So overblown that you were trying to force your vice captain on big $$ out the door...........Nah I doubt there was any interest from us or Bryce.. the salary cap stuff is way overblown

BigFooty AFLW Notice Img
AFLW 2025 - AFLW Trade and Draft - All the player moves
Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
So overblown that you were trying to force your vice captain on big $$ out the door...........Nah I doubt there was any interest from us or Bryce.. the salary cap stuff is way overblown
I dont think Gibbs said a word during the whole saga. Reid as his ex manager felt compelled to speak on his behalf.Don't know that he ever mentioned personal issues
Carlton did the right thing. I can't imagine Gibbs being anything other than a complete professional and playing to his ability next season, and the two clubs might find themselves at the same juncture again next year. No point getting bent over at the trade table for a contracted player unless you think that guy is going to be a poor influence around the club next season.
Sorry mate, nothing stopping him quitting footy and doing a 9-5 job to get back home....amazing what you'll put up with for the right price and to live out your dream.Gibbs and his partner are both from Adelaide. They've got a kid who's not even 18 months old.
Grandparents love seeing their grand kids and are the best help for parents, especially first time parents.
There's a lot of stress involved with a young kid and things like going back to work. AFL players are in the spotlight constantly and are way for quite a few weekends in each season.
I'm not saying we all have to pity Gibbs, but I'm just saying we are very quick to dismiss personal issues without knowing the full story.
It's possible to say 'Good for Carlton for holding their ground' without saying 'Gibbs is full of BS'.
Oh yeah that's a totally reasonable alternative. Quit your highly paid career and go work a normal job. Please.Sorry mate, nothing stopping him quitting footy and doing a 9-5 job to get back home....amazing what you'll put up with for the right price and to live out your dream.
I'm sure Gibbs would have preferred to go home, but from what it seems it wasn't a McCarthy like situation where he is going home regardless.Gibbs and his partner are both from Adelaide. They've got a kid who's not even 18 months old.
Grandparents love seeing their grand kids and are the best help for parents, especially first time parents.
There's a lot of stress involved with a young kid and things like going back to work. AFL players are in the spotlight constantly and are way for quite a few weekends in each season.
I'm not saying we all have to pity Gibbs, but I'm just saying we are very quick to dismiss personal issues without knowing the full story.
It's possible to say 'Good for Carlton for holding their ground' without saying 'Gibbs is full of BS'.
meme that.
![]()
His old man absolutely hates Port through the SANFL old days. Salary cap or not, he wouldnt ever play for the club. Plus we've got Aaron Young. Only enough space for 1 man bun in the salary cap.
Draft v trade. DifferentWhen both of Graham Cornes' sons played for your club, I'm not sure that who your father hates holds much weight.
Which was a massive mistake. Reid should have kept his mouth shut. It was disrespectful to Carlton. He better learn quickly from this.I dont think Gibbs said a word during the whole saga. Reid as his ex manager felt compelled to speak on his behalf.
Given that Gibbs signed his current contract prior to having the kid things change massively once you become parents, especially first time parents.
Carlton are dogs IMO. Pick 13 + Lyons was a decent offer.
What Adelaide offered was enough compensation for an old Gibbs. Gibbs has played at Carlton for like 10 years and been one of their most consistent players over that time. Gibbs' wife/gf was not pregnant when he signed that contract. Maybe they believed it would be much easier than it actually is. As I said Carlton are dogs. Remember this over the next 5-10 years when players wont want to go there.I don't blame Adelaide for not wanting to give up 2 first rounders and I don't blame Carlton for holding onto him. He shouldn't have signed a 5 year deal it's pretty simple. Gibbs wanted to leave after his front loaded contract, I'm sure him and his partner would've discussed having a child in the next 5 years before he signed the deal.
The fact his old man played for glenelg I'd say he wouldn't be to happy if his son put on a port jersey.were the personal issues so bad he couldn't go Port Adelaide rather than "home" to Adelaide ??
Yeah no worries mate leave his 600 thousand plus job for a grand a week job as a fork lift driver.Sorry mate, nothing stopping him quitting footy and doing a 9-5 job to get back home....amazing what you'll put up with for the right price and to live out your dream.
What Adelaide offered was enough compensation for an old Gibbs. Gibbs has played at Carlton for like 10 years and been one of their most consistent players over that time. Gibbs' wife/gf was not pregnant when he signed that contract. Maybe they believed it would be much easier than it actually is. As I said Carlton are dogs. Remember this over the next 5-10 years when players wont want to go there.
Yeah he we get to deal with his bitterness at least 3 times a week. With his sons playing nearly 600 games between them you would think he would have mellowed. Nope if anything, the angry old fella hates us even more.Remind me who Graham Cornes kids player for again?