Bluemour Discussion Thread VI (cont. in Part VII)

Some would consider 19 just a kid. Most 19 year olds would still live with their parents.

Some families are closer than others...some kids might say they don't care what their parents think while to others their opinion means alot.

Also depends on the nature of these pranks which we don't know.
One of the pranks was replacing Gatorade with urine...and Hopper drank this apparently.

An interesting angle on this is potentially how attractive CFC would now look to PARENTS of potential recruits - Bolton's inclusive approach to family and staff (see staff and club morale up due to inclusiveness across ALL staff at the club, see parents footy game, Bolts telling draftees of '16 in the journey ep1 to help around the house at xmas time "show parents you've become a man", just the tip of the ice berg in terms of examples), his emphasis on community involvement (seeing the big smile on Bolts' face re Armfield winning the Jim Stynes medal) and strong emphasis on good character and maturity are all huge signs of a very strong culture that will assist creating not only successful footballers but grounded, mature young men. All of this would be incredibly appealing to families when discussing a move to another club....

ALWAYS important to get in tight with the mother when you are courting a young adult...

EDIT: I was originally going to include the disclaimer "And don't take this out of context, jerks". But I thought...no BF is better than that. B_B, thanks for reminding me to trust my instincts and that you should never underestimate BF's juvenile side. Not one to unfairly cast stones, I should have just asked myself how I would be tempted to respond to such a post...:)

Jesus Christ the self righteousness in this thread is off its head.

Uber exists because of technological progression, and it prospers as service standards in the next best alternative are non-existent, and Government Failure to properly engage with their management, and regulate.

Uber Eats is helping increase the audience reach and accessibility for small business owners.

I reckon we could align ourselves with St Vincent de Paul and there would still be people around here complaining that it only recognises one religion.

Uber exists because of technological progression, and it prospers as service standards in the next best alternative are non-existent, and Government Failure to properly engage with their management, and regulate.

Uber Eats is helping increase the audience reach and accessibility for small business owners.

I reckon we could align ourselves with St Vincent de Paul and there would still be people around here complaining that it only recognises one religion.
They're not failing to act mate, they're being bought.

Couple in interesting points.

Wants a 3 or 4 year deal. Starting to sound like CFC has offered a 2 year deal with a 3rd based on triggers

Fremantle, Richmond and Collingwood looking for a "key backup forward" (No different to what he will be with us from next year onward)

Personally, if he leaves, it won't trigger a band 3, maybe not even band 4. Wouldn't be shattered if he moves on, but at that rate, would rather keep him

It's great to improve an individual and even better when the you improve the collective. (in this case the way the midfield functions)

I like what Bolton is doing by way of sticking to the game-plan until the group are ready to take on the next lesson.
Could make for quite an exciting pre-season, as the 15 odd under 20's we have, have been together for at least the one full year.

Bolts took over at the end of 2015. We had a major list turnover and recruited and debuted a bazillion kids. I expected us to start 2016 off looking disorganised but to slowly improve through the season. Instead, I saw the most consistent, cohesive unit don the Navy Blue in years. And that cohesion and consistency stepped up several notches this year.

I thought having so many new (and fresh) faces would be a weakness, but instead I think it worked to our advantage. It gave us more of a clean slate, able to take on new ideas and gameplans. Changes in talent aside, I feel we wouldn't have seen such a drastic shift in on-field execution if the only thing we'd changed was the coaching.

Strongly disagree with this statement. Pokies are the lesser of two evils when the alternative is a company that has consistently cashed in even when human tradgedy is involved.

They consistently leave the consumer with their arse hanging out bare - and to continue the metaphor - the driver cruising around with no clothes on. There are people being set up by Uber to in effect be indentured slaves so they can afford a car, and that's not withstanding the predatory lending involved, the softened legal controls, and more.

That's without even touching on how little they do to combat the inherent inequality between the sexes at all levels, especially within their management practices.

Read the news.

You must drive a taxi.

One of the pranks was replacing Gatorade with urine...and Hopper drank this apparently.

*note to self, stop ordering lemon-line Gatorade at the office, just in case*

More like concern about Corporate decisions who the club decides to choose to align themselves with from a Marketing point of view.

Uber exists because of technological progression,
So does modern warfare

and it prospers as service standards in the next best alternative are non-existent, and Government Failure to properly engage with their management, and regulate.

Fair point, but I'd rather the club steer clear of controversial sponsors, rather than pointing a finger and saying "they said it was OK".

Maybe, but it's because most of us care about the Club and how it's represented.

Strongly disagree with this statement. Pokies are the lesser of two evils when the alternative is a company that has consistently cashed in even when human tradgedy is involved.

They consistently leave the consumer with their arse hanging out bare - and to continue the metaphor - the driver cruising around with no clothes on. There are people being set up by Uber to in effect be indentured slaves so they can afford a car, and that's not withstanding the predatory lending involved, the softened legal controls, and more.

That's without even touching on how little they do to combat the inherent inequality between the sexes at all levels, especially within their management practices.

Read the news.

I love Uber, swear by it except when public transport shits itself and New Year's Eve

Anything beats an overpriced, smelly, unloved and looked after taxi home.

It was only a matter of time before the thread was driven off the road.

Do uber go offroad?? In that case I'll use them on my next fishing trip to Esperance!

Totally agree. I'm pretty pissed off about this signing actually - I mean I get why people use them, and it's no doubt a shot in the arm for the club but it is 'dirty money' IMHO. I deliberately steer clear of Uber as they are shafting a regulated industry big time. CFC certainly live 'close to the edge' with sponsorship.

The taxi industry is an absolute shambles and has been for donkeys years.

They got what they deserved.