Roast Bryce Gibbs

There is too many variables involved to make a meaningful conclusion like that unfortunately.

Im sure you could also draw a similar conclusion with Cameron and Lever leaving us.

You have a statistically significant amount of games with and without McGovern which were drastically different result wise, and not only that, but our average winning margin decreased when Gov was playing which indicates we were beating more quality opponent. Equally you have very similar games played/missed in both years which gets rid of any argument that he benefited from 2017 heavily here. Not only that, but it also passes the eye test because we've seen the impact of having a pack crashing forward can have on a forward line, and that none of Jenkins, Tex and Lynch offer that at all.

You can't with Lever because we replaced him with a dude hovering around the AA mark so it'd fail the "eye test", Cameron you could also potentially argue seeing how important defensive pressure is in the forward line.

I was all for the Gibbs trade at the time, but in retrospect (at this stage), it has been a monumental failure. To think what Hamish may have done with picks 10 and 16.
Imagine. We'd have another couple of kids running around in the twos instead of Gibbs running around in the twos.

Depends, if he has a gambling debt I don't see why bikies would be involved. Plenty of legal ways for a bloke earning 600K to waste money gambling

A degenerate gambler will eventually exhaust the legal ways. Then it’s on credit and if someone doesn’t pay bookies will collect for others or buy the debt.

He said he wants to emulate Toby Greene

I would say we told him he is primarily a defensive player. That we did not see him as an attacking target. He was not good enough offensively. Tex JJ Lynch Betts MGov would be the targets and Charles would run around chasing defenders.

I can’t blame him...

I know we like to criticise David Noble’s trading. But he paid less for Charles than Carlton paid for MGov, he paid less for Charles than we paid for Gibbs, and Charles is clearly going to contribute more to Brisbane than the other two guys are going to contribute to their clubs.
Greene is playing a bit in the middle.

The Cameron trade could be a winner for both sides if Fog develops well.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Nah he just loves a celebration. Its something I never liked in his, or anyones game really.

Leave that to soccer players and American sportspeople
I'm guessing he may have been told to tone that down with us. Remember when he went through this weird period where he stopped celebrating anything and was all "I'm just trying to be humble" and all that? Maybe Pykey told him you're not good enough to be carrying on like that and that led to his comments the other week.

That rumour was about Dayne Beams at Collingwood - that's where a single biker arrived at training apparently (allegedly). There was a statement somewhere that there was only one bigger gambler than Beams, and that is supposedly Gibbs. For mine, I can't imagine we'd have contracted him if there were such issues - it would go against the grain for us I think.
Addictions are difficult to deal with and it's not something you "get over" like a cold. He could have been fine for months or years, then he slips and he's back in it again.

Given the nature of the rumoured issues it's not something I can say one way or the other what Gibbs and the club should do, that's up to Gibbs, those close to him and the club. What I do find distasteful is that if true, it's pretty much an open secret right now, but the media can't take their hands off it and keep poking around the issue with open ended "well there has to be something more going on behind the scenes...". Like they just weeks ago made claims about needing to do better when it comes to players mental health, but then knowing Gibbs may be doing it tough continually plaster his name, throw out trade scenarios, say he could retire etc etc.

Addictions are difficult to deal with and it's not something you "get over" like a cold. He could have been fine for months or years, then he slips and he's back in it again.

Given the nature of the rumoured issues it's not something I can say one way or the other what Gibbs and the club should do, that's up to Gibbs, those close to him and the club. What I do find distasteful is that if true, it's pretty much an open secret right now, but the media can't take their hands off it and keep poking around the issue with open ended "well there has to be something more going on behind the scenes...". Like they just weeks ago made claims about needing to do better when it comes to players mental health, but then knowing Gibbs may be doing it tough continually plaster his name, throw out trade scenarios, say he could retire etc etc.
Pot, black.
I know a sports reporter and they say it's widely known, but it's a 'secret' and they can't talk about it.
So if it is (and this I don't know) the reason he is in and out of the team, then the media are treading a very fine line in my opinion with it. Are they contributing to the pressure on him?

Maybe he got caught up in the hype. Betts and Sauce both took significant step ups coming to the Crows maybe he thought it would “just happen”, especially with some solid inside mids to do the hard work. I think he is more than capable but he needs to start owning it and start delivering. We have a great balance of inside/outside mids I thought but our running game has rarely clicked so we are not scoring anywhere near the caliber at our disposal. Time to start doing

94 95 and 96 were bad. Some players never recovered, some talent lost. Especially cornsey. Last year was as bad as things have been. Gibbs came with some controversy into that.

He did appear in our best players, frequently when we got to 6 wins 3 losses. Before everything went pear shaped. We now know how hard things were leading up to it. To be fair, it must of been hard on Gibbs, with so much expected off him from the word go.

But still, the trade was a gamble.

I'm guessing he may have been told to tone that down with us. Remember when he went through this weird period where he stopped celebrating anything and was all "I'm just trying to be humble" and all that? Maybe Pykey told him you're not good enough to be carrying on like that and that led to his comments the other week.
Pyke is not a fan off the carry on when celebrating goals. He loves players getting around each other but anything considered a bit out there, he is not a fan off.

Remember earlier this season when Knight kicked a goal at the Adelaide Oval (can't remember who it was against) and celebrated by "counting cash"?

I have in on a very good authority, that Pyke tore shreds of Knight. Knight won't be doing that again any time soon!

Pyke is not a fan off the carry on when celebrating goals. He loves players getting around each other but anything considered a bit out there, he is not a fan off.

Remember earlier this season when Knight kicked a goal at the Adelaide Oval (can't remember who it was against) and celebrated by "counting cash"?

I have in on a very good authority, that Pyke tore shreds of Knight. Knight won't be doing that again any time soon!

Ive never understood why coaches try to suffocate harmless bits of fun like this. There surely cant be much harm in a celebration but there can certainly be harm in tearing shreds off a player for trying to have fun. Seems more likely to hinder than help the culture. So many successful teams in world sport have a bit of that arrogance or swagger about them.

Good, they lost that game so he ends up looking like a total flog. Dont mind Pyke doing this at all.

Ive never understood why coaches try to suffocate harmless bits of fun like this. There surely cant be much harm in a celebration but there can certainly be harm in tearing shreds off a player for trying to have fun. Seems more likely to hinder than help the culture. So many successful teams in world sport have a bit of that arrogance or swagger about them.
Mate he looked like a flog and we ended up winning the game.

Those are the things that have to be earnt over time and career. Knight has done sweet **** all to date to carry on like a pork chop. If Eddie was to do that, OK, I can handle it, the man has over a decade of great footy behind him to act like a tool. Knight hasn't earnt the right yet. Not in my mind anyway.

It like Henderson doing the "timeout" sign early in his career. GTFO!

Gibbs conspiracy theory, what if we're trying to bully him into retiring for salary cap relief purposes?
How would that help his current situation?

The Melbourne media keep the rumours going.

SEN chief broadcaster Gerard Whateley simply believes the Crows are keeping the full story close to their chest about why Gibbs is coming in and out of the side.

“The only conclusion to this is that we’re not being told the whole story and that one day we might learn it, but we’re not learning it at the moment,” Whateley said.

Huddo: "Do you think Bryce Gibbs will be at the Crows next year?"

Gerard: "If we had a mid-season trade period, he wouldn't be there next week"

Jesus Christ.

What a debacle.

How do you even go about getting money from bikies for gambling?

Do they have a hotline you can call? Or do you just rock up at their club house and ask for cash?
There is a whole report on Bikies, Drugs and Gambling affecting sport. The Bikies seek out AFL players and get friendly with them on a social level, then exploit them.

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Roast Bryce Gibbs