Brisbane

gingerthedog

Rookie
collingwood
im getting sick of these brisbane supporters and admin having ago at victorians as all we are seeking is a level playing field. essendon over the years have lost several players as they had to clear them to fit under the salary cap, eg hardwick, blumfield, heffernen and even dating back to barry young( if you can rememeber that one).

Sydney argue that they need that extra money as cost of living is so much higher. im not sure of the exact figure but the base salary these days is around 100,000. yet players can live of that?

Young teams like Stkilda in a couple of years are going to struggle to maintain their fantastic young list. with hamils contract extension what will happen to players like goddard,luke ball, delsanto and several other players. im sure they wouldn't have pay issues if they had an extra 600,000.

Although Brisbane haven't used this money to poach players(but matthews has pointed that fact at collingwood enough times when o'bree and buckley left brisbane) they have used this extra money to keep players.

NB/ buckley wanted to play for Collingwood

NB/ obree wanted to come back to melbourne

in a age where the afl want to make the competition a even playing field brisbane are clearly the best team in the comp partly because of the higher salary cap and partly because of smart drafting.

There is no doubt that Brisbane have the list they have due to brilliant recruiting. Equally there is no doubt they are able to keep the list together due to the retention scheme. As was stated other clubs aren't able to keep good lists together. Clearly Brisbane are getting an unfair advantage.

I think that this is a little harsh. However, obviously you follow Collingwood and have cracked it so bad that you are still going on about it.

Get over it.

Originally posted by labrooy
There is no doubt that Brisbane have the list they have due to brilliant recruiting. Equally there is no doubt they are able to keep the list together due to the retention scheme. As was stated other clubs aren't able to keep good lists together. Clearly Brisbane are getting an unfair advantage.
You Victorian clubs all want the benefits that the Lions & Swans bring to the competition in terms of massively increased broadcast rights etc, but on the other hand you don't recognise the critical need for them to be successful.

I read an article last year that said that the potential of the Sydney market alone brought in an extra $100 million to the broadcast rights.

Do you want that to continue?
or can you survive at the same level without us?

Just recognising the simple need for additional assistance (whatever form that may take) to overcome their serious competitive disadvantages is a bloody difficult concept to get your head around isnt it?

Re: ****en brisbane

Originally posted by gingerthedog
im getting sick of these brisbane supporters and admin having ago at victorians as all we are seeking is a level playing field. essendon over the years have lost several players as they had to clear them to fit under the salary cap, eg hardwick, blumfield, heffernen and even dating back to barry young( if you can rememeber that one).

Sydney argue that they need that extra money as cost of living is so much higher. im not sure of the exact figure but the base salary these days is around 100,000. yet players can live of that?

Young teams like Stkilda in a couple of years are going to struggle to maintain their fantastic young list. with hamils contract extension what will happen to players like goddard,luke ball, delsanto and several other players. im sure they wouldn't have pay issues if they had an extra 600,000.

Although Brisbane haven't used this money to poach players(but matthews has pointed that fact at collingwood enough times when o'bree and buckley left brisbane) they have used this extra money to keep players.

in a age where the afl want to make the competition a even playing field brisbane are clearly the best team in the comp partly because of the higher salary cap and partly because of smart drafting.

As an ex victorian swans supporter that lives in Brisbane I can see all the arguments from various points of view. The reality is it cannot be a level playing field. There are many reasons why Brisbane is on top at the moment and most of it is not a few extra dollars. If that was the case the swans would win it every year. Vic players get many more promotional/ appearance opportunity fee dollars. At the end of the day the lions have the best coach, several of the best players Voss et al and a great team spirit. Before the salary cap the same 3-4 Vic clubs won every year and they spent many times the current concessions the swans/lions have for a few more years. Get over it as what comes around goes around.

im getting sick of these brisbane supporters and admin having ago at victorians as all we are seeking is a level playing field.
It's a radical suggestion to say that Bribane & Sydney based team seriously compete "equally" with a Melbourne club without concessions?

How do you factor in poor quality local comps who produce barely enough for 15% of 1 full squad, and playing 2nd fiddle to other codes. These are enormous challenges 14 teams in the comp cannot relate to.

essendon over the years have lost several players as they had to clear them to fit under the salary cap, eg hardwick, blumfield, heffernen and even dating back to barry young( if you can rememeber that one).
Bad luck. The value of Brisbane players has also risen, but many of them have taken pay cuts to remain. If the Essendon players were not motivate to keep the list together then thats mostly a club issue.

Simplistic analysis. You've just highlighted another competitive disadvantage that needs to be overcome for Sydney to compete "equally" with Victorian clubs.

Be more accurate: Essendon couldn't keep their team together. West Coast pretty much kept the entire 92/94 premiership side together throughout the 90s, similarly for Adelaide and the Kangaroos a bit later. None of whom had a salary cap concession.

Go back to gingering the dog. I must admit, that's a very quaint name for it. Have you never met Roger?

:o :o :o :o :o :o :o

Turn it up!!!

Its hot in the kitchen and someone can't cope.

I think one of the problems with this whole issue is that anyone who speaks out against it is labelled a sook. The ability to retain 1 or 2 extra good players is not the only factor in Brisbane's Three-peat. It is however a factor that can't be completely ignored. Same goes for Sydney as well, they weren't far of a grand final themselves.

All I want to know is ...... If it's such a great advantage, then why isn't Sydney in the Grand Final every year?

Brisbane aren't dominant solely because of a few extra dollars, they are able to get so many things right that other clubs cannot.

And anyone who thinks Brisbane will continue to dominate because of few extra dollars will look pretty silly when the current bunch of stars have moved on, and Brisbane slip down the ladder whilst in a re-building phase.

I'm tired of hearing about this to be perfectly honest. We are seeing one of the great teams in Aussie rules history and all we want to do is whinge.

:o :o mate get over it, so if brisbane were at the bottom of the ladder, its ok, but if they are winning, its cheating? get a life, and stop making excuses from your team not being the best!

i dont follow the lions but certainly recognise them as a great side...they have some fantastic players and have,for mine,the best coach in the league who was also one of the greatest to play the game...of course id rather see my side winning these flags but we did it in the 80's and may one day have our turn again...the hawks made 8 grandfinals in 9 years including 7 in a row ( 83 to 89 ), won 5 and lost 4...back to back ( 88-89 )also won a few pre-season comps aswell...they were great teams and great to watch...

Originally posted by Palace03
No one gave a s**t about salary cap concessions when Brisbane were on the bottom.

Exactly like no one gave a s**t about Collingwood travelling when they were at the bottom as well.

Originally posted by taff wa
Exactly like no one gave a s**t about Collingwood travelling when they were at the bottom as well.

Well it's not as if ppl are giving them **** about it because they are at the top is it? Huh? How about putting an imaginary cap on for a minute and pretend you won the last 2 flags. Yet the footy public is claiming you only won them because you didn't have to travel as much as the other teams. That the lack of travel gave you a major advantage. It wouldn't sit too bloody well with supporters would it??

Collingwood dish it out - whether Eddie is wearing his Presidents cap, his footy show hosts hat, his columnists hat, his commentators hat.....it doesn't matter........the message he delivers is always the same, always from the same agenda, and always on behalf of his club (which seeing as he is voted in is on behalf of his members). It's selfserving, it's disrespectful, and it's wrong.

People seem to have conveniently forgotten that in 2002 Collingwood did travel to Perth twice (that seems to be the main point of contention) and travelled in first week of finals and actually performed better in the G/f than they did in 2003 not travelling to Perth and having all home finals. So make them travel please.

Originally posted by Danni
It's selfserving, it's disrespectful, and it's wrong.

Exactly. The main gripe is if you listen carefully is not with the SCC's it is that the Brions "have kept their list together".

Now excuse me , but is this not what the SCC's were for?

The cashed up clubs with cap space (read the wobbles) must have been so disappointed that a couple of the Brions stars never came on the market.

People seem to have conveniently forgotten that in 2002 Collingwood did travel to Perth twice (that seems to be the main point of contention) and travelled in first week of finals and actually performed better in the G/f than they did in 2003 not travelling to Perth and having all home finals. So make them travel please.

Happily. 10 times a year.

They can play in Perth twice, Brisbane twice (I'm sure Melbourne would be happy to buy a home game against them up here), Sydney once, Canberra once, Adelaide twice, Tasmania once, NT once (seeing as Collingwood are so happy to support the growth of a national league).

Of course when they are playing their 'home' games in Melbourne, they can only play at the G a maximum of 2 times per season regular as well. No use getting them used to playing at the G for finals hey? Brisbane don't get that luxury so that would only be fair.

Oh yeah, and they have to come up with the funds to take their extras in the travelling party to each away game too. The AFL pay for the basics, but if a club wants to take extra numbers like a dietician or extra physios or extra doctors etc, well you know the drill, if it exceeds the numbers the club must pay for the extras.

Oh and while we are at it, we'd better remember to add a large humidity chamber to the list. No need for your boys to spend a couple of thousand a piece to aircon their homes thanks to southern weather so they can sleep at night, so might as well at least make acclimatisation as even as possible. On their 'days off' over summer they can live in 35+ deg chambers with a setting of what? Say 70% humidity?.......and go about their daily routines in that taxing environment, then go home and have a good nights sleep and get ready to tax their bodies all over again the next day! But we'll have to employ someone to artificially entice those major summer storms for every few days, just to make it as authentic as possible.

And while where at it, let's remember to send at the minimum 40% of the playing lists family to the other end of the country. So if the boys want to go visit them, they can!

I mean, we'd want to make this as authentic and even as possible for everyone wouldn't we????

And it only shows the need for reduction of teams in Melbourne and then all teams can play each other twice which would make it much more fairer.

That's assuming that you believe that northern or out of Vic success is genuine, not manufactured by concessions.

Though it would be interesting to see one of the bleaters (or more than one) take up the challenge and see how they coped.

Too many teams in Melbourne isn't the reason that all 6 interstate teams spent a majority of last year in the top 8.

The fact that 6 of the 16 teams have had to have the ingenuity to combat a major range of scenarios and travel issues (including pre game, accommodation requirement, air travel requirments, post game rehabilitiation requirements etc etc) on a more regular basis than the other 10 teams is probably closer to the mark.

Those other 6 teams have had to do this to SURVIVE in the compeition. To become and stay competative to the best of their ability.

They've had to learn to do things better and on a more regular basis. And the results are now showing.

Originally posted by Danni
Too many teams in Melbourne isn't the reason that all 6 interstate teams spent a majority of last year in the top 8.

The fact that 6 of the 16 teams have had to have the ingenuity to combat a major range of scenarios and travel issues (including pre game, accommodation requirement, air travel requirments, post game rehabilitiation requirements etc etc) on a more regular basis than the other 10 teams is probably closer to the mark.

They've had to learn to do things better and on a more regular basis. And the results are now showing.

The 6 non Victorian teams earned their positions in the 8 in 2003 fairly and squarely I have no problem with that. As I am located in Perth I would dearly love to see Collingwood come over here twice a year every year to play and so they dam well should travel to Brisbane Adelaide (X 2) and Sydney to play but they also should be entitled to play the non Vic teams in their home state as well and like I wrote above until their is a fair draw when all clubs play each twice that isnt going to happen.

People seem to have conveniently forgotten that in 2002 Collingwood did travel to Perth twice (that seems to be the main point of contention)

Just how many times do you Pie supporters need to be given the stats on trips to Perth.

Since 1995 Collingwood have travelled to Perth less times that the other 13 non-WA clubs - including Port Adelaide and the Brisbane Lions who have only existed since 1997.