Autopsy Cats lose to GWS by 4 points

This is the full 22 Draft

12 players not extended beyond their initial 2 year contract, and to put that into some positives, if we go back 12 months to the 2021 draft where 65 players were taken; there's also only 12 of that 65 no longer on a playing list

Maybe we should have really tried to trade that pick 7 into the 2023 draft for another first round pick then

View attachment 2311807

Horrible draft. Of players taken after Clark, only Phillipou, Hollands, Hewett, Weddle and Darcy Jones stand out as misses (aside from F/S).

Weddle is the type of player Scott and Wells love and Sam Mitchell is on the record saying the they drafted him to be their version of Blicavs.

Bews was solid.

Humphries classy 20 touches off half back instead of one of the Irish boys, swings things by a couple of goals at least.

It's a weird game to assess, because despite our obvious absentees and in game deficiencies we had more than enough chances to win by 3 goals.
Humphries is still underrated. I think he is our most important backman.

Our seats were in the perfect high position to watch our backs in complete disarray. You could see the GWS breaks and the ball telegraphed to be shot into the square, and watched them try and man up under the ball. Plenty of time, it was coming.

But no body work, no hustle, no strength, off to the side, sometimes metres away, and completely outplayed. Boys vs men. Please footy Gods, breathe healing on the injuries of Henry, Kolo, Stewart, Humphries. Verily, we are farrked without them.

Horrible draft. Of players taken after Clark, only Phillipou, Hollands, Hewett, Weddle and Darcy Jones stand out as misses (aside from F/S).

Weddle is the type of player Scott and Wells love and Sam Mitchell is on the record saying the they drafted him to be their version of Blicavs.

If we could have a "redo", do we look at a player like Weddle or try harder to push that pick into the next year?

The list management were big on Clark.
At this stage it looks a bust.
Can't remember who else was on offer at the time.

Ok get Clark but not at the first pick.
The one that stands out currently is Philipou at St Kilda, honestly looking at that draft not much else after that.

Looks like 2022 is going to go down as a pretty ordinary draft outside of the top few players.

Currently the load is being carried by too few.
Unfortunately these are mostly aging superstars
Return of injured players won't be a quick fix
They will take a couple of games to find form

Many here are critical of certain players tonight
Big difference between TV and at the Ground
Self preservation can appear as weakness
Giants were clearly bigger taller and stronger
They broke tackles. Easily nudged Cats aside
Some were forced to corral or hope for crumbs
Mid's couldn't stop Giants streaming goal-wards
Great Delivery F50 made SDK n COS look inept
Giants were in form, Cats inexplicably fumbled
Many issues will be fixed with time, some not
Strength, Skill, Footy Smarts and Form improves
Speed, Height, Athleticism and reflexes are set.
Most frustrating are the players with bad habits
Players will dropped when injured guys return.
Some need to reflect, Some may not return.

Reality is Geelong are in the rebuilding phase.
The team will be inconsistent for a few years
The goal should be to remain competitive
So far Cats are still hanging in there... just.
Take a deep breath, Relax and enjoy the ride.

Almost forgot with all the negativity. Bailey Smith has excelled all of my expectations. We got ourselves a gun.

They looked dangerous at times and fast very fast.

We had changes late blitz straight in front.Danger just kick it .
A 50 from Ash knee to the face might of been handy.

None player tried to get in front of Hogan..
D was abit loose at times.

Stegs could of had 5 snags .

Disappointing what could of been.

Tough run coming up too.

Yeah great birthday present, could have been at Bunnings getting my own snags. :(

I almost forgot that Atkins took a ruck CBA.

Wild
I wouldn't have minded Holmes giving Atkins a shoulder ride for that ruck contest.

I thought Blicavs was good in ruck, but we so badly need his gut running and intercepting in defence. Him and Stewart fill so many holes. They would be protecting the others. If Stewart was fit of course.

The one that stands out currently is Philipou at St Kilda, honestly looking at that draft not much else after that.

Looks like 2022 is going to go down as a pretty ordinary draft outside of the top few players.
Yeah not much in that lot ..
Oh my .

Darcy Jones shows a bit imo.
Quick HF .

Almost forgot with all the negativity. Bailey Smith has excelled all of my expectations. We got ourselves a gun.

I have been bullish on Smith since it was reported he wanted to come to us 12 months before it happened. Even I couldn't have imagined he would be playing this well. If the season ended right now he'd be a shoo in for an AA spot, the Carji and a top 5 (or higher) Brownlow finish.

Yes!! Forgot about him. Mind you I liked Bews’ game

Yeah, Bewsy's game was a real bonus for us Sttew: given all his time out. With Lawson Humphries to come back in next week it gives us excellent coverage with opposition small forwards with Bewsy more of a shut-down defender and Lawson more attacking (nice blend) which we'll need coz there's so many good ones, especially come finals time with the better sides like Lions and Woods having so many good smalls.

The baby is really out with the bath water tonight.

They're a good team. We were very undermanned. After the first 20 minutes we completely dominated the game and should've won comfortably but didn't take our chances.

It's frustrating but ultimately if we're good enough and can get a decent injury run it'll be meaningless come September.

Watching the VFL, you get the opportunity to see both Clark & Stevens playing in the guts, in roles that they both seem most comfortable playing and that they've both topped the coaches votes polling for in a game this season

Neither of them have that Dangerfield type explosiveness over the first few steps, though Stevens isn't slow once he's moving but for a guy listed as 189cm I haven't really seen a strong contested marking presence from him which is something that would add another element to his game

So while I'd love to see Stevens given an opportunity at senior level, if it's a case of Clark out & Stevens in to the wing or the forward flank, I'm thinking it's going to take less than a half for some to be writing him off as those roles don't play to his strengths. Let's give him a game, but throw him into the thick of it to see what he can do

As for Clark; we can return him to the VFL where if we throw him into the guts we know he'll get 25/30 disposals and be hard as a cats head at every contest, but if we're not going to play him in the middle in the seniors it may not actually be helpful to him. When returning him to the VFL, maybe try playing him on the wing for a period of time, see how he goes actually developing into that role
I want to give George the best opportunity to make it but I don't think that's soon if ever

Clark I don't think he's getting anything out of senior level footy and we're not getting anything out of him. He needs to get to vfl level as soon as we can put him back there, maybe a rotation on the wing but I would still tell him to chase the ball mostly. See how he responds.

Autopsy Cats lose to GWS by 4 points