MOONEY 21

hey guys

im designing and epic dual premiership tattoo to go on my right calf muscle and need a large jpg of the old cats logo from late 80's/early 90's

the one with the 3 pronged pointy shield and the fierce looking cat with cats, geelong football club.

i can only find tiny pics of it on the net! can any one help me? i cant give the tattooist a small jpg coz it will turn out average! i remember seeing the logo in a big version on this site a couple of years ago.....

please help! will post the tattoo once its done. its my first tatt!

bgpkt2.png

Just take note that the difference between those two images is the colour of the word Cats.

I seem to remember reading somewhere that it dates back to a time when the team name was always written in black regardless of the colours of the emblem. I thought it was prior to our use of that emblem though....

any of you cats historians help me out here??

heres what ive come up with so far, only started working on it today, will add a lot of flair to it, this is only stage one! i will spend a month or more on it before i bite the bullet and get it on my right calf muscle.

let me know what you think.

262xfm9.jpg

Not the biggest fan of that Premiers font to be honest. I found the 'm' and 'r' pretty hard to read at first.

If you need other fonts, this site is pretty handy for previewing commercial fonts with whatever word you want. They're damn expensive though, but the preview may be big enough to take a screen capture and use that perhaps? (if you can't find it by other means ;))

http://new.myfonts.com/tags/script/...00000&bg=ffffff&goodies=fit%2Cot.liga&seed=13

Sorry mate, don't mean to be a dick, dissing your work there. It's a good idea for a tatt I reckon. Good choice for the logo.

Not the biggest fan of that Premiers font to be honest. I found the 'm' and 'r' pretty hard to read at first.

If you need other fonts, this site is pretty handy for previewing commercial fonts with whatever word you want. They're damn expensive though, but the preview may be big enough to take a screen capture and use that perhaps? (if you can't find it by other means ;))

http://new.myfonts.com/tags/script/...00000&bg=ffffff&goodies=fit%2Cot.liga&seed=13

Sorry mate, don't mean to be a dick, dissing your work there. It's a good idea for a tatt I reckon. Good choice for the logo.

I agree re the font...VERY indistinct, and don't forgot that over time, really fine detail becomes blurred...

Oh...and I'm a bit concerned about your skin colour...u feeling ok? ;)

I agree as well as that was the 1st thing I noticed. The word doesn't look right so re-read it and it is just a bad font for R and M.

Why would you use the logo from the 80's to celebrate commerorate premierships from the 00's? The 80's logo has no relevance to the premierships from 2007 and 2009.

Just my 2 cents.

Why would you use the logo from the 80's to celebrate commerorate premierships from the 00's? The 80's logo has no relevance to the premierships from 2007 and 2009.

Just my 2 cents.

He is probably using the old logo because he likes it better! A fair requisite when its going to be sitting on your leg for the rest of your life!

I like the second design heaps.

The font looks awesome; fairly old school style, i see similar fonts used in tattoos all the time and is very classy. No problems with the R's and M's.

Sounds obvious but make sure you get someone good to do it!

If your in melbs may i recommend Chapel Tattoo, best in Melbourne IMO.

He is probably using the old logo because he likes it better! A fair requisite when its going to be sitting on your leg for the rest of your life!

At least lose the VFL logo from the picture then. We didn't win the VFL in 2007 or 2009.

The font looks awesome; fairly old school style, i see similar fonts used in tattoos all the time and is very classy. No problems with the R's and M's.

Tattoos and classy should never be in the same sentence.