Can Hawthorn succeed while ignoring the elite end of the draft? - Part 2

And if we had a pick that could have picked up a Rozee maybe we would have kept it... Scully cost us nothing so irrelevant to mention.
You could've had a pick in 2017 that would've netted you Hunter Clark or Aaron Naughton, but you traded it along with 3 second rounders for O'Meara. Yikes...

That trade was a list destroyer. You won't admit it, but it's true.

In the most compromised draft ever with no under age football...could not be a worse season to finish bottom 4.
I've said the same on our draft /trade thread on Richmond board. This year draft picks are a lottery, basically no form guide in the most important junior development year. Possibly next year too having not been able to track the 17 year olds as well as usual.

This is the year to trade them off and I hope we do, look Hawks could not have predicted this in advance, who was to know COVID would hit, but gee its going to make rebuilding over the next couple years tough. The kids coming in will be underdeveloped and the drafting will be a lot harder with less form data.

And if we had a pick that could have picked up a Rozee maybe we would have kept it... Scully cost us nothing so irrelevant to mention.
Zak Butters would be Hawthorn's best player right now if he were on your list. Unfortunately, instead of targeting quality youth, Crazy Clarko wanted Wingard, and nobody at the Hawthorn football club would dare oppose his wishes.

Freo have been drafting and trading for the future. Picks 7, 8, 9 last year, 11 and 17 + Hogan and Lobb last year, 2 and 5 + Wilson the year before, plus they've found some good young players with later picks. Were prepared to let Weller (young), Neale and Hill go for good deals as part of this. Not the team Hawthorn want to comfortably lose to in 2020.

They play conservatively, reckon Longmuir has the handbrake on them at present. Might've been a big win if they took more risks.

Hawks have been a great team and I don't really want to dance on their grave. Only here to see if there are any left who want to argue that they're not gone.

Zak Butters would be Hawthorn's best player right now if he were on your list. Unfortunately, instead of targeting quality youth, Crazy Clarko wanted Wingard, and nobody at the Hawthorn football club would dare oppose his wishes.
Based off what? How do you know that? You are talking out of your ass.

We as a club decided to go down this rebuild model.

I love Butters and he is a good young player, he also wouldn't look anywhere near as good in our current team.

Cant wait for the excuse this week. We’ve had poor kicking, umpires, the ground being too small what’s next?

Firstly, yes, we've been terrible, and for many weeks in a row now. However, if you think the Vic teams haven't been screwed by the draw adjustments required by COVID, you have rocks in your head.

By the end of round 13 we'll have played 8 opposition teams on their home ground (often in front of home ground crowds). At the same time we'll have played on our own home ground twice (where we have a 100% win rate against decent opposition). By the end of round 13, no other team will have been as harshly treated by the draw as us (from a home ground point of view).

Of course it can't explain the totality of our shitness (other Vic teams have handled it much better than us), but it is part of the picture.

Interstate sides complain about coming to Melbourne for the grand final. I wonder if they'd like it better if they played away from home in all but two of their games for the season?

You could've had a pick in 2017 that would've netted you Hunter Clark or Aaron Naughton, but you traded it along with 3 second rounders for O'Meara. Yikes...

That trade was a list destroyer. You won't admit it, but it's true.
Dude you are missing the point, I HAVE ALREADY ADMITTED THIS REBUILD HAS NOT WORKED!

Again because so many in here struggle to understand it

THIS REBUILD HAS NOT WORKED!

I am totally fine with the attempt to build on the run though, the Draft is a crap shoot and we may have gotten Coffield and Lachie O'brien types instead.

We tried to avoid it and it failed, shit happens we go again.

They play conservatively, reckon Longmuir has the handbrake on them at present. Might've been a big win if they took more risks.

They are down on troops. Walters, Hogan, Hamling, Tucker, Logue, Pearce all out. Fyfe has missed games. Defence is being held together by Luke Ryan (who isn't a key defender) and Brennan Cox. I reckon with a more stable back 6 they would attack a bit more freely.

Dude you are missing the point, I HAVE ALREADY ADMITTED THIS REBUILD HAS NOT WORKED!

Again because so many in here struggle to understand it

THIS REBUILD HAS NOT WORKED!

I am totally fine with the attempt to build on the run though, the Draft is a crap shoot and we may have gotten Coffield and Lachie O'brien types instead.

We tried to avoid it and it failed, sh*t happens we go again.
I'm just pointing out that your coach very clearly disagrees with your post here. Judging by his presser a couple of weeks back, recruiting more older players is on the agenda in the off season

No he was non committal on what we are going to do... As he should be

Reminder we are in the middle of a pandemic limiting the access to young kids at the moment, should always keep an open mind when it comes to list managment.

Not if Clarko trades the pick for another 25-26 year old. He made it clear in the press conference after your loss against Sydney that he still wants to trade experience in, and basically said youth is overrated.

Listen harder clothears. he said they use all methods.

This thread is bad enough without the mind reading. apparently hes going to morph into sheedy any minute too

He has to save face. He can't admit now it hasn't worked or he looks like a fool.

Or he is being open minded about the future and not just throwing the toys out of the cot.

We hit the Draft last year, most likely will this year.

Mate you need to source that "older' if he even said that, what did he mean and is it the same as you mean?
Laughable the 'clarkos lost it brigade' theyd have him coach their clubs in a heartbeat

Or he is being open minded about the future and not just throwing the toys out of the cot.

We hit the Draft last year, most likely will this year.
The pressing question is what will Clarko do with the last 6 games.
They need another mid-table finish like a hole in the head imo.

The decision is really to be taken right now-
-send the old champs off for 'early surgery', play the kids, and finish bottom 4
-finish 9th/10th and preserve the exceptional/destination club status as best as possible

Reminder we are in the middle of a pandemic limiting the access to young kids at the moment, should always keep an open mind when it comes to list managment.
Please, now you're contradicting yourself. First it's "rebuild is necessary", now it's "we cannot commit yet, our team might still be good enough to challenge!"

We all know Clarko wants to trade in more oldies. He doesn't have the patience for another rebuild.

Mate you need to source that "older' if he even said that, what did he mean and is it the same as you mean?
Laughable the 'clarkos lost it brigade' theyd have him coach their clubs in a heartbeat
Yeah, because clubs were really lining up in droves for Sheedy after 2007...

-send the old champs off for 'early surgery', play the kids, and finish bottom 4
-finish 9th/10th and preserve the exceptional/destination club status as best as possible
Well i agree to an extent, we need to see what some of the younger guys have to see if they have what it takes.

I maintain though that being competitive is ultra important when rebuilding. Young players won't be able to play every game anyway.

I want to see us add a couple more in but cycle through and keep the mature bodies around to make sure they are in competitive games of footy.

Please, now you're contradicting yourself. First it's "rebuild is necessary", now it's "we cannot commit yet, our team might still be good enough to challenge!"

We all know Clarko wants to trade in more oldies. He doesn't have the patience for another rebuild.

Don't put quotation marks around something i never said.

Common sense says that you wait until the end of the year to asses how you want to go about it, if we see next to no footy from the kids this year maybe we trade our of this draft in to next years.

Maybe we can find a young under 22 year old who wants to come that we feel is a better option than kids that we haven't seen in over a year.

The AFL put him in charge of a multi million dollar expansion. GWS would have 5 flags by now with Clarko

"We all know" you don't know at all. Tell me how old scrimshaw is...hes 'older' than a draftee

4-5 wins is probably bottom three. If lists need to be cut harshly we do need to look at some guys quickly

I've said the same on our draft /trade thread on Richmond board. This year draft picks are a lottery, basically no form guide in the most important junior development year. Possibly next year too having not been able to track the 17 year olds as well as usual.

This is the year to trade them off and I hope we do, look Hawks could not have predicted this in advance, who was to know COVID would hit, but gee its going to make rebuilding over the next couple years tough. The kids coming in will be underdeveloped and the drafting will be a lot harder with less form data.

It also represents a big opportunity for sides to get steals with their later picks. I’m hoping Essendon cuts there list hard this year and takes 4 - 6 picks in the Draft with scatter gun approach. Fully expecting some busts but there should be more upside as well.

Yeah i would be interested in approaching a team with an academy prospect and see if they want to trade up to get inside the bid and see if we can stockpile a few good picks.

It's not just about what comes in as what goes out.

If you were starting tomorrow with no history as Hawthorn list manager, you might consider trading out some players in the 25-30 age bracket. Could go to the draft with 4, 22, 40 + 2-3 more picks in the first or second round. No one in the 31+ age bracket has any real trade value so aren't really worth focusing on.

How many of the below are potential/likely trades? Not many, if any (strike through for zero chance trades IMO). Most were brought in recently from other teams.

25 Impey, Sicily
26 O'Meara, O'Brien
27 Minchington, Patton, Wingard, Frost, Mitchell
28 nil
29 Gunston, Scully, Ceglar, Shiels
30 Breust

Can Hawthorn succeed while ignoring the elite end of the draft? - Part 2