Bryce Gibbs and his personal issues

Carlton did the right thing. I can't imagine Gibbs being anything other than a complete professional and playing to his ability next season, and the two clubs might find themselves at the same juncture again next year. No point getting bent over at the trade table for a contracted player unless you think that guy is going to be a poor influence around the club next season.

Gibbs most certainly will be a professional. He'll probably be at Adelaide in 2018 too. But would hope it sets a reasonable precedence for our club.

Gibbs and his partner are both from Adelaide. They've got a kid who's not even 18 months old.

Grandparents love seeing their grand kids and are the best help for parents, especially first time parents.

There's a lot of stress involved with a young kid and things like going back to work. AFL players are in the spotlight constantly and are way for quite a few weekends in each season.

I'm not saying we all have to pity Gibbs, but I'm just saying we are very quick to dismiss personal issues without knowing the full story.

It's possible to say 'Good for Carlton for holding their ground' without saying 'Gibbs is full of BS'.

Gibbs and his partner are both from Adelaide. They've got a kid who's not even 18 months old.

Grandparents love seeing their grand kids and are the best help for parents, especially first time parents.

There's a lot of stress involved with a young kid and things like going back to work. AFL players are in the spotlight constantly and are way for quite a few weekends in each season.

I'm not saying we all have to pity Gibbs, but I'm just saying we are very quick to dismiss personal issues without knowing the full story.

It's possible to say 'Good for Carlton for holding their ground' without saying 'Gibbs is full of BS'.
Sorry mate, nothing stopping him quitting footy and doing a 9-5 job to get back home....amazing what you'll put up with for the right price and to live out your dream.

Oh yeah that's a totally reasonable alternative. Quit your highly paid career and go work a normal job. Please.

Carlton are well within their rights to keep him and of course he could quit. My point is that he also has the right to ask to be traded for any reason what so ever. And without being close to Gibbs there's a lot of rubbish talked about him without knowing what he was trying to do for his partner and kid.

I'm sure Gibbs would have preferred to go home, but from what it seems it wasn't a McCarthy like situation where he is going home regardless.

meme that.

1cnvqu.jpg

Needs SOS' face photoshopped.

His old man absolutely hates Port through the SANFL old days. Salary cap or not, he wouldnt ever play for the club. Plus we've got Aaron Young. Only enough space for 1 man bun in the salary cap.

Remind me who Graham Cornes kids player for again?

Given that Gibbs signed his current contract prior to having the kid things change massively once you become parents, especially first time parents.

Carlton are dogs IMO. Pick 13 + Lyons was a decent offer.

Given that Gibbs signed his current contract prior to having the kid things change massively once you become parents, especially first time parents.

Carlton are dogs IMO. Pick 13 + Lyons was a decent offer.

I don't blame Adelaide for not wanting to give up 2 first rounders and I don't blame Carlton for holding onto him. He shouldn't have signed a 5 year deal it's pretty simple. Gibbs wanted to leave after his front loaded contract, I'm sure him and his partner would've discussed having a child in the next 5 years before he signed the deal.

What Adelaide offered was enough compensation for an old Gibbs. Gibbs has played at Carlton for like 10 years and been one of their most consistent players over that time. Gibbs' wife/gf was not pregnant when he signed that contract. Maybe they believed it would be much easier than it actually is. As I said Carlton are dogs. Remember this over the next 5-10 years when players wont want to go there.

Must admit as a Carlton supporter I'm surprised by the reaction on here being relatively pro Carlton holding on to Gibbs (and I will say I can't blame Adelaide for not paying the price being asked).

The bigger question is this a watershed moment for clubs where they will make a stand and enforce player contracts. As Pendlebury said, if Gibbs had moved then contracts had become virtually meaningless.

Will players and managers now know that if they sign a 4 or 5-year deal then it's for keeps.

What Adelaide offered was enough compensation for an old Gibbs. Gibbs has played at Carlton for like 10 years and been one of their most consistent players over that time. Gibbs' wife/gf was not pregnant when he signed that contract. Maybe they believed it would be much easier than it actually is. As I said Carlton are dogs. Remember this over the next 5-10 years when players wont want to go there.

Where to start... Why would Carlton take pick 13 for our 2nd best player when he's contracted for 3 more years, when he's been there for 10 years and when he's been one of our most consistent players over that time?

Sure she might not have been pregnant but usually you plan when you are going to have kids and saying "maybe they believed it to be easier than it is" is you talking crap to suit your argument.

Now you can predict the future that no players will nominate to go to Carlton? Bryce will have his best season yet next year and if Adelaide want him next year they can pay the appropriate price, your simple mind has been brainwashed by the media.. Adelaide are the dogs for the way they handled this deal to both Carlton and Bryce and I'm glad SOS didn't cave.

13 and a fringe player is probably around the mark as a fair price to pay for Gibbs who's coming out of contract and dead set on getting home no matter what.

If he's got three years on his contract and still in limbo on his decision it's nowhere near acceptable as far as Carlton's concerned so I reckon they did the right thing in driving for a better price.

Bryce Gibbs and his personal issues