News Brian ****ing Cook?

• Thread starter Thread starter RoyalBlue

This is the most important 48 hours in recent history for our club. Get Cook & we get the AFL, Ballarat and a winning culture.
Ballarat is no mans land.

the report suggest's he is going to accept a "lucrative offer" So based on that are we assuming that the board just offered him a job without an interview ? Or was an interview done prior to Cook going on holidays ? Shirley you would assume that they have met up with him to discuss stuff...

...just saying

You guys should have alot more faith in the people running the club than thinking they haven't put copious amounts of time into this and trying to land the absolute best !!!!

A great deal of this can be attributed to Frank Costa. Frank organizes and Brian executes. That is not to say that he would not be a good addition. Huge experience, very good political contacts and the AFL love him.

Hard to Beat as usual takes the contra view. There is a surprise.
I think that Cook did a lot more than this. In 1999 when Geelong was in desperate trouble financially and embarked on a tin rattling campaign, Cook was the one who made the changes. Geelong was a club that was living well beyond its means and he delivered doses of reality to the club and supporters in bucket loads. As an example prior to Cook arriving people could reserve seats at Kardinia Park without even being members and not even bother to turn up to games. Hardly the way to make money but Cook quickly brought an end to that practice.

He has invented new ways to make money out of supporters. In fact I am surprised that he hasn't devised a program to get people to have to pay to queue up and have a leak.

And if I am not mistaken he was very much involved in persuading Westpac to write off the minor sum of $4m.

If he comes to North he will not find it anywhere near as easy as our club cannot be accused of is being wasteful.

If there is one thing that might persuade him to stay at Geelong it is the fact that in the middle of next year, one of his projects, the redevelopment of the Doug Wade (I think it was most recently called) stand is due for completion. Included with this is the installation of lights, with night games to be played there from then on. He would surely want to still be there to see the unveiling of this project.

This isn't ye olde times Horace, electricity has been around for awhile.

Denny Crane

This all appears to be being driven by the AFL. I think it's a pretty easy decision for the board to make. I also expect the AFL will guarantee a good draw? and generous spec distribution as well as Tas and Ballarat support.
Will they also give us a North supporting Victorian state Premier of two

James is tripping if the club finishes 12th and he thinks he can wheel this out as some great achievement prior to the next election.

I still don't see what all the fuss is about Cook.

Debts paid off, record memberships, record profits, Premierships - Cook's career since 1990. Fair to say if he's not the best in the business, he's bloody close to it.

What worries me is wat the f*** happen if he says no. This whole time we have put all our eggs in the one basket without knowing he will sign on...to me I think we've got him because I don't think we are that dumb

Debts paid off, record memberships, record profits, Premierships - Cook's career since 1990. Fair to say if he's not the best in the business, he's bloody close to it.

Geelong had a unique demographic and a significant latent supporter base that were largely mobilised with stunning luck under the old father son rule.

This was effectively the engine that made Geelong.

What worries me is wat the f*** happen if he says no. This whole time we have put all our eggs in the one basket without knowing he will sign on...to me I think we've got him because I don't think we are that dumb
If he say's no, we go back to being North without Brian Cook. And go back to what we were before. I never felt any ill feelings about that.

Then there was the premier who wouldn't give the good folk of Ballarat a few bob for a half decent paddock but then found 25 million for his AFL footy club.

Was this another exhibition of Brian Cooks genius?

This isn't ye olde times Horace, electricity has been around for awhile.

Denny Crane
Thanks Denny, I would never have guessed. :rolleyes:

The point I was making is that this is a major redevelopment, something that no other Victorian club has ever done of its own accord (unless you include South Melbourne and the Lakeside oval in the late 1950's). Geelong plans to play a number of home games there every year and as the major architect behind the redevelopment it would be a little odd if Cook left before completion.

Thanks Denny, I would never have guessed. :rolleyes:

The point I was making is that this is a major redevelopment, something that no other Victorian club has ever done of its own accord (unless you include South Melbourne and the Lakeside oval in the late 1950's). Geelong plans to play a number of home games there every year and as the major architect behind the redevelopment it would be a little odd if Cook left before completion.

They will finish the redevelopment.

It would be a huge coup for our club to get Cook

James is tripping if the club finishes 12th and he thinks he can wheel this out as some great achievement prior to the next election.

Yeah, I think you're a bit off pace on this one mate.

The AFL is all over this - just think back to the media reports re Icebergs lunch in Sydney and the vehement denials. Cook looks the goods and certainly has the runs on the board so to speak. I think Cook will be a great get especially given what Geelong is reportedly doing to keep him (extended contract, more dosh etc). Hope we can pull this off!

No doubt Cook has the runs on he board with Geelong and WCE, however this is a vastly different challenge at North for him. He's been a master at utilising the strengths at these clubs that were largely left to waste.

We don't have a state full of supporters or sponsors, we don't have a clean staduin where we play 8-9 games a year and take in $800k per game and we don't have a state premier in our pocket.

I'm not saying he would be a good get, but this would be a unique challenge for him.

The AFL is all over this - just think back to the media reports re Icebergs lunch in Sydney and the vehement denials. Cook looks the goods and certainly has the runs on the board so to speak. I think Cook will be a great get especially given what Geelong is reportedly doing to keep him (extended contract, more dosh etc). Hope we can pull this off!

You mean the AFL aren't completely committed to destroying the NMFC any longer?

All that Tassie game stuff was over the top hysteria?

You mean the AFL aren't completely committed to destroying the NMFC any longer?

All that Tassie game stuff was over the top hysteria?

The AFL are far, far more concerned about the Dogs, Port and Brissy than us. You could add Melbourne and St Kilda to that list too I reckon.

They just gave us 3 Friday nights. They are giving us a shot at success now.

History will view Demetriou in a different light to how he was viewed by many over the previous few years.

I think he has been pitching for us all along.

History will view Demetriou in a different light to how he was viewed by many over the previous few years.

I think he has been pitching for us all along.
Sure - I can feel the love.