leondavis21

Dallas Mavericks, Gonzaga
This just proves how pathetic and gay these stupid umpires are!!

How the hell can Simon Black poll so many votes? It was the same last year. He probably isnt even in the Top 50 players this year!!

Its all bullcrap.... They should make experts vote, not low lifes who dont have a clue......

How the hell can Simon Black poll so many votes? It was the same last year. He probably isnt even in the Top 50 players this year!!

Its all bullcrap.... They should make experts vote, not low lifes who dont have a clue......
I disagree completely. I thought Black had a very good year in a fairly average side. He deserved almost every vote he got. There were many other examples you could have used and I would have agreed wholeheartedly.

What about Adam Goodes??? He was so bad this year that he was nearly dropped yet still polled enough votes to have a chance of winning. And what a joke to see 26 other players polling more votes than Bartel!

The Brownlow voting system needs an overhaul. Its The Midfielders' Medal, with the occasional ruckman bobbing up to win it once a decade or so. Other than Lockett, who was the last key forward to win? Has a key defender EVER won it?

seriously..? any so called expert doesn't run around at ground level all day, every round.

Just accept that the award is voted on by the umpires, it is their best and fairest, and move on.

An inability to do this would render that person "gay" "stupid" and "pathetic".

What about Adam Goodes??? He was so bad this year that he was nearly dropped yet still polled enough votes to have a chance of winning. And what a joke to see 26 other players polling more votes than Bartel!

The Brownlow voting system needs an overhaul. Its The Midfielders' Medal, with the occasional ruckman bobbing up to win it once a decade or so. Other than Lockett, who was the last key forward to win? Has a key defender EVER won it?

Freddie Goldsmith for South in 1955 won it from full back. Only bloke ever to do it. Nice guy too.

How can an Eagles player get a vote against us, after we thumped them by 100 points, I want to know what the umpires were on, must be some of the good stuff....

I was stunned about that too. I think it was Priddis too. Cox played a pretty good game, so I might have accepted that. but Priddis got a bath! Unbelievable.

I know this may be your opinion and where all entitled to one but come on mate think about it........if you actually take any notice of the games you'll understand that Black had a pretty good season!!

Most of the votes he received was in the 1st half of the season where he polled 20 votes....fair enough as they had won 7 of 11 games, with him being the main cog in their sides wins. He polled another 3 votes for the remainder of the season which is prob rightly so as they only won a further 3 games and his season did tale off a little.......

Simon Black deserved to be Runners Up this season......

As for your first paragraph I do agree with you here tho.......but there were better players that you could have used with one being a bloke called Jimmy Bartell!!

Blacks year has been so under rated it is not even funny. If he played in melbourne there would have been such massive raps on it. He was far better then Judd this year yet Judd gets AA as captain and Black gets over looked.

IMO the real joke is Goodes polling as prolifically as he did

Blacks year has been so under rated it is not even funny. If he played in melbourne there would have been such massive raps on it. He was far better then Judd this year yet Judd gets AA as captain and Black gets over looked.

IMO the real joke is Goodes polling as prolifically as he did

Agree totally Shawry.

I actually had a wager on Blacky & was pretty keen on his chances, but for Goodes :eek:

Lets not even talk about Dids.. Led the league in Kicks before his suspension & gets 3 lousy votes :thumbsd:

Swanny deserved more aswell, at least high teens..

I was more amazed that in Round 8 we beat St Kilda by 9 points, yet St Kilda players got allocated 4 of the 6 votes on offer. Then again in Round 19, when we beat them again Goddard got the 3 votes ahead of Leon Davis who was superb that night.

Round 1, Des Headland getting 2 votes was mind boggling. His 21 possies weren't that good and he kicked 1.2....

I remember dale woodall kicked 7 goals for Collingwood in 1983 and didn't get a vote. What a joke, even back then.

It cost him career and he never recovered since. In fact he was last seen working for McDonalds cleaning speaker phones at their drive throughs.

I agree it about time the umpires didn't vote on the Brownlow anyomore.

I was stunned about that too. I think it was Priddis too. Cox played a pretty good game, so I might have accepted that. but Priddis got a bath! Unbelievable.

That was a joke. Cox was awesome, I could see how he could have got a vote, but Priddis! He didnt touch it apart form in there backline. Dale didnt get any votes againest Sydney either. Crazy

Simon Black is a damm good footballer who probably deserved most of his votes prob at the expense of Power who should have got more.
But seriously people Gary Ablett was so ripped off its not funny!
If Ablett and any other player have similar games stas wise and influence on a game the other guy would be an automatic 3 votes where as Ablett has to basically have an outstanding game just to get any votes, if he has just a good to very good game no votes for Gazza!
How would we feel if say Pendles got to Gazzas level next year (hypothetical i know) had the exact same performances and influence as Gazza and missed out like him last night?
We would be baying for blood and all of you know it!
Basically i just hate injustice in footy and Gary was screwed harder than a hooker at a Lawyers convention IMO.

Simon Black is a damm good footballer who probably deserved most of his votes prob at the expense of Power who should have got more.
But seriously people Gary Ablett was so ripped off its not funny!
If Ablett and any other player have similar games stas wise and influence on a game the other guy would be an automatic 3 votes where as Ablett has to basically have an outstanding game just to get any votes, if he has just a good to very good game no votes for Gazza!
How would we feel if say Pendles got to Gazzas level next year (hypothetical i know) had the exact same performances and influence as Gazza and missed out like him last night?
We would be baying for blood and all of you know it!
Basically i just hate injustice in footy and Gary was screwed harder than a hooker at a Lawyers convention IMO.

Ablett was competing with his team mates for votes, you dont lose only 1 game for the year based on one player having an outstanding year, bartel the winner last year, who had a pretty good year, struggled to get votes.

if ablett has a game that is below his best, usually selwood, bartel, corey, and a host of others are playing their best football. thats the great thing about the balanced and experienced side that geelong have managed to build.

mean while its easier to get votes in middle of the road teams that have one player dominating i.e richo, had ablett played for richmond or even the bulldogs he would most likely dominate the voting in most rounds,

as much as the brownlow is about competing with the best players from other clubs, you have to realise you gotta beat your teammates best game most weeks to have a chance at the medal

Ablett was competing with his team mates for votes, you dont lose only 1 game for the year based on one player having an outstanding year, bartel the winner last year, who had a pretty good year, struggled to get votes.

if ablett has a game that is below his best, usually selwood, bartel, corey, and a host of others are playing their best football. thats the great thing about the balanced and experienced side that geelong have managed to build.

mean while its easier to get votes in middle of the road teams that have one player dominating i.e richo, had ablett played for richmond or even the bulldogs he would most likely dominate the voting in most rounds,

as much as the brownlow is about competing with the best players from other clubs, you have to realise you gotta beat your teammates best game most weeks to have a chance at the medal
Understand where your coming from but you say "If Ablett has a game below his best"
proves my point, Ablett is expected to dominate it seems more than any other player including his team mates just to get votes purely on what is expected of him rather than what he produces. We all know how good some players are but they should be judged on theyre performance and not reputation. The guy is so good yet he can have a 25 possesion game kick a couple lay 5 tackles but not get votes because "Gazzas been better in other games" mentality by the umps which is a cop out.
Fair dinkum the guy would have to have 35 touches a game kick a few and dominate for at least 10 to 12 games to get the medal based on what is expected of him. Like i said i see where ur coming from but still think he is harshly judged and ws ripped off.

Understand where your coming from but you say "If Ablett has a game below his best"
proves my point, Ablett is expected to dominate it seems more than any other player including his team mates just to get votes purely on what is expected of him rather than what he produces. We all know how good some players are but they should be judged on theyre performance and not reputation. The guy is so good yet he can have a 25 possesion game kick a couple lay 5 tackles but not get votes because "Gazzas been better in other games" mentality by the umps which is a cop out.
Fair dinkum the guy would have to have 35 touches a game kick a few and dominate for at least 10 to 12 games to get the medal based on what is expected of him. Like i said i see where ur coming from but still think he is harshly judged and ws ripped off.

I guess some would say that playing in a team that almost never loses, with brilliant team mates like Bartel, Selwood, Corey, Ling, etc etc etc, plus one premiership medallion and most likely a second to keep it company in a few more days to be some comfort (no doubt rather cold ;) ) for poor old Gazza... :) I wonder whether Robert Harvey would trade both his Brownlows to have played in a premiership?

Black had a blinder start to the year, and no one to take votes off him. He went as I expected he would.

But ****ing Cooney? This blokes no better than Woey. :rolleyes: