Club Mgmt. Board of Directors as led by President Dave Barham - Statement from Barham addressing Merrett etc - 12/9

Seems like we’re about to get a quick answer to ‘what are Richmond doing that we aren’t doing?’

Answer is ‘employing Ben Rutten’.

Don’t need Ernst and Young to tell us that.

I’ve probably missed it written somewhere, but how deep is the review diving into operations? Eg. Examining ‘why’ our track record with player development is so patchy compared to other teams, or just looking at the people involved and the current decision making process? I might be hoping for too much…

In the sticky post, which in turn is the crux of what the member email said (which is in turn identical to the letter from the president on the club website):
Focusing on four areas: (1) Board effectiveness & composition, (2) a review of leadership, operations and culture including the footy department, (3) the senior coach appointment and (4) the new CEO appointment.
So not specifically looking at list management, but if the culture and alignment of the footy department towards common goals is a problem then it should be covered.

So there's some detail coming out and people seem to be slowly more accepting of Barham and co...

Has he or anybody else explained how or why we could sack Rutten before anything else? If they're getting an external review of everything, how were they so sure he had to go, yet nobody else did???

Was he purely sacked because we chased Clarkson?

So there's some detail coming out and people seem to be slowly more accepting of Barham and co...

Has he or anybody else explained how or why we could sack Rutten before anything else? If they're getting an external review of everything, how were they so sure he had to go, yet nobody else did???

Seems to have been part of the board split, i.e., the new President was elected on a platform of lost confidence in the existing regime including Rutten, wanting an external review and to have a crack at Clarkson.

Once he was elected he had a mandate to fulfil and didn’t have the guts or the will to walk it back once Clarkson said no.

For those following the aus post delivery story.

My 7 year old son loves the Bombers with a loyalty they quite frankly don't deserve. As we live in the south west of WA and know what eagles fans are truly like, we have not yet been to a game with him. This ****ing club decided on Monday to thank him for his support by sending him a membership that allowed him to attend the last 2 home games of the season. This was sent out after the Richmond game. I am seriously considering pushing him towards the dockers.

The Bombers don't deserve him.

...yes?

You can't keep someone in post if you've openly signalled that you would rather someone else doing their job.

Seems to have been part of the board split, i.e., the new President was elected on a platform of lost confidence in the existing regime including Rutten, wanting an external review and to have a crack at Clarkson.

Once he was elected he had a mandate to fulfil and didn’t have the guts or the will to walk it back once Clarkson said no.
If you had to chose would you bet they are working on some sort of strategic backup plan now (like angling for Hird or Lyon) or making it up as they go along / taking the process on face value?

If you had to chose would you bet they are working on some sort of strategic backup plan now (the plan B) or making it up as they go along?
I think this has been in the works since at least the day of the board coup, “vote for me if we don’t get Clarkson we’ll do an external process”, but I reckon they had most of their eggs in the Clarkson basket and then Plan B had to materialise fairly quickly after he said no.

If they didn’t think Clarkson was a reasonable possibility I don’t know if the board coup would have actually got the votes.

But yeah. The pitch is some combination of external review (in response to insular findings on the internal review of limited scope) and must chase Clarkson if he said he likes our list, which itself created time pressure.

Not on tap but you can actually buy the Japanese brewed Asahi at Dan Murphy’s. it’s in a larger (500ml) can and generally available for about $65 a case. Fabulous.
You'd be mad to be drinking Asahi in this weather.

Dan's had 440ml Coopers Stout cans for $53. At that price you can forgive them for putting it in a can.

I would've thought the obvious answer would be he was clueless. If he can't provide an answer for how he is going to take the team forward then he's not the man for the job.

You'd be mad to be drinking Asahi in this weather.

Dan's had 440ml Coopers Stout cans for $53. At that price you can forgive them for putting it in a can.
All this is completely academic anyway mate, because it's not as if it's Grand Ridge Gippsland Gold.

Just knocked off one right now.

I just can't work out why the review is needed for everybody except the senior coach.

If you had to chose would you bet they are working on some sort of strategic backup plan now (like angling for Hird or Lyon) or making it up as they go along / taking the process on face value?
Hoping that they have a strategic plan in place and follow through with it. Making it up on the fly hasn't turned out so great the last 20 years.

I'm slightly warming to Lyon, not sold on Pyke nor Yze. With the names mentioned on the selection panel, I'm less inclined to think that Hird will be the shoe in that I thought he would be a week ago.

Strange times indeed to be an Essendon supporter.

EDIT: What's wrong with you beer drinkers, whatever beer you drink, still tastes like cats piss. Not that I've tried cats piss mind you.😳 Get a proper drink into you!🥃

Not beer but currently working through a cocktail...does that count?

Bartender made me a drink called "Coronation"...seems apt.
Only really ever had one cocktail, it was called "a long hard screw up against the wall". Didn't like the taste and it's name never lived up to expectations. Although I was only about 18 y/o, so probably my fault.

I think this has been in the works since at least the day of the board coup, “vote for me if we don’t get Clarkson we’ll do an external process”, but I reckon they had most of their eggs in the Clarkson basket and then Plan B had to materialise fairly quickly after he said no.

If they didn’t think Clarkson was a reasonable possibility I don’t know if the board coup would have actually got the votes.

But yeah. The pitch is some combination of external review (in response to insular findings on the internal review of limited scope) and must chase Clarkson if he said he likes our list, which itself created time pressure.
Im probably grasping at straws but this all stinks to me....

An alternative theory is it's possible Barham isnt as stupid as he's come across with all this. He wrestled power with the promise of a healthy chance at Clarkson - despite knowing it was way too late but took power anyway. He's then proceeded to drain the swamp with the review (that's now not required). And now it's time to land Hird which was always the promise to Sheedy to get his vote. Cue bright and shiny coaching selection panel for optics.

I can't see any way Barham realistically thought he was getting Clarkson and I also can't see any other reason he would need to publicly announce the need for an experienced coach (except having one lined up).

Of the remaining board we can only assume they are rubber stamping whatever the president says as they were clearly all aboard with another no process appointment in Clarkson if it got up.

Nothing here says anything new to me and a thorough untainted coaching selection process would be a totally new concept at Essendon, apparently being performed by a group who 5 seconds ago, was totally prepared to do the opposite.

Edit; I reckon there's a very good chance it ends up - Hird as coach. Barham stays President, Sheedy stays, Dodoro stays and Mahoney will remain (for the time being).

It’s not surprising most of us have got some level of anxiety about it all; the level of trust we as fans have had of the board/admin for a long time has been zero.

It’s going to take some time for the trust to be restored and that process and span of time will be different for everyone.

I’m more on the optimistic side although admittedly a bit nervous about the Hird thing. I like the coaching selection subcommittee except for Andrew Thorburn. He didn’t exactly cover himself in glory through the banking royal commission; was very combative which was the wrong approach. I’m very curious about his connection and on what basis he was recommended to play a role.