you_idiot

The mighty Geelong Cats!
On Thursday night's edition of "White Line Fever" on Fox Footy at 7:30 p.m., Geelong CEO Brian Cook will be Clinton Grybas' guest (I think in the first guest segment).

Post comments, thoughts, etc., of what happens here...

I've got one:

"Brian, when are you going to fix the pa system in the outer at Skilled Stadium?
Now that we are finally winning at home, we can't sing our song because the pa volume is quieter than my car stereo."

- I actually called the club about this today. It's my own personal barrow to push :D

Who knows the call-in number for the show, off-hand? Better post that here, too...

Would also be a cool thing if one or two of us could get on air. :)

Originally posted by LongBomb
I've got one:

"Brian, when are you going to fix the pa system in the outer at Skilled Stadium?
Now that we are finally winning at home, we can't sing our song because the pa volume is quieter than my car stereo."

- I actually called the club about this today. It's my own personal barrow to push :D

That's a great question... I was wondering the same thing myself last Sunday.

Those acoustics are terrible.

I didn't see a winning game at KP last year (I was o/s)

Was it working then? I'm pretty sure it has been stuffed for years.

Just sent in a question. Probably won't be home to watch it, so hopefully someone is watching to see what questions get asked of him.

Originally posted by phatandphreaky
Just sent in a question. Probably won't be home to watch it, so hopefully someone is watching to see what questions get asked of him.

I'll watch and take notes, and chronicle everything here, for the benefit of those who can't watch and for those who are without Fox Footy.

So I've got the rest of you covered. :)

Originally posted by LongBomb
I didn't see a winning game at KP last year (I was o/s)

Was it working then? I'm pretty sure it has been stuffed for years.

All I know is that from my spot in the standing area each of the last two Kardinia Park games, same spot against the Kangaroos as it was against Melbourne, there's one of those old speakers above and behind me up against the back fence, and I wouldn't have known it was there unless I turned around and seen it with my own eyes. Hardly heard a thing, and the sound that did come out of it was completely muffled.

Shocking, I tell you... absolutely shocking.

Clinton just read my question out. :)

Thankfully they didn't mention my surname.

This was my question:

Brian,

Firstly, congratulations for the success you have achieved with the club. All the clubs supporters and members greatly appreciate your efforts.

Secondly, with many clubs looking for CEO's, are you considering moving on, or are you committed to continuing your great work at Geelong?

Chronicling this as it's happening on-air:

Cook spoke about the 22K capacity currently at Skilled Stadium, and the cash profit the club can take there versus at Telstra Dome or the MCG (no surprise to any of us)...

...his background as a CEO, as the second-longest serving man in that position in the league, and his future (no worries, he says he's staying at the GFC for at least another year)...

..."Home for me is Geelong, Clinton," he declared...

...the state of the team's form at the moment-- and how that relates to memberships sold right now, saying that the eventual goal will be 30,000 memberships...

...the re-construction of the stadium, saying that the goal is to have a marquee opponent play against the Cats in Geelong...

...the Ford deal, and the conflict with the league's deal with Toyota, and what that means to the club and the Geelong community as a whole...

And now they're going to break.

Originally posted by phatandphreaky
Clinton just read my question out. :)

Thankfully they didn't mention my surname.

This was my question:

Brian,

Firstly, congratulations for the success you have achieved with the club. All the clubs supporters and members greatly appreciate your efforts.

Secondly, with many clubs looking for CEO's, are you considering moving on, or are you committed to continuing your great work at Geelong?

Great question, and Brian gave a great answer.

Back from the ad break:

On the three Rising Star nominees, Cook praised their efforts and said basically that there's more where they've come from...

...on the fixture requests for 2005, he said that the GFC has asked for pretty much the same requests as last year, and is optimistic that they'll get most of them...

...the first caller said that it's "an absolute disgrace" that Geelong gets to play home games in Geelong, to which Cook's reply was that it's in the club's best interests to play there in order to make a profit...

...one caller commented on Gary Ablett Jr., and Cook said that he's a unique talent apart from his famous father.

Wish they would screen those calls. That Collngwood clown was a joke.

Apparently we have overachieved given we haven't beaten anyone of note (despite beating both Melbourne and Essendon in the last month).

Then went on to say that it was an "absolute disgrace" that we can play home games, but Collingwood can't.

Dolt.

Anyway, i'm off to see Shrek 2.

Back from the next ad break:

Clinton remarked about the Cats' current ten-game drought against Brisbane, and Cook acknowledged that "it's going to be a tough match"...

...Caller (a Geelong supporter) from Tassie thanked Cook for their customer service approach, and Cook says that the club goes to great effort to emphasise that...

...Cook said that there's a 50-50 breakdown of members who are living inside Geelong versus outside the city, when a caller remarked that there are more GFC members than there is seating capacity at the stadium...

All in all, a very good interview.

And at the end, someone SMS'd in to ask about the PA system being fixed. :D

Also, Cook said that he feels that the club culture at Geelong is on the improve, and defended the re-signing of Mark Thompson as the team's coach a year ago, a move that in hindsight is turning into a masterstroke.

What was the response to the question about the PA system?

I know they are putting in a new PA system with the re-development, so we'll probably have to wait for that.