Toast Cale Morton

Can see why he cops flak - skinny, outside player who has not fulfilled his undoubted potential.

However, the kid is still only 22 and has his best footy in front of him. It wasn't that long ago Melbourne fans had him annointed as the next Goddard, he still has plenty of time to come good. I think he'll be OK.

Look at N. Jones, considered a dud not long ago, now one of our best. Cale could do the same. Given how much we invested in him it's worth finding out!!

However, the kid is still only 22 and has his best footy in front of him. It wasn't that long ago Melbourne fans had him annointed as the next Goddard, he still has plenty of time to come good. I think he'll be OK.

This is particularly relevant for both Morton and Watts - Goddard copped a heap of flak in his first 3-4 seasons for being a soft player who cruised along... people called him a wasted no.1 draft pick. Now look how he turned out.

Sorry to intrude...

Agree with the above comments regarding his age and comparison to Goddard..

Its always an interesting debate about how long you wait to see if a high draft pick with a lot of potential can turn it into a successful player.

If he doesn't turn out - you can always find a gullible club to take him for a priority pick. Please just make sure it isn't Adelaide as we have suffered enough with Tambling.

Among the best on the ground for us two weeks running. Certainly not BOG, but right up there.

Cale's well and truly on the rise at the moment. Hope he can keep this up :thumbsu:

I think what we can take about this is to disregard anything we thought we learnt about players during the Bailey era.

What about Bate? He was good until Bailey came along and then he was vying for the JJ Liston trophy in the VFL, now look at him under Neeld.

I am just going to forget the last 3 years and judge the group on their 2012 performances going forward.

Good job Cale! (terrible ****ing name though)

agree the kid has potental, but he turns the ball over in horrible parts of the ground where it hurts!

he looks better, but his descision making lets him down.
as for someone saying he is a good contested mark:eek: maybe against Blair.

i hope he can build on what he has started this year and become a consistant player.

if not, melb have to move him on!

thats what i thik anyways, hope he becomes the great outside player we badly need!

Decent game from Cale today. Went after the ball, generally used it well but got found out having too small a body at times I reckon. I think he is suited to the midfield, and if he had some class around him, like a Bartel, he'd be that much better for it.

Still, saw him bullock his way into a few packs which is encouraging.

Week-by-week Mstr Morton

Decent game from Cale today. Went after the ball, generally used it well but got found out having too small a body at times I reckon. I think he is suited to the midfield, and if he had some class around him, like a Bartel, he'd be that much better for it.

Still, saw him bullock his way into a few packs which is encouraging.

Week-by-week Mstr Morton

Agree. He wasnt as good as last week, but I think the game style and opposition was certainly very different from last week also.

Still I think the most impressive thing about Cales game was that he didnt give up, he tried hard all day and that he still gave a yelp even though he wasnt on fire. He battled on and got 20 disposals and there really wasnt any majorily bad turnovers I can think of. Some of his defensive work was pleasing, I can think of one big tackle he lay actually which brought a smile to my face.:thumbsu:

Had he kicked those two goals he missed, he might have been amongst our best two or three today.

Happy Happy. He will line up again next week and we'll see how he goes. Mark Neelds coaching has been good for him, he's developing a tougher side to his game. :thumbsu:

Starting to show more consistently why the club felt he was worthy of their first pick when they drafted him. He's got loads of improvement in him but he's getting there and taking major positive steps!

Our best? You are logged in to the wrong account me thinks

Morton has increased my blood pressure many-fold over the last 18-24 months.

I know it's too early to call, but he appears to have made quite a turn around in mindset/attitude/confidence (whatever you want to call it) in the last two weeks.

On ya Cale.

Much improved. Has had composure under pressure the last few weeks and doesn't look afraid of body contact. When you consider how mature bodied Geelong is that's a great sign.

Cale's turn around can be put down to opportunity. The coach is backing him in and playing him on the ball. It puts him in the play and gives him less time to think about committing to the contest. The fact that the coach has faith in him would also be good for Morton's confidence.

Don't know if he deserves a 'toast', but there are signs of improvement and consistency. Think he still needs to play a bigger role in our side and have a larger impact on games.

Thought he was excellent on the weekend, against one of the biggest bodied teams in the league.

He went in and won some contested footy, had 4 clearances (2nd most behind Moloney) and laid two huge tackles against guys bigger than him that stuck perfectly.

Very positive signs.

At least he's not as egotistic as Jules

I'm afraid he's worse mate - Question Time and any of his press conferences and doorstops kinda make it obvious - but this is more of a 'greater of two evils' thing than a truly stark difference, it's safe to say.

PS- I guarantee you won't like what lies in store should Abbott actually win the next election - an dictatorial monolith effectively run by a junta of both the unelected and megalomaniacal super-rich (i.e. Murdoch, Rinehart, Palmer and Forrest, and others of a similar breed) and others from within the corporate vested interests most strongly represented by an Abbott-led Coalition - fossil fuels (incl. coal seam gas), tobacco, big mining companies and the gambling industry.

Government from them, by them, for them.

Abbott is an empty vessel. He has no real political convictions. He is a front man, a stalking horse who'll do whatever he's told if it means holding power. And the madness is overwhelmingly apparent among those pulling the strings behind the scenes.

Global warming denialism, economic Luddism, tax cuts for the rich and the super-rich, tax rises for the rest, further monopolisation of our media, a slash-and-burn approach to public services, social safety nets, workers' rights, etc. is not what the vast majority of people actually want. As issue-based polling confirms.

The public are having the wool pulled over their eyes by a mass media controlled by the far right, including vested interests explicitly tied to the Coalition. A mass media essentially bent on propaganda at this point.

I'm afraid he's worse mate - Question Time and any of his press conferences and doorstops kinda make it obvious - but this is more of a 'greater of two evils' thing than a truly stark difference, it's safe to say.

yeh pretty sure were in the worst stage of Australian politics ever seen.. more losses in there than the dees have had in the last 5 yrs.. Jules can G&GF

anyway on Cale, super impressed by him so far, not because he's breaking open games and racking em up, but because of his appetite for the contest.. playing him in the midfield has been a great move, he has great awareness and great movement in traffic.. could yet become a very good player, as finally it seems his attitude is right

Certainly agree with this :thumbsu:

Re Abbott, I've included a postscript in my earlier message above. And BTW, there is no basis for any of his assertions about policy performance by the current govt. He makes such assertions up as he goes along (such as the 'carbon tax' fiction). That's when he actually bothers to even talk about any issues that really affect people's lives, something he is usually careful to avoid.

But yes, the current Australian political environment is as bad as it's ever been - the ALP is also responsible for this, partly because they don't know how to play the political game, but mainly through pure spinelessness in their failure to address the most direct causes - media monopolisation, blatant dishonesty in reportage, and political corruption through large 'donations'. It will likely become far worse at the end of next year.

I can not wait for the Libs to return to power and along with it some sensible economic management rather than the reactionary shambles that is the Labour party.

The fact Abbott will get elected at the next election is just another sad inditement on the Labour party.

Also Cale has been good.

sensible economic management

What economic management? The major reforms they depended on were enacted under Hawke and Keating. They frittered away surpluses during the longest sustained period of global economic growth in decades, on election bribes, handouts to private health insurance companies, the $1 billion Nauru boondoggle, another billion on party-political advertising funded by the government purse, and so on.

And created a situation where private debt, household, corporate and foreign, all increased by THREE HUNDRED PERCENT over their time in office.

Then there was the ludicrous "keep interest rates low" promise in 2004 - after that election, interest rates rose seven times in a row :eek:

Whereas the ALP's economic policies in government have kept Australia out of recession at a time where virtually every other single major Western nation has suffered that fate.

Tony Abbott, by his own admission, would have had us follow the policies of New Zealand during this time. By his own words. I can easily quote him if need be.

New Zealand ended up in recession for over a year.

Moreover, falsifying one's entire election platform, as shown by the false costings they submitted during the campaign in 2010, which were shown to have a $10 billion hole in them, also does not suggest a particularly impressive grasp of economics.

Nor do their more recent actions, for instance, trying to tell people they'll produce a surplus in their first year, while scrapping any tax on Rinehart, Palmer and co, removing the ETS, but still somehow not making any major cuts in spending.

And yes, Cale has been good hasn't he
5hlzP.gif