Player Watch Brayden Maynard

I've been critical of Maynard for his decision making and turn overs. But that fumble and goal was just a real shit happens moment. What I took out of it was he had the balls to face up again for the next kick out. That says more about him than the fumble ever will. Anyone writing him off over that needs a reality check, and should look to his overall improvement this season instead.
You see the kick Suckling did against the Saints? Steven ran into an open goal and they won by a couple. Shit happens. I agree, I'm glad he took that next kick out shows his character.

He was the designated kick in guy... it's not like he can just choose to not take the next kick because he messed one up.

His next kick was just a bomb down the line so not sure where this brave thing comes from

On Maynard, he will get plenty of opportunities over the coming years and his development is really important to our side. Ramsay can't stay on the park. Sinclair has concussion and injury issues. Williams is a head case right now, I hope he gets it together. Toovey is well past his best. Maynard is the only real mainstay for us at back pocket.

He was the designated kick in guy... it's not like he can just choose to not take the next kick because he messed one up.

His next kick was just a bomb down the line so not sure where this brave thing comes from
Plenty of players over the years have handed over the kick in after a blunder.

In that situation he can't really though can he because he's the designated man and all his teammates have run off and trying to call them back when you're the designated man is quite embarrassing plus it gives the opposition time to set up their zone (a massive no-no)

But as a Kid he could of Easily been taken away from him but they kept there Faith in him

In that situation he can't really though can he because he's the designated man and all his teammates have run off and trying to call them back when you're the designated man is quite embarrassing plus it gives the opposition time to set up their zone (a massive no-no)

All the players were standing there after the free kick was given to Thomas, anyone could have taken the kick in.

Love Maynard. He has improved as the season has gone on and is always up for a challenge.

He really stuffed up that kick and big bloody deal, he isn't the first and wont be the last. I have seen Pendlebury take a kick out in the past and hit a guy from the other team directly on the chest. This guy is only 19 years old!

I was a critic in the first month of the season but he has proven me wrong and especially in the last month he has been playing good footy.

Does it really matter? It's a moot point. He took the kickout and continued for the remainder of the game.

I know, I'm not criticising him for it but equally he shouldn't be praised for being a hero because he continued his job.

His mental state needs work, these mistakes aren't just down to skill

I thought he made the right decision and executed the long bomb well. We needed quick goals and it was the correct thing to do. It was an epic stuff up which shouldn't have happened by an AFL player. However, it did and he was able to make the correct decision on the next play.

Love Maynard. He has improved as the season has gone on and is always up for a challenge.

He really stuffed up that kick and big bloody deal, he isn't the first and wont be the last. I have seen Pendlebury take a kick out in the past and hit a guy from the other team directly on the chest. This guy is only 19 years old!

I was a critic in the first month of the season but he has proven me wrong and especially in the last month he has been playing good footy.
Yeah but I bet Pendles didn't stub his foot on the ground trying to kick with the result that the ball rolled along the ground to the man on the mark who was then able to soccer it back for a goal to the opposition. The greatest kicks of all time have all shanked kicks straight to the opposition numerous times in their career. But this was SPECIAL! So I think you guys are taking away credit where it's due by comparing this to an ordinary turnover kick. It was a clanger for the ages! .. and it took our finest clanger merchant to accomplish the feat. If there were odds on any player in the AFL doing that last round my money would've been stacked on Maynard before kickoff. That guy delivers!
Maynards kick-in clanger was the worst I have ever seen in my lifetime and pretty funny when you look at it in isolation. I suggest we all just appreciate it for the rarity and comedy gold that it was. He may have peaked early though.. gonna be hard for him to top that one now.

I suppose in reality it was unfortunate in that it cost us a goal. If you think about, it's not a lot different from missing a goal 15m out directly in front. Either way, a goal is a goal. I think it was great Pendles or whoever didn't take the next kick out. Shows confidence in the kid to move on. they are probably al laughing about it now.

Yeah but I bet Pendles didn't stub his foot on the ground trying to kick with the result that the ball rolled along the ground to the man on the mark who was then able to soccer it back for a goal to the opposition. The greatest kicks of all time have all shanked kicks straight to the opposition numerous times in their career. But this was SPECIAL! So I think you guys are taking away credit where it's due by comparing this to an ordinary turnover kick. It was a clanger for the ages! .. and it took our finest clanger merchant to accomplish the feat. If there were odds on any player in the AFL doing that last round my money would've been stacked on Maynard before kickoff. That guy delivers!
Maynards kick-in clanger was the worst I have ever seen in my lifetime and pretty funny when you look at it in isolation. I suggest we all just appreciate it for the rarity and comedy gold that it was. He may have peaked early though.. gonna be hard for him to top that one now.
He'll make up for it with his years of quality football.

There should be a clanger of the year award. Seriously.. it would be a good laugh to see the nominees played at Brownlow night after mark and goal of the year and I reckon the players and public would love it. Reckon we'd go alright in it too.

They usually do a comedy like clanger/funny moments bit on Brownlow night don't they? I'm sure it's going to get a run.

Yes but I think they should make it an official award with a trophy of a guy shinning a kick. The winner should be required to make a short speech. Then they cut to the coach to give his congratulations. Same with Falcons... a falcon of the year award is a no brainer and the trophy is obvious. I'm not suggesting making the whole night into a comedy but to have it as an official award would just make it that much funnier and better TV.

Anyone who has played a lick of competitive sport in their life knows that the lessons you can learn from losing are invaluable... As far as getting embarrassed on national TV, that depends on the player. Some will go into their shell and in the future be scared to take the game on. Then there are the competitive beasts who wish to atone for their mistakes. They use the humiliation to work even harder to make sure it never happens again or to prove doubters wrong. Let's just hope Maynard is the latter.

He's never looked like dropping his head or going into his shell. Good signs the kid will learn from his mistakes.

I hate how people really focus on this kids stuff ups. He does maybe one or 2 a game.

Another very good pies defender, just for the sake of naming someone, was Alan toovey. He made 3-4 terrible stuff ups most games and never really got over them.

At least Maynard, and the club must agree with this as he keeps getting games (thankfully for me), has a bucket loads of ability and great traits. Yes, I know he's prone to the odd brainfart, but for the billionth time I can't understand how people can't see how much upside this kid has. And let's not discount the fact that his tank (excuse the pun) is a huge factor in his poor choices/decisions.

This guy, IMO, will become one of the 4-5 best players at our club and play 250 games. Bookmark it. Will become a fan favorite.

Maybe I'm biased because I love the aggression and strength the 19 year old plays with, but all I see is a kid who is real life wrecking ball and has the right attributes to succeed.

Would love to see him in the middle once his tank allows it. Another pre season and this kid will come along in leaps and bounds. Can just see him extracting it from a Ruck contest getting it on to the boot and hitting up a fast leading Darcy Moore 35 out from goal.

Yeah, people quite rightly lament the loss of Heater because he's genuinely elite but completely eradicate all memory of his early career misdemeanours like him streaming out of D50 and blasting the footy OOF when under little or no pressure. I'm yet to see a player who gets everything right 100% of the time.

Are you the same guy who bagged out Sinclair for going to hard at the ball? LOL get a life mate. These guys are achieving more than most could imagine.
get a perspective and a sense of humor... and do me a favor and put me on ignore.. you are a serially angry poster who has nothing of interest or value to add.

Very well said Spartan. You brought up Tooves, I'll raise you Ben Johnson. He was the whipping boy for many years before that break out game against Port and he took down Burgoyne in the goal square and won us the game. It's that never say die attitude that I see when I see Maynard play.

One of the greatest Collingwood finals wins I've ever seen . Without Buckley too. BJ made a massive clanger early in the game too and could have easily dropped his bundle but redeemed himself with the tackle on Peter Burgoyne. Career best game for Steve McKee too, nullifying Primus.

I still can't get my head around the hate towards this bloke. He's ****ing 19 years old. He has more of a crack and shows more heart than many other players. As I have said before, he does not have bad skills. It comes down to compusure and confidence, I am 100% certain both these with come and when they do. There will be no haters

You mustn't have seen the game where Mick McGuane (one of the most skilled and neatest kicks from the 1990 team) had jabs before the game and stubbed or missed his foot with his first 6 kicks! He ended up handballing everything because he couldn't feel his legs!