Strategy Can the Saints make the finals this year?

Am I crazy in thinking that losing to Sydney is not exactly the death knell and it's not outside the realms of possibility that we could still close the percentage gap?

We gained 5% today. 15 to go. Of course we'd need North to do their bit, but their forward line is falling apart, and they have a rebounding Hawks next week, Sydney and GWS playing for top 4.. We CAN go big against Brisbane and moderate against Richmond...

Although we'd need a small loss to Sydney, and maybe the psychological effects of another close loss might be hard to over come in the last 2 rounds.

We just need to play the next month like it's Round 22 2008.

Lol Plugger you've made it pretty clear mate that you don't think we can make it this year give it a rest

Yes boss. What can I talk about today apart from saying it was a very good win and we can certainly make finals next year?

And by the way your post is incorrect anyway. I will extremely positive we WOULD make the finals had we beat North and that looks more and more likely so please try and post correct comments if you are going to have a go at me.

Am I crazy in thinking that losing to Sydney is not exactly the death knell and it's not outside the realms of possibility that we could still close the percentage gap?

We gained 5% today. 15 to go. Of course we'd need North to do their bit, but their forward line is falling apart, and they have a rebounding Hawks next week, Sydney and GWS playing for top 4.. We CAN go big against Brisbane and moderate against Richmond...

Although we'd need a small loss to Sydney, and maybe the psychological effects of another close loss might be hard to over come in the last 2 rounds.

Good post mate...whilst I think it's probably less likely now than before I still think we can push for 8th. It's basically Petrie and Thomas up forward for North now and the good thing for us is that Hawthorn got beat this weekend so they'll be up for it next Saturday afternoon - teams like that don't lose two straight.

It makes next Saturday night as big of a game as the North game. If Hawks beat North Saturday arvo then it's up to us to do our bit Saturday night. If we could somehow pull off a win against the Swans we're in the box seat.

Sportsbet don't appear to have a Top 8 market at the moment... they had us at 67.00 and Port at 16.00 yesterday morning. I suspect they've closed it while a little head scratching goes on.

giphy.gif

This thread :p

The anaylsis intrigued me, I ran us losing to Sydney 80 - 90, then beating Richmond 120 - 100, then beating Bris 120 - 60. Had North losing each game 50 - 90. On that scoreline, we have % 99.35 and North would have 100.36 so we'd miss finals.

Round 21

Hawks v North @ the G
Saints v Sydney in Saturday Night Fever at Etihad
Port v Dees at AO

Round 22

North v Sydney in Tassie
Saints v Richmond @ the G
Port v Adelaide @ AO
Carlton v Melbourne @ the G

Round 23

Cats v Dees at the Litterbox
Gold Coast v Port at Cararararararararara
North v GWS @ Etihad
Us v Brisbane @ Etihad

Results of these games will determine where we finish. Everyone else is 2 games behind and has inferior percentage.

Need to win the last two, and that would mean finishing 12-10, in 9th, with a small chance of 10th and an even smaller chance of 8th. That's a good finish, and I'll be extremely happy with that.

As for 8th, well, Go Hawks next week and boo Sydney, then Go Sydney, then go Greater Waestern Sydney.

Having a play with the ladder predictor...

Norf lose to Hawks by 30
Saints lose to Swans by 12

Norf lose to Swans by 30
Saints beat Tigers by 60

Norf lose to GWS by 30

Going into the last game verse the Lions we would need to win by around 130 points at the Dome to steal 8th....now that could be interesting.

Beat Swans & we're a show even if Norf sneak over the line in one game. I think they'll lose all three tbh.

Well im all over North losing the last three
Injuries now and they are 3 really tough games

If we can get over the swans and still have the energy to beat the Tigers and the Lions we'll go into the finals knackered and battered and bruised.....but who gives a flying fig
Experience and the benefit of some coin to the club

Would be a monumental effort, absolutely huge
And I....would be ****ing dancing in the lounge if we managed to pull this off

Finals footy
Imagine that
No one wouldve seen that shit coming

Strategy Can the Saints make the finals this year?