Brett Kirk - what will we do without him?

3-4 is stretching it

maybe 1-3... he's already in his 30s and he plays a very body grinding type of game

in the tackling department there are heaps of guys... its like an instinct when they come to the club

clearences... guys like j. bolton, mcveigh, buchanen etc. will hold their own

as an inspiration and as a leader... nah... there's no one else like him in the competition, and there won't be for quite some time

he has 3-4 good years left in the tank. realistically, will there ever be a true replacement?

Yes, same as we replaced other great players like Kelly.

That is one of the great things about the Swans these days.

just watching him again on fox right now, awsome, his will to win is second to none!

3-4 is stretching it

maybe 1-3... he's already in his 30s and he plays a very body grinding type of game

in the tackling department there are heaps of guys... its like an instinct when they come to the club

clearences... guys like j. bolton, mcveigh, buchanen etc. will hold their own

as an inspiration and as a leader... nah... there's no one else like him in the competition, and there won't be for quite some time
I don't agree. I think he could do a Harvey and play well into his 30s. He has never been particularly quick, so any loss of speed wouldn't be obvious. Although you rightly point out he plays a very physical game, I can't even recall the last game he has missed, he obviously has a great training regime and recovery programme. He'll play on as long as he wants.

Well, when he played his 150th consecutive match, Roos was celebrating equalling Rodney Eade's coaching record of 152... Kinda suggests something about Kirk and Roos. ;)

I am old enough to remember the near-hysteria amongst Swans supporters (the very few we were) when Healy announced his premature retirement due to injury, He was playing great footy at the time, one of the best in the comp.

Then Kelly came along - then Cresswell, schwatter, Maxfield, Kirk et al. These guys don't ever get replaced, but clubs move on and new generals and stars are unearthed along the way.

Yes, same as we replaced other great players like Kelly.

That is one of the great things about the Swans these days.
Yes Dudley,agree on that one.When Kelly retired,it was all doom and gloom.
Then up pops Kirk,given a second chance at the club and grabbed it with both
hands. Hopefully, there is someone on our list who aspires to be as good as
these two champions!

probably some bias here... but how can the aflpa vote harley and judd better captains than kirk

the kirk is good

probably some bias here... but how can the aflpa vote harley and judd better captains than kirk

the kirk is good

To me, Judd seems too aloof to be a truly great captain, as much as he's an on-field leader and a super player, and apparently a decent bloke.
Harley, also apparently a good bloke, is in charge of one of the best sides in history; would he be so highly praised if he were captain of Melbourne? Would he even be in the senior side if his team was middle-of-the-road rather than a record-breaker?
You could make a rookie debutant captain of Geelong and the team would still perform.
Kirk, like Kelly before him, inspires with his on-field deeds, his off-field manner AND his all-round likeability.
Judd would be able to match what Kirk did in the third quarter on Saturday night in terms of actual football output, but whether he could lift his teammates' spirits the way Kirk did, or does, I would doubt.

Then I think back to the 06 grand final, when Kirk and Goodes (and a couple of others) lifted a beaten team almost over the line against a team (that included Judd) that was killing us.

the kirk is good

I think the whole blame really rests on Star Trek. Probably not a lot of Trekkies
in the association. Correct me if im wrong, but in his early days with us, commentators named him Capt Kirk,years before it became a reality.

To me, Judd seems too aloof to be a truly great captain, as much as he's an on-field leader and a super player, and apparently a decent bloke.
Harley, also apparently a good bloke, is in charge of one of the best sides in history; would he be so highly praised if he were captain of Melbourne? Would he even be in the senior side if his team was middle-of-the-road rather than a record-breaker?
You could make a rookie debutant captain of Geelong and the team would still perform.
Kirk, like Kelly before him, inspires with his on-field deeds, his off-field manner AND his all-round likeability.
Judd would be able to match what Kirk did in the third quarter on Saturday night in terms of actual football output, but whether he could lift his teammates' spirits the way Kirk did, or does, I would doubt.

Then I think back to the 06 grand final, when Kirk and Goodes (and a couple of others) lifted a beaten team almost over the line against a team (that included Judd) that was killing us.

Reckon had we got over the line Kirk was a certainty for the Norm Smith he so deserves one before he ends his career :( even these days as i look back i still wonder how the fook we managed to beat a side with Cousins/Kerr/Judd/Cox/Embley all in their prime, special team these Swans are :thumbsu:

the kirk is good

I think it might have had something to do with the fact that we have three captains, so if our club isn't willing to acknowledge him for the amazing job he does as Captain, then why should the players from other clubs.

Funny how Geelong didn't nominate Jimmy Bartel to be voted for MVP, instead opting for Joel Corey and Selwood. This greatly enhanced Ablett's chances for victory by Bartel not taking votes away from him. I wonder if Ablett had have won the Brownlow last year, would they have used the same tactic for Bartel.

I was just watching the replay of the game -- best tackler in the history of the game on average. Outstrips even Liberatore :eek:

Yes I am from wagga my dear ol man is a footy legend there!

I was surprised at recent BF meet up that some regular posters did not see this!!???

It was done for your (fellow Swannies fans) benefit!:thumbsu:

Yes I won the BF comp etition for writing about GF champs!

Thanks:) to author Miles but his prize book is disappointing:thumbsd:

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=11421571&postcount=49

------------------------------------------------------------------------
OK! If it is tooooo long ... don't read it

But ...In my... and my fathers lifetime, we have only seen two decent GF's.. so far!!

“This is for the Bloods!”

My story is about an unassuming “hippy” hero that is unlikely to be mentioned in a book called “Grand Final Champions”. Yet I believe he has redefined the term in modern football.

He was part of a trial “group of captains” chosen to try to fill the big boots left by Paul Kelly and Stewart Maxfield’s unfortunate early retirement. In the second semi final the Cats with a big lead looked almost certain to progress. It was reported later that it was the “hippy” hero who, after witnessing an insipid and undisciplined act by a potential game winner, is said to have ran past in late stage of the third quarter and barked with steely eyes referring to Article x section y of the now famous “Bloods code” …. “Davis, you owe us!” .The hippy was the general marshalling his troops even when still trailing and only 3 seconds on the clock, clapping both hands in encouragement, most likely he called the choice set play?!

In the Preliminary final the hippy was smashed (by accident) but in part due to his never failing ability to put his head, guts with heart over the ball, blood gushed from a deep gash in his skull. After urgent medical treatment went straight back on to lead the side on yet another come from behind but convincing victory with the protection of a later to become famous unfashionable “blood stained” helmet.

The 2005 Grand Final was a grueling slog and even after the maestro Paul Roos had delivered his calm 3 quarter time address it was the “hippy” ( although not officially captain for the day) who called players to huddle again. They all ran immediately like bees to a honey pot. They all knew he was uniquely qualified to deliver what is likely the core message of the “Bloods code” Having grown up watching his own father play quality senior country football with one amputated hand, and , had himself risen by sheer persistence and dedication from a twice rejected “token older NSW country rookie” to almost elite AFL status. It was probably was a just a passionate rousing mantra something like… “Nothing is impossible, NEVER GIVE UP!”

Early in the Grand Final he had assumed the selfless team role that he single handedly redefined with such outstanding consistency and effectiveness that the year before earned him unprecedented All-Australian honors as a specialist tagger. His role was much more valuable than that. In the last quarter a sickening head clash with opposition captain Ben Cousins saw him rebound immediately only to shortly after take a equally dangerous crucial diving mark deep in the backline. In almost every last quarter crucial stoppage, which was integral part of the Swans 05 game plan, it is the hippy crashing in to tackle or hold up possession!

So what did it mean to me??

Well I was at the MCG that day with wife and 3 brothers. Unfortunately my Mum and Dad (long term South Melbourne / Sydney Swans fans) were too ill to take up their guaranteed tickets. They were dying and we all had promised to cast out minds back to their lounge room where they were being cared for by my sister. We had agreed on the drive down regardless of the result, to hold our emotions intact.

I thought I really was going to have a heart attack in the last 5 minutes! A tight lump the size of a red hot sherrin formed in my chest. In the dimming light of MCG I could not clearly see the result of “Leo Barry You Star” ‘s courageous mark but could assess that at worst it would be a ball up. Neither with all the screaming racket could I hear the final siren but knew when I saw Tadhg jump on Leo it was DONE! Swans had WON!

I was stunned. I looked around to find my chosen hero of the day and the 05 year. I caught the unmistakable huge chiseled body of Adam Goodes standing looking bewildered but rotating in a circle clearly looking for something. And ….there he was … exhausted on his knees with head to the sky and clinched fists in the air…. The hippy!! Goodes took off and ran full pelt to embrace the hero captain BRETT KIRK!!!!

55760370.jpg

That was the moment when the “sherrin lump” in the guts moved up my windpipe squeezed into my throat putting pressure on the back of my eyes and the “water works” flowed!!! Fortunately I looked up to see dozens of red and white adorned people of all ages… similarly ….balling their eyes out!!!

What did BRETT KIRK’s succinct statement “This one is for the Bloods” mean?…..

Many Presidents and Prime Ministers get all clammy waiting for an audience with the Dalai Lama. Haha ROFL:D.... the great man himself especially seeks Kirk’y out as a friend who can converse at his wave length! Kirky’s statement was short ….but it meant ..... HEAPS!!!

I would love to explain to the bigoted inter-web idiots (especially on BigFooty) who rubbish the fact that long tem Swans fans and so called “band wagoner” newcomers (who btw are extremely prized) have embraced the “Bloods” moniker … but that is an equally long story maybe for another day when maybe you are grown up enough to understand!!!!!

Oh! and had the Swans the next year 06 GF “stolen” a repeat back2back a last second victory… there is no doubt in my subjective, biased, but humble opinion BRETT KIRK would also own a Norm Smith Medal!!!!!

I could easily make the case for another ugly duck called LRT!!!!!;)