Player Watch Brayden Maynard

Not to mention the ongoing Collingwood footballer effects post career.
He’ll stay.
I think he'll stay too. He'll still get paid a lot and he's not someone who is going to have no career after footy - there probably won't be an after footy - he'll go straight into a job in the industry.

Something that is overlooked a bit - when you are earning over $190k a year, everything over that is taxed at 45%!

So while it may seem like $600k a year for a footballer is incredible, set you up for life money, remember, they are paying 45% tax on $410k of that (in addition to the $51,638 they've also paid on the first $190k) - $600k has become $363k in reality after tax.

Now imagine that is now $1m instead of 600k
Now you're looking at $810k of that, taxed at 45%. $416,138 lost in tax. $584k is the net figure.

$600k = $363k
$1m = $584k

Medicare Levy is 2% of taxable income too - imagine how much that would be on these figures.

Now obviously there will be all sorts of loopholes, deductions, offsets etc, they will claim, but these are just basic figures.

Take from this what you will - whether a higher payday is that much more worth it at the end of the day. That's still more income, but not as much as it looks due to the excessively high tax imposed at these levels.

Money is not the be all and end all for everyone - some players do chose to take less than their value to stay at the club they want to play for. Bruz stikes me as this kind, but you never know, so we'll wait and see.

Something that is overlooked a bit - when you are earning over $190k a year, everything over that is taxed at 45%!

So while it may seem like $600k a year for a footballer is incredible, set you up for life money, remember, they are paying 45% tax on $410k of that (in addition to the $51,638 they've also paid on the first $190k) - $600k has become $363k in reality after tax.

Now you're looking at $810k of that, taxed at 45%. $416,138 lost in tax. $584k is the net figure.

$600k = $363k
$1m = $584k

Medicare Levy is 2% of taxable income too - imagine how much that would be on these figures.

Now obviously there will be all sorts of loopholes, deductions, offsets etc, they will claim, but these are just basic figures.

Take from this what you will - whether a higher payday is that much more worth it at the end of the day. That's still more income, but not as much as it looks due to the excessively high tax imposed at these levels.

Money is not the be all and end all for everyone - some players do chose to take less than their value to stay at the club they want to play for. Bruz stikes me as this kind, but you never know, so we'll wait and see.

I think footy players get a special tax treatment.

It’s going to be a tough choice for Bruz. We know he loves the club, the fans, he’s the one launching into Collingwood chants at training. If anyone was going to turn down that kind of money to play for the Pies and with his mates, it’s him.

Let’s see. I’m hoping it’s just a matter of getting a tad closer to what he’s offered elsewhere.

I suspect you're thinking like a retiree or soon to be retiree and not like a 30 year old who might be looking to start a family at some stage.
Based on the original contention of the poster that " your are not set up" for life, I had a contrary view and offered my rationale.

Saw Maynard today at a cafe in 3121 said he loves the Pies and played for us.

When asked he said its all talk and just hot air by North.

Nothing in it.

Last thing he said.

Im a Pie mate
End of speculation.

$600k = $363k
$1m = $584k

no accountant worth thier salt is letting them pay at 45%

Nothing in it.

Last thing he said.

Im a Pie mate
Straight from the horse's mouth.

That's good enough for me.

Not to mention the ongoing Collingwood footballer effects post career.
He’ll stay.

Is this actually a thing?

Plenty of successful non-Collingwood players out there post footy

Is this actually a thing?

Plenty of successful non-Collingwood players out there post footy
Who’s going to go to sportsman night to watch Matthew Owies? If you were in a pub and Bruzzy walked in would he have to pay for a beer? Bet Brent Harvey still has to buy his own Cruisers.
Who’s got the biggest top end of town connections in Melbourne? Not horses heads in your bed type thing but after career opportunities? Wouldn’t be St Kilda I can tell you.

Yeah I reckon there’s a thing.

Nothing in it.

Last thing he said.

Im a Pie mate
Yep while I do believe this will be his sentiment, pretty sure he’s not gonna say anything different to a pies fan no matter what the actual story is.