Can we upgrade Assistant coaches for 2022?

living_in_syd

Hopefully RFC should be looking to next year to put back some dollars into the footy department.

While I believe Hardwick has been great coach, his strengths are man manager and overseeing leader. However I believe tactically is not his strength. There is no shame in having help below him, previously we recruited Caracella, Rutten, McCrae and Leppa who were all quality senior assistants who probably pull Hardwick regularly in line. For example Leppa in the way he performed in the media has left a huge hole which we actually never replaced. While no disrespect to our current assistants other than Kingsley, non of McQaulter, Longeran, Clarke are not of the same quality. We actually are two less coaches this year, so the remaining coaches have taken on more responsibility with less quality. We all know what happens if you have too many yes men and let Hardwick full control the gameplan, its all leading back to 2016.

So, in 2022, are there any quality assistants we can get? At a minimum we are light on in assistants compared to other clubs (who are in the same soft cap Covid conditions). I do think we were overconfident never replacing anyone and just a bit shuffling of the decks was good enough for this year while attempting a three peat.

Hopefully RFC should be looking to next year to put back some dollars into the footy department.

While I believe Hardwick has been great coach, his strengths are man manager and overseeing leader. However I believe tactically is not his strength. There is no shame in having help below him, previously we recruited Caracella, McCrae and Leppa who were all quality senior assistants who probably pull Hardwick regularly in line. For example Leppa in the way he performed in the media has left a huge hole which we actually never replaced. While no disrespect to our current assistants other than Kingsley, non of McQaulter, Longeran, Clarke are not of the same quality. We actually are two less coaches this year, so the remaining coaches have taken on more responsibility with less quality. We all know what happens if you have too many yes men and let Hardwick full control the gameplan, its all leading back to 2016.

So, in 2022, are there any quality assistants we can get? At a minimum we are light on in assistants compared to other clubs (who are in the same soft cap Covid conditions). I do think we were overconfident never replacing anyone and just a bit shuffling of the decks was good enough for this year while attempting a three peat.
If Shaun Burgoyne is keen to enter coaching, he could be good for us.

Wonder if the AFL can find a way to **** us and our soft cap again. Why didn’t we just say Stack and CCJ have identical twins. Port got away with saying their players simultaneously took each other’s dongs out of each other’s gob and the AFL bought it

Call me crazy but maybe Buckley
I actually thought he was a pretty decent game day strategist but ultimately lost his players and was knifed by the board but someone like him would be great in an assistant role

Mates of Hardwick need not apply, that is what got us in a mess culminating in the 2016 season.
Caracella was a mate. But get what you’re saying, we need assistants that challenge and questioned the coach on game plan and team selections. I dont believe from the outside that is occurring enough given the inexperience in there at the moment

troy chaplain or darren glass to be defensive coach,,
craig jennings as tactical guru or forward scout and maybe something else
others to look at hayden skipworth {head of development }
brenton sanderson { line coach }
sean grigg { midfield coach}
damian caroll { head of development}
sean burgoyne { development + a role at KGI institute }

I'm not sure of the soft cap situation but we should be looking for the next promising assistants as well as those with some solid credentials. Newman and Knights would be on my list - though we need to be careful to not just go for them as former Captains. The thing about both Leppa and Caracella is they each have a lot of self-belief and smarts and that rubs off. Leppa especially has charisma and I think that characteristic is needed to balance Dimma's dryness and intensity. Others I'd look at include Cameron Bruce (currently at Carlton). Spent a few years under Clarko before moving to Carlton. Always appeared to me to have a good footy brain as a player, similar type to Caracella.

The thing about both Leppa and Caracella is they each have a lot of self-belief and smarts and that rubs off. Leppa especially has charisma and I think that characteristic is needed to balance Dimma's dryness and intensity.

This is an important point. Im a firm believer you need someone senior to offset Dimma. He can be quite combative and blunt, whereas caracella rutten leppa types compliment Hardwick perfectly in terms off delivery and style.

It kind of begs the question, even though Clarko had heaps of coaches leaving he always seems to an eager list waiting join whereas Hardwick doesnt seem to have the same attraction?

Call me crazy but maybe Buckley
I actually thought he was a pretty decent game day strategist but ultimately lost his players and was knifed by the board but someone like him would be great in an assistant role

He can replace average at best Dimma