Autopsy Cats lose to GWS by 4 points

Many babies being thrown out with bathwater after a close result.

Dunno how many Geelong supporters would go following Carlton or the Saints
One of those "9 times out of 10" shots at goal goes through, and we're lauding the courage and mental strength of our side to match it with a contender when we have so many players out.

The doomsdaying in threads like this is very very silly.

One of those "9 times out of 10" shots at goal goes through, and we're lauding the courage and mental strength of our side to match it with a contender when we have so many players out.

The doomsdaying in threads like this is very very silly.
Exactly right - perspective is apparently in short supply here sometimes!

I was told his career was over. Nothing surer than that apparently.
Not only that, but we were to not even mention his name.

Must say, this has comes a bit of a shock if what you are saying is correct?
If it went to court and he was found guilty his career would be over and there is nothing surer than that.

If the rumours are true, then he may escape a finding of guilt and the rest unfurls from there.

Hmmm, my understanding is that charges have been dropped but cannot be cleared until court case. I guess with conflicting 'hear says' we best say no more and let just see how things play out otherwise I'm gonna get myself into trouble with regulators and I just don't want that as I'm not here to cause issues.

Mr Tilly: from round 9 last year (2024) we lost 6 of our 7 next games and were playing 'sh*t football' then we got Danger back, with him and Tom Stewart going on ball to give us some inside contested grunt with then Shaun Mannagh and Lawson Humphries both coming into side and from that time forward we were probably a Max Holmes non-injury away from winning the granny. This year we are a better side with Bailey Smith being huge in for us but I'll also tell you that Tanner Bruhn has been a huge loss to us and he'll be back hopefully in June at some stage by all accounts.

Now currently to have our ruckman out and to have all of Jack Henry, Kolo, Tom Stewart and Lawson Humphries out of our backline is a huge loss, NO CLUB could deal with that, so all in all we've done remarkably well given all that has happened. On the bright side we have a really soft draw for most of the remaining season with important players coming back sooner rather than later. So I reckon we're still as good as chance as most come the latter part of the 2025 season on the proviso we get a satisfactory run on the injury front as our side is 'built for the 'G'..... and GO CATS !!!
exactly- to come that close to a desperate team not wanting to lose 4 in a row, given all our outs- again shows what CS can get out of his players. He cannot correct their decision making and errant goalkicking intragames but we are always there and abouts.

Yeah it was hard to tell for me through TV angles but the way Cadman was always loose looked like SDK was trying to play spare in an even numbers d50 or something. Something was not right structurally. Thought he was generally alright 1-1 and don't understand the hate
C Scott is the best coach in the league but it's fair to say Kingsley has his measure in our battles

I'm not sure it's Kingsley - GWS have had a better list than us for years. Coaching plays a part, sure, but going on talent alone they should be winning and winning well.

Clark and Clohesy are actually defended weekly by a few happy clappers on this board. Astounding really.

We cannot be watching the same game or players. They're shit. As is Mullin, and MOC isn't much better, albeit can play a good game from time to time.

Time to flush the turds getting games at Geelong.
The sad truth is these guys are the best of the rest. We do not have much to choose from.

Aside from the goal kicking and the Hogan situation which was grossly mismanaged by both O’Sullivan and SDK, we actually played some good football.

Our bottom 3-4 are total liabilities, chief among them Clark who if you didn’t know was a first round pick looks like local player who has won a raffle to play a game.

Unless we are close to full strength our holes will get exposed pretty regularly.

I actually think we could make a run if we have extraordinary luck on the injury front. But most sides would like their best 22 out there I suppose.

Home after a traffic gridlock and don't have any strength left to be angry.
It was all taken up at the ground with senseless poor choices, fumbling, lost opportunities at goal, and in our F50.
I know we're undermanned, but isn't that the time for SDK to back up his mates and stop wandering like a headless chook. One or two good marks aside, for him. COS tried hard but inexperienced and outdone. Mullin (4 possessions) and Close not helpful, and Bowes with the gifted dumb free on the back line, identical to last weeks. For a usually sensible team we were panicked and slow.

GWS fast hands on the break and very good. Too tall, too quick, too Sydney.

Some of you guys a little to upset. I know we could of won it but we're doing really good considering some of the guys we field, don't think we're good enough for top four but we should make the 8 and with a decent run you never know with this team.

Lack of top picks is starting to catch up with us, expecting Smith to magically carry the whole midfield alone is too much to ask, that's why I was big on Oliver last year, he'd keep a player like Clark in the VFL, I'd take 27 dirty disposals over 3 any day. Mullin, Clark, Neale, O.Henry, SDK, MOC, Bowes, these guys should be fighting for a spot in the team instead they're start ups because we have no depth.
You cannot be serious about Oliver. He's done.

Aside from the goal kicking and the Hogan situation which was grossly mismanaged by both O’Sullivan and SDK, we actually played some good football.

Our bottom 3-4 are total liabilities, chief among them Clark who if you didn’t know was a first round pick looks like local player who has won a raffle to play a game.

Unless we are close to full strength our holes will get exposed pretty regularly.

I actually think we could make a run if we have extraordinary luck on the injury front. But most sides would like their best 22 out there I suppose.
The list management were big on Clark.
At this stage it looks a bust.
Can't remember who else was on offer at the time.

Ok get Clark but not at the first pick.

more worried about Rozee if they use him across half back than their mids, back our mid structure at least break even with them.
That's a good question for me. We don't really have a good defensive forward option for him. It's where I think I'd deploy Mullin, give close more of a wing rotation, and Humphries back covers Mullin in d50.

Home after a traffic gridlock and don't have any strength left to be angry.
It was all taken up at the ground with senseless poor choices, fumbling, lost opportunities at goal, and in our F50.
I know we're undermanned, but isn't that the time for SDK to back up his mates and stop wandering like a headless chook. One or two good marks aside, for him. COS tried hard but inexperienced and outdone. Mullin (4 possessions) and Close not helpful, and Bowes with the gifted dumb free on the back line, identical to last weeks. For a usually sensible team we were panicked and slow.

GWS fast hands on the break and very good. Too tall, too quick, too Sydney.
They looked dangerous at times and fast very fast.

We had changes late blitz straight in front.Danger just kick it .
A 50 from Ash knee to the face might of been handy.

None player tried to get in front of Hogan..
D was abit loose at times.

Stegs could of had 5 snags .

Disappointing what could of been.

Tough run coming up too.

The list management were big on Clark.
At this stage it looks a bust.
Can't remember who else was on offer at the time.

Ok get Clark but not at the first pick.
This is the full 22 Draft

12 players not extended beyond their initial 2 year contract, and to put that into some perspective, if we go back 12 months to the 2021 draft where 65 players were taken; there's also only 12 of that 65 no longer on a playing list

Maybe we should have really tried to trade that pick 7 into the 2023 draft for another first round pick then

1746961143158.png

Guys hear me out we drop O.Henry and move Mullin forward, don't know what his goal sense is like but but sure could use his speed pretty sure O.Henry can't touch his toes. Bews understands the game better as a defender.
I'm 100% on board with this and he would be a good option for defensive forward on Rozee

I've been attacked for saying Ohenry is not only slow but refuses to run and tackle. He lopes along. Opposition backmen don't respect him. Rohan gave us a lot more and backmen were wary of his closing speed.
I saw Henry tackling a bit tonight. I'm more concerned by the long, long patches where I didn't see him at all

That's a good question for me. We don't really have a good defensive forward option for him. It's where I think I'd deploy Mullin, give close more of a wing rotation, and Humphries back covers Mullin in d50.

Mullin should tag every week .
Why was he not on Finn?

I think the same none of our forwards put enough pressure on opp HB types look at Sinclair doing what he wanted vs us .

Yes!! Forgot about him. Mind you I liked Bews’ game
Bews was solid.

Humphries classy 20 touches off half back instead of one of the Irish boys, swings things by a couple of goals at least.

It's a weird game to assess, because despite our obvious absentees and in game deficiencies we had more than enough chances to win by 3 goals.

Discussions on the external matters are still being monitored in line instructions from above and complying with the suppression order

Discussion on the impact of his absence from the squad/team are good and something that isn't discouraged unless people try to get too cute with things and venture into areas that know they shouldn't be

Autopsy Cats lose to GWS by 4 points