Brett Deledio

Lids is over rated. I would bank on picking up a player who will go end up better. We are not going to be a serious contender till at least 2012 so we might as well forget about doing something stupid like trading away a PP or a first round pick.
I would hardly describe it as stupid. Deledio will be turning 25 in 2012, well an truly in his prime. He fulfills a need and has much less risk than a draftee. We haven't yet seen the best of him either. That said, a high first rounder is extremely valuable, and i would steer clear of Deledio unless we had a PP.

Deledio cant handle close attention, or any attention.

He's also not a midfielder, plays his best footy forward of the ball.

Cant see the attraction to be honest, he struggles when pushed into the middle despite being surrounded by Cotchin, Cousins and Foley.

Not what you want, I'd prefer a hardworking, fleet of foot natural ball winner.

Deledio cant handle close attention, or any attention.

He is 22, has won a best and fairest and gets tagged every week and performs pretty well in an ordinary side. Probably handles attention better than Kerr these days.

He's also not a midfielder, plays his best footy forward of the ball.

Very debatable. Yes he plays well as a small leading forward but i have seen him play some excellent games through the middle and on the wing. Would certainly be in our starting midfield at the moment.

Cant see the attraction to be honest, he struggles when pushed into the middle despite being surrounded by Cotchin, Cousins and Foley.

The attraction is he is 22, quick, kicks goals, has excellent skills, has great footy smarts and will only get better. He will be one of the leagues better players in 3 years.

Can you imagine Deledio tearing it up on the wide expansive spaces of Subiaco. Has the flexibility to play off HB or as a leading forward.

if my memory serves me correctly, i think everytime hes played here hes torn it apart.

He is 22, has won a best and fairest and gets tagged every week and performs pretty well in an ordinary side. Probably handles attention better than Kerr these days.

Lol. That B & F was a joke, Matthew Richardson was easily the Tigs best player for the year, which was recognised by both the players, umpires and his AA jumper from a wing. It was a token gesture to hopefully pump up his tires and give him some confidence.

Very debatable. Yes he plays well as a small leading forward but i have seen him play some excellent games through the middle and on the wing. Would certainly be in our starting midfield at the moment.

I dont think it is, he just cant seem to work into the contest playing as a mid. His best footy as I said has been forward of the play where his strong marking comes into play. He's also been ok as a HBF.

Anyone would be in our midfield at the moment, so that's not much of a rev up. Personally I'd stick with the blokes we have drafted develop them and trust our coaching staff and recruiters.

The attraction is he is 22, quick, kicks goals, has excellent skills, has great footy smarts and will only get better. He will be one of the leagues better players in 3 years.

Im going to take you to task on this one, he does not have great footy smarts, probably the most mechanical player I've seen. There's no plan B when someone stands next to him, he doesnt work hard enough in and around the contest, too often he submits without a hint of aggression or fight.

He will never be anything other than a tease.

You have absolutely NFI Woosha24. They awarded him the B&F just to pump up his tires and give him some confidence? I stopped reading there. :o

Err.. Are you going that Matthew Richardson wasnt robbed?

He was clearly your best player. A joke that Deleduio walked away with that accolade, disgraceful even. Indictative of your club really.

In an ideal World; pick 4 + Mckinley + pick 36 for Deledio and Rance. Mmmm.

Ummmmmm............NO
are you serious pick 4 and mckinley who has shown nothing this year
and we give you deledio a gun and Rance a future gun. Mmmmmmmmmm seems fair.

How Bout:
Hurn for Polo + Coughlan

How do you see the players mentioned doing this with the addition of Deledio? Our only hope of making finals is when the young players - Selwood, Ebert, Naitanui, Masten, Swift, McKenzie, Shuey, J Jones, Smith, Davis, Cockie, Notte, Stevenson, Houlihan, Wilson, Sullivan, Brown Schofield and Co hit the 22/24 year mark.

And your right they might not be playing - worn out by then, 4 years away IMO.

Deledio is an A grade midfielder regardless of some peoples opinions, having him in the team frees up Kerr and gives as another option up forward. I think our defence and our forward line are capable of taking us into finals and it is our midfield that lets us down most. Having both Lids and Kerr in there gives us two game breaking midfielders and softens the load on the kids allowing them to play more freely under less attention.

It also gives us some stability going forward so that we have less of a gap between our genuine older talent and our genuine younger talent. Its ok if you dont want to go after a guy like that I can understand, as long as you are willing to accept the next 5 years of being a middle to average team whilst hoping that the likes of Swift, Masten, Ebert, Shuey become A grade midfielders, and watching Glass, Cox, Kerr retire.

I think if we grab a guy like Lids (and not specifically him) it will help us to remain competetive and reach finals sooner rather than having to wait for the kids to develope before we get there. 3 years to reach top 4 would be my safe esstimate trading for an A grade midfielder, 5 years would be a safe estimate not trading for the A grade mid.

Ummmmmm............NO
are you serious pick 4 and mckinley who has shown nothing this year
and we give you deledio a gun and Rance a future gun. Mmmmmmmmmm seems fair.

How Bout:
Hurn for Polo + Coughlan
Mckinley has proved that he isn't as good as lecras, who by the end of the season will have affirmed himself as one of the top small forwards in the comp, and hence hasn't been getting time near goals nearly as much as he would and has been playng up on the flank. His work rate has noticeably risen, and he is averaging more disposals and marks per game, with a respectable goal average of 2 per game.
Would hold down FF sure as hell better than morton, who works better on a flank, leaving riewoldt to roam and Vickery to ruck.

hurn is untouchable i reckon unless if a really good trade deal came up, so no we don't want those 2 hacks.:D
Hurn is our only consistent small backman at the moment, won't be going anywhere.
Will take things to a whole new level next year with waters back taking defensive duties, giving hurn more freedom.

I'd love to have Delidio at the Eagles next year.

He could play through the middle and take the pressure off Kerr and/or play off the wing/HFF.

He is slightly overrated by fans and media but he definately has the potential to be an elite player.

Wouldn't have any problem giving up our first round pick for him if thats all it took.

Deledio would command a Judd-like trade.

Tigers get: Pick 4 - Naitanui - pick 20.
Eagles get: Deledio - Coughlan - Oakley-Nicholls (wants to come home)

WOW 3 orsumzz playerzzz for just ONE!11!! and a couple of picks!!11eftpos!1!!1lolzbbq!11!!

What a deall!!!11!one!1!1

WOW 3 orsumzz playerzzz for just ONE!11!! and a couple of picks!!11eftpos!1!!1lolzbbq!11!!

Your not a very good poker player are u.

Ok! Once you have shot your load we can move right along!

That deal will not get done! However your point that we are undervaluing Deledio is well made and has been well made by a number of sensible WCE poters.

What do I think is a fair trade? (Note I do not think that this would be done by the way but I think its fair.)

How about?

Pick 4 & Lynch (and/or pick ~20), for
Deledio and Tambling (?)

I would love to keep Lynch, I rate him and the value that he brings to this team is far greater then his statistical performance, however I would be happy to trade him to get Deledio.

I see Tambing as an add on and someone that can play as a crumber and provide mecurial change of pace through centre.

Mate.. Tambling would be worth a first rounder alone.

He is another one I would trade for as well, I think he will become consistant in a few years time, he has allot of inside mids to work with at WC so he wont need to win his own ball, on form he is a great finisher and a great kick to leading forwards, he is a pacy outside midfielder which we desperately need.

Id be tempted to give our pick #4 if we had a PP for Tambling, something more aggreable for me would be our second round pick #18/19 and third round pick upgrade (so a swap of third rounders) and a player for Tambling.