- Banned
There is no justice in this game. Ricciuto was much more deserving of the win to keep his flag dream alive than Vandenberg, who may be a decent leader but hasn't given the heart and soul that Roo has to his club.

BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Opening Round
The Golden Ticket - Official AFL on-seller of MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
)Link me to where I said he was never approachable![]()
I find it odd that you can criticise someone for being unapproachable if you've "never bothered to ask him for anything"
I think it was back in 1999 at an aftermatch asking for his autograph(I got it) that I had made my mind up on him off the feild. I have never approached him again
Funny that in the 3 years I have been posting on this board not once have I seen you mention this issue before.
Dont take it personally Macca, he seems to be a pretty shy country bloke from what we've seen. Yesterday he would have been extremely disappointed and close to a state of shock that his career is over-not suprise as in expected to thrash the hawks but it would have hit him like a truck. Also I dont think he was very happy with how he played and a little embarrassed. Players are always going to be more accomidating to kids than adults, and I dont blame them. At the end of the day someone like Roo is not different to you or I, just that he's played very good football at AFL level and happens to be quite well known. How would you handle people coming up to you all the time asking for autographs, photos etc, I understand its all part of it but its not as easy as some would think. (Thankyou Dr Phil)
I think people know who they can approach and whom they can, I mean the perfect world all players would be equally as approachable as each other, but they are human so that will never be. I was really disapointed with how it all ended, and many of the AFC supporters who were at the game were equally disapointed, and I think when Mark looks back and says well my last game I had dog of a game, but I also didnt give the send off to the people who have supported me through my career the thanks either.
Look, im not going to buy into the 'is roo approachable' debate, except to say that on the one occasion i saw him in the shed, he signed my guernsey no hassles.
Im not sure what your point is though. You say that players are human, and not all are extroverted in their ability to deal with fans. Why then is it such a big deal to you that Roo was reserved after such a shattering loss.
Look, im not going to buy into the 'is roo approachable' debate, except to say that on the one occasion i saw him in the shed, he signed my guernsey no hassles.
Im not sure what your point is though. You say that players are human, and not all are extroverted in their ability to deal with fans. Why then is it such a big deal to you that Roo was reserved after such a shattering loss.
Wind it up will you. You 2 are looking more stupid by the minute.
I have had numerous opportunities to deal with Roo over the years and I must say that not once did I experience any reluctance or anything such from the man. In fact he has been super approachable to anyone wanting to have a chat or get an autograph or anything like that. I have shitload of signed Roo memorabilia including my birthday present from 2005, a large signed picture of Roo. My GF at the time asked my mate if he could somehow get in contact with Roo to sign the photo and he was more than willing. The photo was taken to the club and was personally signed by the great man.
There was an incident on one of those Norwood trials going back a few years when I accidentaly walked into the stand and area that was reserved for players and their invitees. When the security realised that I was a joe bloggs off the street they asked me to leave but Roo told them that it was OK and I was with him. Not only did I have the priviledge to sit with players and their guest for that day, Roo also made sure that my mates who were running late were also with us. Roo had a thumb injury at the time and didn't play.
I just don't understand this Roo bashing because over the years in all my dealings with him directly or indirectly he has been nothing short of sensational. A champion player and a champion bloke!
Everything I know about Roo tells me that he is not one for great fan fare.I agree, Im sure alot of AFC supporters havent had a problem with him at all, maybe I caught him on bad day or Ive seen him at other functions and he hasnt been in the right frame of mind Im not sure.
At the end of the day I thought and many others thought it was a poor way to end a great career.
I think maybe because his fans deserved better? Actually, I think the footy world deserved better. Seeing how Sheeds, Hird etc etc were sent off last week, and here we have this legend, walking off without even so much as acknowledging the crowd, was very, very disappointing.
Just as whole I thought it was disapointing, he had a dirty day, but the AFC supporters wanted to send Riccuito off in a fitting way, celebrate his career for what it was and thank him for his contribution to the AFC, maybe even shed a tear with him, we were never given that chance.
find a new team maccas I have just about had enough of your whinging.
biggest tosser on BF
You need to learn to read.
You know what Ive never bothered to ask, why because of what I may face if I do, that was his attitude.

I agree, Im sure alot of AFC supporters havent had a problem with him at all, maybe I caught him on bad day or Ive seen him at other functions and he hasnt been in the right frame of mind Im not sure.
At the end of the day I thought and many others thought it was a poor way to end a great career.

I had a BBQ at my place last night and I promised my guests that Roo would at least drop in for at quick coldie to thank us for our support. We waited all night, the bast*rd didn't even call.