay, a healthy and aggressive Jarrod Pickett and a genuine medium forward (maybe Jack Silvagni develops) and all of a sudden you have a complete 5-man forward line with hopefully quality resting midfielders rotating in and out.

If Pickett or Garlett (if you want to play Pickett elsewhere) develop a genuine goal sense to go with it, look out.

FF - Polson - McKay - Silvagni
HF - Pickett - Curnow - (mid)

That's a futuristic worst case scenario that could be pretty spectacular.

Bold Prediction (otherwise going against the grain but with reason): Cam Polson will be in consideration for All-Australian pressure forwards by 2021.

Honestly, I love what the young lad is doing. We've needed genuine a pressure forward to come through for several years. The possessions and the goals will come. It's not about separation from his opponents. He's simply not being targeted at all for that to be a concern. He's quick enough for the role that he needs to fulfill already and he'll get quicker and stronger as his body matures. He has a few brain fades or periods of skill lapse but the kid's in his first few games for ****s sake. I don't know a kid that doesn't. What I love most is the intensity. Kid is vicious. He's going to become an attack dog. Now you add two ridiculously athletic and mobile key forwards in Charlie Curnow and Harry McKay, a healthy and aggressive Jarrod Pickett and a genuine medium forward (maybe Jack Silvagni develops) and all of a sudden you have a complete 5-man forward line with hopefully quality resting midfielders rotating in and out.

If Pickett or Garlett (if you want to play Pickett elsewhere) develop a genuine goal sense to go with it, look out.

I really want to believe you.....
At this point, I’d describe this as a very bold call. But I like it.

Without entirely agreeing with Bostonian (because I don't), he has shown some pretty hard hands when the footy gets in his area.

It's improving very slowly, but he'll be under selection pressure if he doesn't take another step in this match. Last week was a very down performance compared to the week before.

I agree he has to show more improvement every week. A 5 possession game full of fumbles will see him in the VFL next week, especially if Byrne plays well in the VFL and Shaw/Lamb play better than him. Different positions granted but Lamb is named down back this week so could go forward again next week.

look_through_rose_colored_glasses_by_christian3400-d768xsn.jpg

I think you may have flipped it for some of them. I wouldn't have thought McDonald-T and Puopolo are averaging more than 4 goals a game.

Haha, yeah wouldn’t surprise me if that happened... was typing it out on a Friday afternoon after all...

You have to applaud his positivity in these dark times.

The last time I made a bold prediction about an individual Carlton player was Sam Docherty. I called him as a future captain in his first year at the club.

Reading between the lines based on media interviews tonight and rumours on here, I reckon Cripps is Signed, Sealed and delivered.

Our CEO hinted things are good off field with some more player signings to be announced next week.

Awesome if true