Capper.

Yes you can - Look at Cyril's Marks or attempts just last week. The interpretation is that you can use your hands as perceived balance as long as you complete the mark and that using your hands does not impede the defender (as in push him from the contest)

They brought a rule in, in the 90's where you couldn't use your knees into somebody's back or it was an instant free unless you completed the mark. As the risk was great players stopped going for the high mark and the AFL changed it the next year and brought in realistic attempt seeing as they were killing one of the biggest spectacles of the game.
Cappa wouldn't get away with it today mate, it's ok to balance but he literally used his hands to keep the opponent down and gain lift for majority of his marks, as a high flyer he isn't fit to lick Howe's boots IMO.

Majority of his marks he didn't use his hands and he wouldn't get pulled for it anyway as they are trying to encourage big marks . Howe is a great high flyer but to dismiss Capper in a comparison is short sighted.

Look Mum no Hands

Capper.jpg

He was a bloody good footballer. Sure, he was/is a fruit cake, but the bloke could play.

I think the fact that many blokes of my age (39 tomorrow), when having kick to kick probably still yell 'CAPPPPEEERRRR' when trying for a specie. It's testament to the standing he had at the time

Oh please

Capper had miles on Howe.

FFS

He comes across as being very well researched and very witty, his entire personality schtick seems like a bit of a clever act as well, so you have a case of someone who played football very well and also really worked on marketing a character or image that makes him really stand out.

He would have fitted in with the Get This crew, they even used a monologue of him for a classic comedy sketch and a few other sketches .

Someone mentioned the Open Mike from a few years ago, that's one of my favourites, he certainly has a strong personality.

You should get out more.

geez not too many people have a nice word to say about Brad Hardie.

Only takes about 30 seconds of hearing him on radio to understand why.

Did love the shade Capper threw at him too. "Everyone loved playing on Brad Hardie because he'd run off them and they'd kick 5 goals on him. Good player but."

You make an interesting point - much of what he says is definitely a pisstake but it seems that underneath it all, he worries that people forget that he could really play the game.

I saw capper in a strip club up at goldy about 10 years ago - as cliched as it sounds.
There were 4 people in the whole place, including us, and my swans supporting mate spotted him.
I went up and said hello and he flatly denied he was Warwick capper.
My mate - who is a serious Sydney fan - said he was the reason his mum would take him to the SCG to watch the swans (when many in Sydney weren't interested). When he was young. When he heard this, Capper completely changed and opened up and we talked about footy for about 5 mins then we left him alone. He was a good guy and I think he laments being remembered for the meter maid / singing bullshit rather than for being an A-grade AFL full forward, which I imagine would be frustrating, even if the sideshow stuff was largely his own doing.
Footys better for characters like this guy

I'm not a real strip club guy btw - we were on end on season footy trip and me and my mate were walking past and the moment took us. Hollywood Toybox I reckon it was called.

I saw capper in a strip club up at goldy about 10 years ago - as cliched as it sounds.
There were 4 people in the whole place, including us, and my swans supporting mate spotted him.
I went up and said hello and he flatly denied he was Warwick capper.
My mate - who is a serious Sydney fan - said he was the reason his mum would take him to the SCG to watch the swans (when many in Sydney weren't interested). When he was young. When he heard this, Capper completely changed and opened up and we talked about footy for about 5 mins then we left him alone. He was a good guy and I think he laments being remembered for the meter maid / singing bullshit rather than for being an A-grade AFL full forward, which I imagine would be frustrating, even if the sideshow stuff was largely his own doing.
Footys better for characters like this guy

I'm not a real strip club guy btw - we were on end on season footy trip and me and my mate were walking past and the moment took us. Hollywood Toybox I reckon it was called.

Don't have to justify it to me mate. On the rare occasion I get to Sydney for a weekend with the lads or a cricket trip, I can't stay out of the 'rippers.

All I will say about Warwick Capper is apparently you can pay him to hang around with you for a day, and I'm genuinely concerned my mates have booked him for my bucks party in a few weeks.

They haven't stopped talking about it and it's gone past the point where I can tell if they're joking or not.

All I will say about Warwick Capper is apparently you can pay him to hang around with you for a day, and I'm genuinely concerned my mates have booked him for my bucks party in a few weeks.

They haven't stopped talking about it and it's gone past the point where I can tell if they're joking or not.
Please let us know how it went if it does happen.

Capper.