Review Cats roll Eagles eventually by 43 points.

I think CS mentioned that most sides are looking at this stage for a squad of 28-30 who can carry them through to finals.

Danger is the only obvious one to come in.

Bowes a likely one to come back in after injury too.

Duncan and Stanley, even Bews, have been huge bonuses this year with the way they've performed.

Then I would say we have question marks next to a few who have been exposed to the first team this year Knevitt and Clark, Clohesy too - does Scott trust them to do a job in finals?

Question marks next to a few others who are becoming available in CGuth and Martin. Established players who we will be wanting to give some games to before finals to see if their bodies can stand up to it.

Kolodjashnij is one who if fit would surely come in, but where's he at?

And then a couple of rucks who are like mystery chess pieces too right now in Conway and Edwards. Wouldn't surprise me if they don't feature at all this year. But it also wouldn't really surprise me if one of them comes in on the eve of finals in ripping shape and blows everyone away.

Excellent post standupand:

Reckon Jack Martin will be in our 'best 23' by seasons end if body holds up as he's a 'class act'.... so all in all, we have Danger to come back-in this weekend with possibly Jed Bews, then in a couple of weeks time Jack Bowes with all of Jack Martin, Cam Guthrie and Kolo trying to get their bodies, fitness levels and form right and AFL competitive, with Toby Conway being the cream if he can get himself right by seasons end but currently that's questionable unless we get a positive health and fitness report sooner rather than later.

'With all of the above' standupand: it's hard to see any of Mitch Knevitt, Jhye Clark or Ted Clohesy end up in best 23 by seasons end.... coz even as it stands 'with ALL of the above', there's going to be some extremely tough and harsh calls to be made, if indeed most of the above do make it back as our squad of 28-30 is looking highly impressive.

PS - also thoroughly agree with your comment "Duncan and Stanley, even Bews, have been huge bonuses this year with the way they've performed." which is 'great to see' (luv to see Cam added to list) and further making future 'best 23' selections difficult..... and GO CATS !!!

With 8 of 11 remaining against the fodder of the league - including 6 at home good chance we're in that quadrant by years end.
The fodder of the league have also been kicking scores on us. We will need to do more than rely on an easy draw.

We've conceded 63 points per game against teams from the bottom 7. We have 6 games left against teams from the bottom 7. Our average is going to come down due to who we play in the closing stretch.

6 of 11 at home compared to 4 from 12 will help as well. Our last 4 home games are against teams that aren't particularly high scoring.

Not even slightly concerned.

Stengle joined Cats Media post game to talk through Geelong's important win over the West Coast Eagles.

Tyson Stengle has become such an important player to the Cats forward line and team as a whole, as he's gradually building and improving his 'overall game' into the season and seemingly getting better with every game. And although Tyson is one of the club's most gifted and skilled footballers, to see him leading the way in AFL tackles inside 50 for 2025 is a real highlight, thus confirming how Tyson is very much buying into becoming a team-oriented player in every aspect by setting pressure and tackling standards which can only be a huge bonus to the team going forward..... and yeah, it's so pleasing to see Tyson get some recognition with his performances this year with him featuring on the Geelong AFL footy site, acknowledging that fact.

The Unheralded Aspect of Stengle's Game Driving Geelong's Forward Line

Well renowned for his elite skills around goal, Stengle has added another aspect to his game this season leading the AFL for tackles inside 50. While plenty of the limelight went to the big disposal winners on Sunday night, Tyson Stengle was comfortably one of the most important players on the ground as he put together a terrific performance against West Coast. Looking a class above with his clean skills and elite ball use, the crafty Cat booted two goals and collected 18 disposals, while also dishing off three goal assists to have a significant influence inside forward 50.

An underrated aspect of Stengle's game this year has been his forward pressure, leading the AFL for tackles inside 50 with 26, five tackles clear of the next best player in the competition. Stengle joined Cats Media post game to talk through Geelong's important win over the West Coast Eagles.

I think CS mentioned that most sides are looking at this stage for a squad of 28-30 who can carry them through to finals.

Danger is the only obvious one to come in.

Bowes a likely one to come back in after injury too.

Duncan and Stanley, even Bews, have been huge bonuses this year with the way they've performed.

Then I would say we have question marks next to a few who have been exposed to the first team this year Knevitt and Clark, Clohesy too - does Scott trust them to do a job in finals?

Question marks next to a few others who are becoming available in CGuth and Martin. Established players who we will be wanting to give some games to before finals to see if their bodies can stand up to it.

Kolodjashnij is one who if fit would surely come in, but where's he at?

And then a couple of rucks who are like mystery chess pieces too right now in Conway and Edwards. Wouldn't surprise me if they don't feature at all this year. But it also wouldn't really surprise me if one of them comes in on the eve of finals in ripping shape and blows everyone away.
Thanks Standupand - overlooked Bowes. Having said that, aside from Danger, my view is that the team we plan to take through to finals are those that are fit and ready by mid season. Having missed most of the season, it’s going to be a huge ask for Kolo to be 100% match fit for finals. Not ruling him out, but a ‘long shot’ IMO. Bowes at least has played decent chunks of the season, but with a nasty hammy, also wouldn’t bank on him for second half of season.
Martin and Cuthrie -given injury history I wouldn’t factor into plans. If have a great run of full games, would be nice to have as backup options, but I’d place zero reliance on them.

Re COS - what sort of roles up the field to you see for him?

In my view he looks like a key defender who just needs to put on a bit of size to compete with the really big key forwards.

But I didn't realize how much leg speed he had. That run through the centre last night was blistering. Big guys with speed and skills are a huge asset with the way the game is played today. I can definitely see him having massive versatility in years to come.
So great seeing him live , I think he was 198cm when drafted but wouldn't be surprised if he's around 200cm now.
He's very competitive , is always moving and isn't scared to take the game on when he has space ahead.
Incredibly exciting for a 19yo.
Could be an elite defender or maybe the next Blitz type utility?

So great seeing him live , I think he was 198cm when drafted but wouldn't be surprised if he's around 200cm now.
He's very competitive , is always moving and isn't scared to take the game on when he has space ahead.
Incredibly exciting for a 19yo.
Could be an elite defender or maybe the next Blitz type utility?
Spends over 90 percent of the game on the ground too, which shows his elite running.

Lot of talking up kolo. Dont see how he fits in. Whose spot does he take?

Too short to take dekonnings role. J. Henry is better then kolo. Not dropping osullivan who is raw but a once in a decade talent. He will only be occassionally rested. Humphries, stewart, guthrie are all ahead for the smaller roles. Thats seven defenders. Not even sure kolo would replace oconner given his good form this year. And he is defender number 8. Also have blicavs who can fill a roll down back if needed. They might want duncan to play a role come finals too.

It'll probably be O'Sullivan IF Kolo is 100% fit and healthy (a real unknown to be honest).

We arguably carried too many raw players into the 2024 finals series. Our defence has lacked a bit of nous and lockdown capacity this season. Going by Scott's history he'd back in a trusted lieutenant at the pointy end. But only if they are physically in good nick (e.g Duncan clearly was not at the end of 2024 so was phased out of the 22 by PF time).

Like COS for the future but do not want to take him into AFL finals this year. Coughs up 3 goals a game as a defender.

You drop the player who probably will win the rising star award from finals and that player leaves the club.

Osullivan is saving heaps of goals through his amazing intercepts and is setting up goals through his calm composire with ball in hand. He is better than kolo already.

You drop the player who probably will win the rising star award from finals and that player leaves the club.

Osullivan is saving heaps of goals through his amazing intercepts and is setting up goals through his calm composire with ball in hand. He is better than kolo already.

Recency bias?

Also...sure, COS is a far superior rebound/interceptor than Kolo will ever be, but he's not in the same league as a negator. And we've got enough rebound/intercept capability in the team even without COS. I'm happy to make the swap with Kolo provided he's good to go.

I know he had goals kicked on him but there were good signs from Dekoning last night.
O'Sullivan was annoying at times but he's a kid.

I even thought Close showed a bit.

And for mine Holmes was easily BOG. He was devastating.
We honestly should have had that game buried in the first 40 minutes with what he was doing.

A new phrase "it's not poor quarters of conversion that are important, it's who you're poor against that matters".

People I’ve noticed on social media are really quick to jump on SDK this season as soon as he has a quiet quarter, much less a game. But I’ve noticed it’s very rare that he doesn’t make a vital contribution for at least one prolonged period in a match and that came in the third term the other night when the game got into an arm wrestle and he took 3-4 really important intercept marks, one of them contested, and gave us some very steady possessions when we needed them. And he made some very important spoils as well.

Certainly not playing his best but he’s regularly finding ways to contribute and that’s all you can ask of a player below their best form. Same with Henry who again didn’t have a lot of it but had kicked two goals up to a point where we were leading a game by a single kick, and then set up another one with a perfect assist to help ice it.

He does not have calm composure yet. He had a number of panicked moments like the handball from the goal line over Stanley's head to Read. Think Lalor might have something to say about the rising star.

How high are our standards for Miers?
26 disposals at 84.6%, 512 metres gained as well as two goals and nine score involvements. That was an elite game and he needs some credit
When we hit him on an uncontested mark you just know a great play is about to unfold. He has become our best ball user by a distance.

Unfortunately for us, Levi Ashcroft doesn't wear the hoops

As great as it would be to see O'Sullivan win the Rising Star and Geelong have back-to-back winners, it's more likely that a good result for him will be placing on the podium

1749003118723.png

If Kolodjashnij can get over his back & groin issues & get some match fitness under his belt in the VFL, he'll be back into the seniors and that could be at the expense of O'Sullivan; but there's obviously a bit to play out before then

There's no doubt that O'Sullivan has shown good signs across the season to date, but he also looks like a 12 game player who could likely benefit from a return to the VFL to work on a few basics - whether that be his positioning when one out in the defensive 50, working on disposal under pressure, decision making etc

Across more than a few games I've raised questions about his decision making as he's kinda like an excited puppy at times who just wants to go & be doing everything at 100%, but he needs to learn when to pull things back - those couple of wild handballs in the defensive 50, even jumping super late into the marking contest on the wing that he was never going to be able to contest & gives away a soft 50 as examples from the weekend

He looks like being part of our team for a many years, but if he lost his spot this year to a returning senior player - there's no shame in that

People I’ve noticed on social media are really quick to jump on SDK this season as soon as he has a quiet quarter, much less a game. But I’ve noticed it’s very rare that he doesn’t make a vital contribution for at least one prolonged period in a match and that came in the third term the other night when the game got into an arm wrestle and he took 3-4 really important intercept marks, one of them contested, and gave us some very steady possessions when we needed them. And he made some very important spoils as well.

Certainly not playing his best but he’s regularly finding ways to contribute and that’s all you can ask of a player below their best form. Same with Henry who again didn’t have a lot of it but had kicked two goals up to a point where we were leading a game by a single kick, and then set up another one with a perfect assist to help ice it.
SDK has frustrating moments each game - he can lose his opponent on a lead or out the back, or stuffs up the odd disposal.

BUT:

-He's 6th among KPDs for disposals.
-He's going at 6.1 intercepts a game.
-His 4.5% defensive 1v1 contest loss rate is the best of all KPDs in the league. An objectively incredible number.
-Player Ratings ranks him the 3rd best KPD in the comp (this surprises me!).

Clearly as a young-ish KPD he is doing some things right. Our whole defence breaks down at times when teams get through our forward half press. My guess is that the Player Ratings algorithm doesn't punish SDK when his opponent gets a break on him in those situations.

SDK has frustrating moments each game - he can lose his opponent on a lead or out the back, or stuffs up the odd disposal.

BUT:

-He's 6th among KPDs for disposals.
-He's going at 6.1 intercepts a game.
-His 4.5% defensive 1v1 contest loss rate is the best of all KPDs in the league. An objectively incredible number.
-Player Ratings ranks him the 3rd best KPD in the comp (this surprises me!).

Clearly as a young-ish KPD he is doing some things right. Our whole defence breaks down at times when teams get through our forward half press. My guess is that the Player Ratings algorithm doesn't punish SDK when his opponent gets a break on him in those situations.

Pretty much this.

Our style teaches or encourages players to back themselves if they think they can run off their man and contribute somewhere else. We’ve done it since Harley and Scarlett organised the backline and have never really changed - the only thing that has is that we’ve got more and more players doing it.

De Koning isn’t as good as the others at knowing when he should and shouldn’t. And that exposes him and he looks silly quite a bit as he gets caught miles away from his man with no one else within cooee of him to bail him out. But when he pays a little better respect to where he’s supposed to be, what his fellow defenders are doing and weighing up risk/reward, he’s still an excellent player

Pretty much this.

Our style teaches or encourages players to back themselves if they think they can run off their man and contribute somewhere else. We’ve done it since Harley and Scarlett organised the backline and have never really changed - the only thing that has is that we’ve got more and more players doing it.

De Koning isn’t as good as the others at knowing when he should and shouldn’t. And that exposes him and he looks silly quite a bit as he gets caught miles away from his man with no one else within cooee of him to bail him out. But when he pays a little better respect to where he’s supposed to be, what his fellow defenders are doing and weighing up risk/reward, he’s still an excellent player
Scott said they thought that playing Deboning in the ruck would help him develop.
Now its like he's being reprogrammed as a defender.

I can see the old 2022 SDK coming back.
And then maybe he ends up back in the ruck next year. Maybe. We dont have too many throw ins from say wing to the backline.

I would have thought he'd be taking those and he's not.

So my guess is that we are sticking with him back now.

Review Cats roll Eagles eventually by 43 points.