Official Club Stuff BREAKING: Luke Sayers steps down effective immediately (Jan 22nd)!

Dept of Treasury referred PwC to the AFP tonight. Expect the Anti-Corruption Commission to open investigations where they start up on July 1 too. Bunch of new govt contracts awarded to Sayers' own firm since he departed PwC too.

In a couple of months, Sayers may be too busy to stay on...there's a question of ethics of him staying in the gig while under investigation as well.
The AFP is where you refer an issue when you want it covered up.

Pretty well known in politics and law enforcement.

The NACC can’t prosecute.

The system is designed to ensure nobody goes down for this. Certainly not anyone important.

PwC will probably get a massive fine and suspended from govt contracts for 12 months or some shit. Then, when the suspension is over, they’ll be handed enough govt contracts to make up for the money they lost in fines and missed government contracts.

It’s a rigged game.

Board issues have always been there.
Now even more amplified.

Supporters quickly forget, 2021, was operation get Clarkson... under Sayers leadership. Forget the process.

Sayers style and leadership style has been questioned before

And this was raised in this forum in 2021 when he became President.

PWC issues coming to light now are compounded by his time as CEO leading a questionable and toxic culture

Interesting to note Kate Jenkins stepped down from the Carlton board she shared with Sayers, around the time of these articles breaking...

To qualify this, I dont know if Kate Jenkins stepped aside due to a conflict with Sayers or PWC investigation on sexual harassment.

However timing is uncanny. The main point here is questionable leadership and culture from Sayers in corporate world

Sent from my SM-N981B using Tapatalk

Seriously mate are you kidding? These articles are nothing but a witch hunt.

Time for the President and more importantly the CEO to ask the one question from football director and manager.
You’ve been in these positions long enough, what is or are the issues? Please explain?
Let’s hope they know and can outline the solution.

Board issues have always been there.
Now even more amplified.

Supporters quickly forget, 2021, was operation get Clarkson... under Sayers leadership. Forget the process.

Sayers style and leadership style has been questioned before

And this was raised in this forum in 2021 when he became President.

PWC issues coming to light now are compounded by his time as CEO leading a questionable and toxic culture

Interesting to note Kate Jenkins stepped down from the Carlton board she shared with Sayers, around the time of these articles breaking...

To qualify this, I dont know if Kate Jenkins stepped aside due to a conflict with Sayers or PWC investigation on sexual harassment.

However timing is uncanny. The main point here is questionable leadership and culture from Sayers in corporate world

It's not a great look for a CEO, but none of those complaints are directly against him are they? The FR article was paywalled.

I get that it's not good for our Carlton Respects program and all, but from a footballing point of view, I'm not sure that this presents an issue or diminishes his judgement.

The other corporate shenanigans being spoken of, are probably a bigger issue.

I do want to ask those who want the board overturned, or at least some of them ... who do you know of that wants to be on the board instead and what are their plans for making the club successful? The mounting challenge towards the end of 2021, contained a wish list of things they were going to do, with no actual substance as to how they would do it.

Anybody with passion thinks they have the answers, but I'm not sure they have the industry contacts, persuasive ability, financial nous or patience to be able to pull it off.

Time for the President and more importantly the CEO to ask the one question from football director and manager.
You’ve been in these positions long enough, what is or are the issues? Please explain?

I thought Greg Williams would be a massive hardass as far as holding the footy department to account. I've seen no sign of it so far.

Brad Lloyd ... I was surprised he survived the initial cull and if he is responsible for getting the right people around Voss, he's failed to date. I can't see anybody in that footy department providing a way forward.

This is exactly what they should be asking but the problem is it’s clear Brad Lloyd doesn’t have answers. Time to move on and try someone else.

It's not a great look for a CEO, but none of those complaints are directly against him are they? The FR article was paywalled.

I get that it's not good for our Carlton Respects program and all, but from a footballing point of view, I'm not sure that this presents an issue or diminishes his judgement.

The other corporate shenanigans being spoken of, are probably a bigger issue.

I do want to ask those who want the board overturned, or at least some of them ... who do you know of that wants to be on the board instead and what are their plans for making the club successful? The mounting challenge towards the end of 2021, contained a wish list of things they were going to do, with no actual substance as to how they would do it.

Anybody with passion thinks they have the answers, but I'm not sure they have the industry contacts, persuasive ability, financial nous or patience to be able to pull it off.
CEO leads and sets an organizational culture.
Allegations dating back to 2018 suggesting that in Sayers time as CEO, his culture was toxic, and took a whistleblower to sort it out.

Connecting back to Carlton Respects, its ironic that he led a toxic culture at PWC, and now possibly a criminal one.

He singularly chased Ross Lyon as well, which did meet the Carlton Respects benchmark... so maybe values and judgement is questionable when you view it as such?

I didnt want Sayers as President in 2021, as I thought we needed fresh voices outside of a board that had been together for many years.

When Sayers took the helm, and unequivocally set a benchmark of finals, for sacking Teague and then franked it, as a benchmark for hiring Voss, I thought ok, he has given a direct line for accountability.

I liked the conviction, so was willing to give him ago, from a footy perspective

From a club politics perspective back in 2021, what was supported was voting No to the mooted constitutional changes further limiting member voting rights and increasing board tenure.

The purpose of the EGM at the time was to stop those changes. Sayers pulled them as part of a meeting with the challenger.

The board challenge from what I hear was secondary....

And the real backers of that challenge including known ex players, were reluctant to go public (and did not) due to risk of being openly ridiculed (not kouta btw).

The details you are looking for would have revealed itself as part of the formal EGM announcement.

This very thread posted images of the fabled Richmond board challenge of 2016 ahead of their 2017 success.

Well we are 2 years on, and gotten worse. Clearly we are not Richmond, post their board being rattled and something is very wrong.

Sayers is not Paddy Oneil
Carlton version of Cook, remains to be seen if he can match Brendan Gales efforts
Voss hasnt got a gameplan thats working like Hardwick did...

Greg Williams I also hoped would get involved from a footy perspective. The noise should be coming out of his portfolio, as footy director...

Not hearing or seeing much.

Board challenges are near on impossible at modern day Carlton due to MLGs independent nominations committee.

That is, both wholesale change or fresh voices added to the mix...

So we wont see 1 board tipped out, another replaced. What I do hope for, is an outsider wanting to join with strong Carlton and ideally footy credentials...

I am told Fitzpatrick wont do it. But someone of his ilk would be perfect.

Whats the adage about leaving no stone unturned.

I think as passionate Carlton people, those contributing to this thread, are asking to look harder at this stone, to make sure we have it right.

Cook will hopefully turn over the stones in the footy area

jpfalvo Those details would not have been forthcoming. They had a website and refused to answer questions. It was complete amateur hour.

I thought Greg Williams would be a massive hardass as far as holding the footy department to account. I've seen no sign of it so far.

Brad Lloyd ... I was surprised he survived the initial cull and if he is responsible for getting the right people around Voss, he's failed to date. I can't see anybody in that footy department providing a way forward.
Greg Williams there for a paycheck.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

CEO leads and sets an organizational culture.
Allegations dating back to 2018 suggesting that in Sayers time as CEO, his culture was toxic, and took a whistleblower to sort it out.

Connecting back to Carlton Respects, its ironic that he led a toxic culture at PWC, and now possibly a criminal one.

He singularly chased Ross Lyon as well, which did meet the Carlton Respects benchmark... so maybe values and judgement is questionable when you view it as such?

I didnt want Sayers as President in 2021, as I thought we needed fresh voices outside of a board that had been together for many years.

When Sayers took the helm, and unequivocally set a benchmark of finals, for sacking Teague and then franked it, as a benchmark for hiring Voss, I thought ok, he has given a direct line for accountability.

I liked the conviction, so was willing to give him ago, from a footy perspective

From a club politics perspective back in 2021, what was supported was voting No to the mooted constitutional changes further limiting member voting rights and increasing board tenure.

The purpose of the EGM at the time was to stop those changes. Sayers pulled them as part of a meeting with the challenger.

The board challenge from what I hear was secondary....

And the real backers of that challenge including known ex players, were reluctant to go public (and did not) due to risk of being openly ridiculed (not kouta btw).

The details you are looking for would have revealed itself as part of the formal EGM announcement.

This very thread posted images of the fabled Richmond board challenge of 2016 ahead of their 2017 success.

Well we are 2 years on, and gotten worse. Clearly we are not Richmond, post their board being rattled and something is very wrong.

Sayers is not Paddy Oneil
Carlton version of Cook, remains to be seen if he can match Brendan Gales efforts
Voss hasnt got a gameplan thats working like Hardwick did...

Greg Williams I also hoped would get involved from a footy perspective. The noise should be coming out of his portfolio, as footy director...

Not hearing or seeing much.

Board challenges are near on impossible at modern day Carlton due to MLGs independent nominations committee.

That is, both wholesale change or fresh voices added to the mix...

So we wont see 1 board tipped out, another replaced. What I do hope for, is an outsider wanting to join with strong Carlton and ideally footy credentials...

I am told Fitzpatrick wont do it. But someone of his ilk would be perfect.

Whats the adage about leaving no stone unturned.

I think as passionate Carlton people, those contributing to this thread, are asking to look harder at this stone, to make sure we have it right.

Cook will hopefully turn over the stones in the footy area

The biggest issue with the board is hiring coaches is always reactionary to what existed before. Bolton too defensive and complicated in the game plan, Teague gets hired after releasing the shackles with an offensive game plan. That falls apart after 6 months and the board look for another defensive coach. Always reactionary. It'd be nice to get the balance right and be proactive for a change. That's going to need to start at board level, with an eye on what's working now and not five years ago. Not sure who's out there in terms of directors though.

Teague had 2 and a half years. We didn't go looking for a coach 6 months into his first full season.

I didn't say we went looking for a new coach after 6 months. The Teague train began to lose its mojo after the first 6 months. His 2 full seasons didn't live up to the early promise, much like what is currently happening.

Slap bang in covid with a very young team. Give that one a rest I reckon. Very unlucky for Teaugue that was.

I have given a lot of thought to the core issues. It’s very important that we realise everything starts and therefore sheets back home to the Board. They initiate the decisions and put in motion the appointments that lead to other decisions. They also hold (or don’t) people accountable to their decisions and actions.

We (me included) rant on about SYMPTOMS. The core issue is the decisions that are made. Whether they work. How much leniency is given to errors. What is done when there are too many.

I want to make sure I am crystal clear: I don’t want them to air all dirty laundry. That would be inappropriate. What I want to see is:

When there are clearly quite a number of bad decisions made by an individual there is accountability. Change.

I will canvass a few:
1. We decided to keep Brad Lloyd. HIS decisions include: supporting the appointment of Voss, the appointment of Hamill etc, the inability to retain Jones (we threw a tantrum at him, clearly). The appointment of Nick Austin. Now Nick’s decision making needs questioning. Club psychologist. Whoever that is is either horribly unfunded or inept.
Lloyd decision.

2. The Board appointed Brian Cook. He has no presence. No apparent energy or love for this organisation. He would have been a good consultant or Board member. Cook himself has supported keeping Brad Lloyd and the other decisions around coaching. He has also said “I’ll give you 3 years” which is a terrible temporary mindset. Who appointed him?
3. Voss: his decisions include his coaching group (no change after a year of data last year). Jones. Stocker. Setterfield. His game plan.

We could go down through the hierarchy and individualise. But it starts at the Board. We have a President who was on a failed Board for a decade and then stepped up?

So who decides the Board? Well. WE DO. Technically. And we’ve failed.

Every other club copped Covid as well. No-one benefited.
100%. Similar conditions for everyone.
we’ve got no idea in terms of identifying what makes a good coach in the modern afl era. We let the players select Teague basically. Then the players wanted him gone. There is a rotten fish there somewhere.

You could dig up dirty, unethical behaviour, etc in every board member, on every board, whether it's AFL, another sporting organisation and or public or private sector

None make or miss targets, tackles, goals
To suggest that uncertainty at the top level of an organisation doesn't affect the performance of rank and file employees is misguided at best.

The AFP is where you refer an issue when you want it covered up.

Pretty well known in politics and law enforcement.

The NACC can’t prosecute.

The system is designed to ensure nobody goes down for this. Certainly not anyone important.

PwC will probably get a massive fine and suspended from govt contracts for 12 months or some s**t. Then, when the suspension is over, they’ll be handed enough govt contracts to make up for the money they lost in fines and missed government contracts.

It’s a rigged game
Nothing to see here!!

2EA953D5-30A6-43B2-AC91-E5290C7D395E.jpeg

Official Club Stuff BREAKING: Luke Sayers steps down effective immediately (Jan 22nd)!