Marc Shmurf 3

Oct 16, 2006
In Carlton's Midfield
Melb Victory, Storm, Juve
Almost certain that Juddy will be the Captain next year, but ITS UP TO HIM if he wants it. Speaking to a few of the players, they are more than happy to have him as the captain & the club is just waiting on his decision and will be satisfied either way.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

judd caotain????

Youre kidding....

doesnt he have to prove himself first????

Judd or Stevens i honestly don't know which is a better choice for the club moving forward, I'm glad it's not me making the decision. Hope they only choose one for captain, don't believe in multiple skippers. Judd proven captain, has the respect, not sure if he wants it but if he does, not fussed if he gets it. Stevens throughly deserves it, wants it, has earn't it so basically i don't care either way, just hoping it's between them two. It's win win, Time will tell, i just wish time didn't go so slow this time of year.....

The pleasing thing for me is that we have a decent choice of who will be captain and a mature leadership group. First time in a long, long time.

That's what I have heard as well. It's Judd's job if he wants it.

judd caotain????

Youre kidding....

doesnt he have to prove himself first????

:rolleyes: another useless post from you.

What may be holding some people back is the fact that a man from another club (however good he is) would be walking into the captaincy without even playing a game for the club.

It's not the fact he has to prove himself. Now would you stop with your sarcastic crap and just post something worthwhile for once?

jees,

if Judd becomes captain - I will not believe that the complete transformation form a brilliant Eagles captain to a Carlton captain will have happened within a f---ing few months

And now there is no Cousins here in the Eagles.

Shite, I thought i was going to see at least 2 more Eagles premierships in the next 5 years.

Anyone would realise that I am not talking rubbish about the premiership potential the Eagles had with Judd and Cousins and all the other young players like Priddis, Hurn developing.

It all a bad dream !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Its is like Carlton losing Kernahan and Bradley to the Adelaide Crows.

Now carefully imagine that you Carlton supporters!!!!. That is how the departures of both players have hit the West.

It was all a conspiracy to stop the almighty Eagles - a subconcious one as well

jees,

if Judd becomes captain - I will not believe that the complete transformation form a brilliant Eagles captain to a Carlton captain will have happened within a f---ing few months

And now there is no Cousins here in the Eagles.

Shite, I thought i was going to see at least 2 more Eagles premierships in the next 5 years.

Anyone would realise that I am not talking rubbish about the premiership potential the Eagles had with Judd and Cousins and all the other young players like Priddis, Hurn developing.

It all a bad dream !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Its is like Carlton losing Kernahan and Bradley to the Adelaide Crows.

Now carefully imagine that you Carlton supporters!!!!. That is how the departures of both players have hit the West.

Hit the West or hit the WCE?

Mate, it has hit us like a boob to a face.

Nice spin attempt. But the reason Judd left your pathetic soul-less regional franchise, was because of it's rampant, spiraling out-of-control drug culture. So you only have yourselves to blame. :)

Considering the club thought an overweight Lance Whitnall with a dodgy knee was a better candidate than Stevo for captain only 12 months ago, I have a sneaking suspicion that Judd might just be rated even above what Lance was :eek:

Sorry Stevo......Judd for me if he wants the job :thumbsu:

Considering the club thought an overweight Lance Whitnall with a dodgy knee was a better candidate than Stevo for captain only 12 months ago, I have a sneaking suspicion that Judd might just be rated even above what Lance was :eek:

Sorry Stevo......Judd for me if he wants the job :thumbsu:

That's the thing - he could very well not want it. In that case, I would suspect it could go to Stevens, but i would prefer Simpson.

Nice spin attempt. But the reason Judd left your pathetic soul-less regional franchise, was because of it's rampant, spiraling out-of-control drug culture. So you only have yourselves to blame. :)

You left out the word endemic!

It's called the 'famous Parrot WC endemic drug culture rant that we know and love' for a reason you know! :)

I've said it before and I'll say it again: I don't believe Judd should be captain.

He's played zero games for us, hasn't done anything on the field for us... and it may even put that little more pressure on him he doesn't need. The bloke has just moved from WA and into a new club, sheesh, let him settle down a little bit. Sure, he's one of the best players in the league but he has to prove himself in our jumper first.

What about the players who have worked their arses off and have shown enough to be captain material, and have been at the club for a while now... Stevens or Simpson for example? I say give Judd some time to settle ON THE FIELD first, get him to strut his stuff and actually get him to prove himself on the field in a Carlton jumper first.

Give Simpson the job I reckon. Courageous, very skilled, usually consistent, has shown plenty of leadership for our club when he was stand-in captain and lead by example. I understand why everyone is so jumpy about Judd, but I think it's a little premature.

Considering the club thought an overweight Lance Whitnall with a dodgy knee was a better candidate than Stevo for captain only 12 months ago

That's because he was.

I've said it before and I'll say it again: I don't believe Judd should be captain.

He's played zero games for us, hasn't done anything on the field for us... and it may even put that little more pressure on him he doesn't need. The bloke has just moved from WA and into a new club, sheesh, let him settle down a little bit. Sure, he's one of the best players in the league but he has to prove himself in our jumper first.

When BHP recruited Chip Goodyear as CEO did they make start in middle management and work his way up? Did Sol Trujillo do 6 months in the Telstra call centre before becoming CEO?

Top ppl are recruited all the time because they are the best, and ppl are recruited to come in and lead from day 1

The fact that they proved themselves in a different organisation does not mean they have not proved themselves.

Judd has worked his ass off as much if not more than any player on our list during his football career

When BHP recruited Chip Goodyear as CEO did they make start in middle management and work his way up? Did Sol Trujillo do 6 months in the Telstra call centre before becoming CEO?

You're comparing the running of a multi-billion dollar corporation to an individual playing football who will still actually be playing in the senior side, and not in the reserves? Do you realise how far-flung that is?

Top ppl are recruited all the time because they are the best, and ppl are recruited to come in and lead from day 1

Judd may be the best player, but that does necessarily make him the best leader?

Judd has worked his ass off as much if not more than any player on our list during his football career

Good for him at West Coast, but what good will that be for us if he can't prove himself? I have faith that he will, but I'm not buying into this "make Judd captain because he is a god" stuff.

From an outsiders point of view I'm surprised that Carlton are looking a him to be captain. Surely there are those at Carlton who may have their nose put out of joint by this having played for the Blues for a number of years. Without sounding like sour grapes because I wish him all the best, I never thought he made a good captain for us. He never seemed to have that quality about him on the field and wasn't always very vocal. Sure, Judd is an amazing player and a pleasure to watch in full flight but perhaps some Carlton supporters are thinking this is the fix the team needed? It's definitely a big step in the right direction but there's plenty of other holes to fill as well. In my opinion you're best to let someone else captain the club and let Judd concentrate on what he needs to do for your team.

I hope that all makes sense!!

You're comparing the running of a multi-billion dollar corporation to an individual playing football who will still actually be playing in the senior side, and not in the reserves? Do you realise how far-flung that is?

Judd may be the best player, but that does necessarily make him the best leader?

Good for him at West Coast, but what good will that be for us if he can't prove himself? I have faith that he will, but I'm not buying into this "make Judd captain because he is a god" stuff.

That is the whole crux of the matter.

If he is the best leader it is irrellevant that he busted his ass at WC not Carlton.
If he is not the best leader he should not be made captain....simple and logical.
But if he is the best leader he should be.......just as simple and logical.

Who the best leader actually is surely best analyzed and decided by those inside the innur sanctum at Carlton, not us couch potato footy forum posters.

May the best leader (whoever Ratts & co deem it to be) get the job..... our opinions are nowhere nearly as well informed as those of our match committee.

Captain Judd...