10k Posts
Oct 9, 2003
Reebok Stadium
Bolton,Clippers,Falcons,Mariners
Looking ahead and we have the chance to make history in Round 3.

Carlton have never lost 15 matches in a row. They currently sit on 13. They should lose to St Kilda next week which will make it 14 meaning we can give them their longest consecutive losing streak in history if we beat them in Rd 3.

It would be a beautiful thing. :D:D

It certainly would be a beautiful thing.

They are not as bad as they looked last night as they were clearly underdone in comparison to Richmond and will be better for each hit out they have.
They also had a couple of key players missing and fev was their only real option.

Having said that, if we can beat Nth and get our confidence up, it is a game we should win.

Don't want to get too far ahead of ourselves, but would love nothing more than to put the boots in, while they are down.

Although i hate the blues, i'm never too confident when we play them. Whenever they play us they're a different side and Fev always kills us and our record against them isn't great. In saying that, we should be able to beat them.
Lets just get past round 1 because our first 8 games will be tough

It certainly would be a beautiful thing.

They are not as bad as they looked last night as they were clearly underdone in comparison to Richmond and will be better for each hit out they have.
They also had a couple of key players missing and fev was their only real option.

Having said that, if we can beat Nth and get our confidence up, it is a game we should win.

Don't want to get too far ahead of ourselves, but would love nothing more than to put the boots in, while they are down.

fev will be their only real option for the entire season. carlton are crap!!!

fisher and walker were missing but they're nothing special. and i hope you're not considering ackland, hampson or kruezer "key players" merv. whilst judd is currently a shadow of his former self. i'd be surprised to see him get back to his best form before the all-star break

in saying that....we are essendon and they are carlton......so we will probably lose to them

fev will be their only real option for the entire season. carlton are crap!!!

fisher and walker were missing but they're nothing special. and i hope you're not considering ackland, hampson or kruezer "key players" ant. whilst judd is currently a shadow of his former self. i'd be surprised to see him get back to his best form before the all-star break

in saying that....we are essendon and they are carlton......so we will probably lose to them

I'm not ant :eek:

I consider Fisher a key player, as he is a very good mark and gives them another target, thus freeing up fev.
Hampson is important to them as he can give them first use of the ball and while Cloke tries hard, he is no tap ruckman.
Start shoving the ball down Judd's and Steven's throats at bounces and watch the difference.

You don't have to be a gun player to be a key part of a team......

You might not consider those guys key players, but i can assure you carlton do, as they are important in the make up of their team, especially Fisher and no i wasn't referring to Hackland or Kruezer, although i'm sure he would help them with another forward option and a chop out in the ruck.

They were clearly not as prepared as the Tiges, but either way, it was great to see them beaten, as it is at any time.

Us essendon supporters are still haunted by the ghosts of losing that game last year when we were 48 points in front...

We didn't lose, we gave it away. I can't believe how stupid the matchups vs fev were once he started showing he was ready to play. Embarassing.

You guys are worried already? Pfft! ;)

Based on our display, I'll be tipping against us in Round 3. I'm really worried when Richmond can make a 55 point turnaround against my team.

I'm not worried.

Just hoping that we'll be the team that consign you to the history books. We need St Kilda to beat you first.

I consider Fisher a key player, as he is a very good mark and gives them another target, thus freeing up fev.
Hampson is important to them as he can give them first use of the ball and while Cloke tries hard, he is no tap ruckman.
Start shoving the ball down Judd's and Steven's throats at bounces and watch the difference.

You might not consider those guys key players, but i can assure you carlton do, as they are important in the make up of their team, especially Fisher and no i wasn't referring to Hackland or Kruezer, although i'm sure he would help them with another forward option and a chop out in the ruck.

They were clearly not as prepared as the Tiges, but either way, it was great to see them beaten, as it is at any time.

Finally, someone with some footy knowledge.
Fisher and Hampson will be huge ins, in terms of team balance and structure. You will find that hampson will consistently win the tap outs in the centre, feeding judd, stevens, murphy etc which will allow carlton to take more control of a game. Fisher is one of the best marks in the competion, and as you said, provides another option and frees fev from being surrounded by 5 guys.

In saying that the bombers look a decent young team, and should win considering our dismal performance againts the tigers.

woops sorry mate, just use to arguing with him thats all:p

i definitely agree with that last past. but if carlton are relying on hampson to give them first crack at the ball they are in trouble. don't get me wrong, he's a talented player, but he is hardly a established ruckman just yet. i do agree with you that fisher is important to their structure, but i'm not sure if he's a 5 goal difference in a loss to the bottom side

We'll more than likely be looking for our first win of the season coming into this game like Carlton.

Should be a cracker.
be a bit more positive than that dave. come on boys...one week at a time

That's what i was thinking... Essendon should win both of our games if we show the fighting spirit that we've shown throughout the NAB Cup and challenge matches.
We'll beat Carlton, but they do lift in the big games against us and for some reason we are powerless to stop their momentum when they get on a roll.
But not this year :thumbsu:

Always look forward to this game. Saturday night, what a great atmosphere, we always come to play against Essendon so it should be a ripper and most likely a high scoring match as some of you have pointed out how many points we tend to conceed each match.

I for one always go in confident against the Bombers.

Carlton match