Booze Blackouts?

Any interesting stories?

I rarely have them, but had one over the weekend. One moment I'm out dancing silly in a club, the next conscious moment, I'm at home crashing into my bed. My only real recollection of what happened in between is some passenger, who I was sharing a cab with, giving me a fiver before leaving at his stop. So I know I took a cab home (and I simply don't take cabs on my own unless I'm with mates), but the exact details of when/why I left the club and how I got myself into a cab, and exactly where I got dropped off is completely blank to me. I can't imagine how the cabbie managed to get my address out of me. I think I may have got ripped off a bit, but meh.

I have to say it is kind of surreal, but dangerous at the time.

Happened to me on the weekend also, remember the girl putting her number in my phone but can't remember one word I said to her or how we started talking or even if we hooked up. Luckily she added me on facebook and is a bit of a stunner.

Another time I got kiked out of a club and somehow randomly ended up standing in line by myself for a different club, then a mate happened to be in line asking wtf i was doing by myself.

Its pretty scary when you have these episodes but pretty awesome when you pull off something good.

Ah yes, the booze auto-pilot system. Most of the time it serves me well and I wake up at home (University accomodation apartments on the Sunshine Coast) safe and sound really only being kicked out for being too disorderly to laughing at a racist joke from a Xenophobic cab driver (being that far out of it I don't realise the irony) and then doing a nightcap shot at my next door neighbours who are still up and about at 4am. Though one of those times I did wake up in the nick (I never sleep completely nude) and wonder where my clothes went to. I jumped out of bed, rushed on some clothes and prayed to god I didn't find them outside.......turns out they were in the shower soaking wet.

There's also a time during our traditional boxing day party a few years ago where I remember, after drinking all day since the first ball of the test as per tradition, I was showing the boys how to scull three seconds vodka, three seconds red wine without vomitting straight away and then further decided to chest beat by doing three seconds of absinth. That happened at about 8:00pm. The next three conscious memories I have after gloating for about half an hour and dancing on a table to Aqua's 'Dr. Jones' were: Mid-stream projectile vomitting behind the house, waking up in a creek bed, toes in the water, in the nude finding my clothes on the embankement 10 metres away and stripping off infront of the boys because 'this party had no nudity' That final memory came at 3:00am when only a few seedy characters and one bloke having a deep and meaningful with a laurikeet (yes, that is no exaggeration...I heard about it for days after that so it must have happened) were awake. That was a rather wild blackout period and a good night but definitely not a proud moment, however amusing.

Although my biggest blackout and one that REALLY was wild was last year. I went out with a few of my neighbours to Mooloolaba. Of course we did the pre-club shot, followed by six more and a 6 pack so it was fair to say we'd already had a good night at the complex before we even left. I remember vividly going to the Pub Mooloolaba first (about 8:30pm), standing in line, clearly pissed and getting in...and then falling over myself on the way in. I do remember I was there for a while, had a few drinks, got on the dance floor and just mucked around with my mates. After that the next conscious memory was I was standing in line at a different club which must have been oldies night because I had a 40 year old single mother hitting on me. I remember going in, getting a drink and going to the dunny. I called my mates and asked where they were (turns out they didn't know I was gone). After that I washed my hands and sat down. In the space of 30 seconds from hanging up to sitting down my phone went missing. I paniced and then got kicked out for staggering around looking for it. The next time I can remember after that was lying on the beach looking for a place to sleep (it's a beach town). Then for some strange reason I thought it might be a good idea to walk on the slippery, jagged rocks to see the waves crash against them and lie in the cool breeze because I was boiling hot. I got all the way out to the edge, stood there for a while, turned around and slipped. I tried standing up 3-4 times and slipped after 2-3 steps each time. At that point I started to crawl my way back. The next time I can recall after walking/crawling back to the beach was waking up (I think) in a garden out the back of one of my mates places, cut, bruised, soaking wet and smelling of manure. At that point I must've sobered up a little because I remember checking my wallet for cab fare, saw I had all of $4 in 50 cent pieces and then proceeded to walk the 15kms down a dark highway at 3:30 in the morning back to my place, crawling into bed and then waking up in a panic and catching the bus to Cricket in the morning.

Since that night I've stuck to drinking in moderation, enjoying a few drinks and quiet, enjoyable nights (except for the end of season trip). I came out of that night with no phone, smelling like shit, cut and bruised in multiple places but alive and somehow got home safely. It's dangerous alcohol abuse in a number of ways and I'm not proud of those blackouts........though they are funny and rather memorable. Yet somehow I ended up being stupider when I remember than when I was on auto-pilot. Auto-pilot just wanted to find a hidden place to sleep that didn't require money or much walking so I could get the bus home in the morning.

The worst thing you can do if you've had a drunken blackout is ask your mates what you did & they make up shit - and you have no way of knowing if any of its true.

Ive just stopped asking my mates now and hope that noone had a camera.

I had one 3 weeks ago. I was at a club with 2 of my mates and a girl they knew, we were getting free drinks all night because we went to school with someone who works there so the last thing i remember before i blacked out is doing some shots of vodka one after the other then next moment im outside in the smokers section( i dont smoke) so ended up walking inside and somethings happened to make trhe girl with upset so we ended up leaving.

I went round to my mates house the next night and found out that me and the girl hooked up and that the guy from school had offered her coke in return for head.

I had another one a year ago when i was at nevermind and got kicked out for being to drunk and falling around next moment i remember is waking up outside maccas to some of my mates taking me home.

The worst thing is easily passing out when you're out Ive done it a few times and each time its ****ing scary having no idea where you are and hoping that you've still got your phone/wallet.

I had a small one this weekend, was in Ringwood area on friday and went from one nightclub to another without any memory of the transition. Then woke up in a chicks bedroom who happened to live really close to my house, and I cant remember how we even got there

and I lost my phone :( how traditional...lol

Happened many, many times in pubs where I lose a couple of hours just wandering around or dancing like a fool.

The worst one though was in Geelong walking home from a New Years party in 07/08.

All I remember is ditching my friends in order to walk home because the taxi line was too long, then trying to break into Kardinia Park so I could run around on the ground...I failed.

Next thing I know I'm about 3kms away on Pakington St, which was in the complete opposite direction of where my home was on the Surf Coast Highway...so I was about 7km away from home and had no idea how I had walked in the wrong direction without realising...those are the scary blackouts.

I had a real bad one once after i'd been to a few pubs & bars. In the morning i woke up with a satanic hangover but a huge gaping black hole after about 10 o'clock. Anyway - i knew i'd started the evening with about $100 - and i checked my wallet to see how much i'd spent & i was happily surprised to see i had about $40 left . Thats pretty good i thought - only spent about $60. Then i find a scrunched up ATM withdrawal in my wallet done at 11:00 pm for another $200!!!. So i spent (or lost) $260 not $60 !! **** !

Lost my wallet once on another occasion - That was a pain in the arse having to cancel all my cards & get new ones etc.

I had a real bad one once after i'd been to a few pubs & bars. In the morning i woke up with a satanic hangover but a huge gaping black hole after about 10 o'clock. Anyway - i knew i'd started the evening with about $100 - and i checked my wallet to see how much i'd spent & i was happily surprised to see i had about $40 left . Thats pretty good i thought - only spent about $60. Then i find a scrunched up ATM withdrawal in my wallet done at 11:00 pm for another $200!!!. So i spent (or lost) $260 not $60 !! **** !

Lost my wallet once on another occasion - That was a pain in the arse having to cancel all my cards & get new ones etc.

Why is it when you get that drunk you forget your name, your address, what you did but you never forget your PIN?

Haha that's a bit of a fear of mine. Scrunched up ATM receipts. That's if I'm lucky enough to still have my wallet

Haha - But if there is enough of them you can kind of figure out what your movements have been.

The worst is alcohol fueled anger! and drunken smartass' that think theyre always right.
Almost punched my girlfriends friends new guy on the weekend because he was having a go at me becuse my girlfriend drank too much and cried because I walked 2 metres ahead of her and didnt realise.

Blacking out is fun I reckon, the things you say etc. or the blackouts where you can remember everything you saw but you cant hear your own voice or others voices...trippy

Last new years I don't remember anything from about 10.30 onwards but from the photo's on facebook it seems I had vomit all over my shirt and no one cared to tell me or at least give me a new shirt...

I then remember waking up on the pool table and then being thrown into my dads car injust my jocks. Next morning was pretty embarrassing...

Drove home after a big Monday night at Ritchies. Woke in the morning and asked mum to ring work as I was suffering real bad. Stayed in bed all day only to be woken for dinner where the old girl ripped into me for parking my car and taking out a verandah post. I apologised and payed for the repairs. 10 years on and I overheard my younger brother and his mates laughing about how they came home from school, seen my car there and tried to start it. As I always leave the car in gear it jumped forward and took out the verandah post.

Happens all the time.

The worse was, at a club my mate works behind the bar. Got free drinks all night, went their about 10:30, don't remember from 11:30... Apparently we went to another club about 20 minutes away (dont remember leaving club 1), went to go in (don't remember even being at the front), said "Just need a piss" (don't remember saying that), went for a little walk and passed out in a puddle in the middle of the rain. I had abbos talking to me, Indians giving me water and I was thrown in a taxi (front seat) and taken to a mates house.

Woke up and was like "Where the **** am I?". Last thing I remembered was talking to some gangsters with 2 beers in my hand at club 1.

Best one I ever had was Xmas eve, back at the oldies place. Went into town, had work til 10 I think, (back when I lived at home, was 17) played catch-up once I got to the pub. Left around 12.30, walked out, cops were there, asked where I was going.

Managed a slurred "home, I've had enough", and headed off home. Had a slight memory of chundering in a bucket, and thats it.

Found out I was found passed out in the middle of the road, cuts all up my arms, came home, totalled my room, was but naked, and my parents found me talking to myself. To top it off, had to deal with the whole famly on Xmas with a dirty hangover.

One time me and some of my friends were meant to go to a pub me being smart decided to drink beforehand. drank the whole bottle so I was to smashed. so we bought alcohol and stayed at his place. from what I remember I asked someone if they liked bon jovi, tripping their pet dog and smashing a picture. I woke up In front of their nearest shopping centre the next morning.

The one that stands out in my mind is when I was 17 ..

I was at a mates 18th and everyone was completely hammered, I remember vomitting inside this marquee thing that had been set up and then a mate slipped in it and had to take his shirt off because it had my vomit on it ..

This is the last thing I remember.

The next morning, waking up in my car (no room in the house and had a wagon at the time) I walked back to the house (had to park my car down the road) and helped cleaned up and whatnot, then we all started talking about the previous night, as you do. Two of my mates said I was completely sloshed and told me how I curled up in the foetal position and asked for "grandma" .. about 10 minutes after that they said they saw me skipping down the road, hand-in-hand with someone. I asked who it was and they said they just assumed it was my girlfriend and we were heading back to the car .. but my girlfriend had already passed out earlier in the night and was taken to a bed ... I asked around and no one said they were with me skipping back to my car ... I woke up alone so I didn't sleep with anyone. To this day I still have no idea who I was skipping with.

Any interesting stories?

I rarely have them, but had one over the weekend. One moment I'm out dancing silly in a club, the next conscious moment, I'm at home crashing into my bed. My only real recollection of what happened in between is some passenger, who I was sharing a cab with, giving me a fiver before leaving at his stop. So I know I took a cab home (and I simply don't take cabs on my own unless I'm with mates), but the exact details of when/why I left the club and how I got myself into a cab, and exactly where I got dropped off is completely blank to me. I can't imagine how the cabbie managed to get my address out of me. I think I may have got ripped off a bit, but meh.

I have to say it is kind of surreal, but dangerous at the time.

Did you wake up with a sore arse? That $5 wasn't for the taxi fare. :D

No matter how much ive drunk, ive always been able to remember most things of a night and have only had the one 'blackout' which involved far too much vodka, absinthe and bacardi 151. Last thing I remember is falling over on the dance floor and stumbling outside to munt. Then I woke up walking to the ensuite to munt in there about 5 hours later. Worst thing that happened was my mate who was drinking with me when we were walking back to the carpark had tried to pick up his girlfriend, fell backwards and knocked himself out on the ashphalt in the middle of the street. Everyone was freaking out except for me cracking up laughing. Cant remember it at all. He was fine a minute later.

Mine happened a few months ago at the GF's 21st.

Had a heap of booze, was drinking with her uncles/cousins all great blokes so the beers went down a treat.

Remember getting back to hers, sitting in there outdoor area with a ciggie and a few beers (cousin was still there) then it was blank.

Woke up at 6am naked sitting on the loo vomit everywhere. Tried to clean it up, but couldn't really so I just went and hopped back into bed.

Turned out the anti bios I was on didn't agree with heaps of booze.

Too many damned times to remember...

One that will always go down in infamy among my friends is when we were camping in the national park at the end of yorke peninsula and had a huge piss up on the last night. Got so drunk I can't remember much after skulling 12 sparkling ales.

Started coming round to rememberence when I was in the hospital with the nurses laughing at me as I needed their assistance to piss into the container they were holding. They were country gals and thought it was a right old laugh. I'd busted my leg tripping over a tree root. Broke my leg ankle and foot.

The nurses laughed all night and wheeled me around the hospital in a wheelchair holding my broken leg up by the big toe. Nothing else happening in the hospital so they just had me to make fun of.

My mates had to drive me over an hour to the hospital and we were all pissed so they had to drive drunk through the national parks dirt roads and one of the cars had no headlights...

I will also always remember waking up in my own bed one morning wondering how the hell I'd got there. I was dancing a minute ago. Then I jumped up thinking hang on, I drove last night... where's the friggin' car... looked out the window and it was in the drive! Somehow I'd driven home... learnt my lesson to not drive thinking I'll just ahve one drink. Now I always either stay 100% sober or get a lift (or taxi).

Hardly ever forget slabs of time.. I am actually pretty good and can remember 95% of things no matter what and for the first time last wednesday (O week at uni... im not a weeknight drunk usually) where the last thing I remember was drinking at the bar with a few mates as we had nicked some 'free drinks' wrist bands, then we were gonna head back out to go dance. Next thing I remember is being on a tennis court or bowling green with about 4 people I dont know.. then I woke up on the couch in a strange house (with a pillow) and no-one was home.

Made myself breakfast and left :)