Hulk_Hawkins

Oct 1, 2003
Kande Beach, Malawi
Man U/Hotspurs
I know it is only Wednesday but given the magnitude of this game I was surprised to see no mention about Saturdays game on your board. I reckon it will be a huge game for both sides and one that could really decide where both sides finish at the end of the year, with the Cats trying for a possible top 2 finish and you guys obviously aiming for top 4 finish. The game will be won or lost in the midfield IMO, - although the Swans do tend to play a bit more defensively than the Cats, this could upset our style of play as we like a more open/free flowing game, shutting the game down could hurt us (remember Freo a couple of weeks ago?) and with Geelongs growing injury list I reckon it will be a close game. Sydney are very hard to beat up there but Cats just for my money.
Good luck you guys for Saturday and the rest of the season, I have a bit of a soft spot for the Swannies - no matter what that tosser Demetriou says about you. Look forward to the Swannies having a good finish to the season (except for Saturday of course ;)) See you in September!

jacmitgee said:
I know it is only Wednesday but given the magnitude of this game I was surprised to see no mention about Saturdays game on your board. I reckon it will be a huge game for both sides and one that could really decide where both sides finish at the end of the year, with the Cats trying for a possible top 2 finish and you guys obviously aiming for top 4 finish. The game will be won or lost in the midfield IMO, - although the Swans do tend to play a bit more defensively than the Cats, this could upset our style of play as we like a more open/free flowing game, shutting the game down could hurt us (remember Freo a couple of weeks ago?) and with Geelongs growing injury list I reckon it will be a close game. Sydney are very hard to beat up there but Cats just for my money.
Good luck you guys for Saturday and the rest of the season, I have a bit of a soft spot for the Swannies - no matter what that tosser Demetriou says about you. Look forward to the Swannies having a good finish to the season (except for Saturday of course ;)) See you in September!

Hi jacmitgee,

You are right on the money this is a huge game particulary for us as it is at home and we can't afford to drop another at home.

But taking past weeks form out of the equation, these are exactly the type of games the Swans build themselves up for and win well.

I feel very confident of victory this week.

DST
:)

Recent history suggests it will be a close one - last year the Swans were very lucky to get away with a win against the Cats at the SCG before Geelong really found form; however, the Swans really pushed the in-form Cats in the return game at Skilled Stadium and were a little unlucky to lose. ROK was our most effective forward on the day. Rain is forecast for Saturday - and this is not good for Sydney given their horrible record in the wet. I'm tipping the Swans - just - but only because I think they will carry on their last quarter form from the game against the Tigers.

Stating the obvious, but i comes down to Chapman and Ling. Close them down and we have a very good chance, let either, or both of them get their average and we get done.

Dudley said:
Stating the obvious, but i comes down to Chapman and Ling. Close them down and we have a very good chance, let either, or both of them get their average and we get done.

Scarlett v Hall will be important, too. I haven't seen the Cats play at all this season, how is the team shaping up?

rwfan83 said:
I'm tipping the Swans - just - but only because I think they will carry on their last quarter form from the game against the Tigers.

Maybe not so much "carrying the momentum", perhaps, as "making up for three other quarters of footy". The Swans must know they could have had that game if they'd got their game in order earlier. The need for atonement plus the big occasion (agree with earlier poster that this is a MASSIVE game) should see a big improvement in the boys.

Personally, I'm already very excited about taking my seat Saturday night and seeing a very close, tough, exciting game.

Bloods Rule! said:
Scarlett v Hall will be important, too. I haven't seen the Cats play at all this season, how is the team shaping up?

Scarlett starting to come into some pretty good form after an ordinary start. Cam Mooney playing well BOG last week, plays pretty important role when not getting too aggro ! Johnson, Ling, Chapman, Kelly, Bartel, Byrnes provide real drive thru midfield at different times. Byrnes is lightning quick.

Harley will be misssed with our forward structure, suprisingly Ablett is not going that well at the moment IMHO. Kingsley luckiest man to have such a good midfield when he is an ordinary ordinary Forward. Goodish Mark, appalling Kick.

So as i said previously, Chapman & Ling are the worries

The SCG suits the Cats because they have no real CHF or CHB in the current side. Even when at their strongest they get a LOT of goals from their midfield. With a smaller ground this is an advantage.

The only area we can exploit them IMO is in height. If Roos goes for a smallish fleet of lockdown players, we will have an ugly game of attrition that is really 50/50.

If he decides to use height and kick it in long to a pack of tall players, its still a 50/50 game, but far more exciting.

Whilst confident we CAN win, the result may be a lot closer than our percentage needs. Here's to another nail-biting finish... :p

Early days yet but the weather prediction is looking far from promising, with the very likely scenario of very heavy rain for Sat night on the cards, making this a real toss of the coin affair. Give the Swans appalling record in the wet, I will say Cats by 10, in a low scoring affair

NMWBloods said:
You mean like we did after the Brisbane game... :eek:

Difference - they won the Brisbane game. More likely to have learned from their poor first three quarters when it cost them victory as it did last week (IMO).

Of course, they should have learned this lesson already. :)

Besides, they carried on the last quarter form from the Collingwood game to the Richmond one, didn't they? :rolleyes:

jacmitgee said:
Not good news for us either - Don't forget Cats hate water! :p

Swans are worse in the wet than Geelong - we only win in the wet when it's a final against WCE, apparently.

Bloods Rule! said:
I haven't seen the Cats play at all this season, how is the team shaping up?

Wojinski - Season
Johnston Steve - 2 weeks
Johnston Dave - 1 week
Playfair - 2-3 weeks
Enright - 2-3 weeks
Ottens - 1 week
Harley - 1 week (long term IMO)
McCarthy - 4 weeks
King - 1 week
Chambers - doubtful

We have been playing with a decimated line up for the last month or so, - so how is our team shaping up :eek:

jacmitgee said:
Wojinski - Season
Johnston Steve - 2 weeks
Johnston Dave - 1 week
Playfair - 2-3 weeks
Enright - 2-3 weeks
Ottens - 1 week
Harley - 1 week (long term IMO)
McCarthy - 4 weeks
King - 1 week
Chambers - doubtful

We have been playing with a decimated line up for the last month or so, - so how is our team shaping up :eek:
Ottens, King out and Chambers doubtful. Who is going to ruck for you guys? Mooney and Blake perhaps?

grimlock said:
Ottens, King out and Chambers doubtful. Who is going to ruck for you guys? Mooney and Blake perhaps?

Chambers only listed as doubtful, word is he should play so therefor will shoulder the ruck duties - backups could be Mooney/Egan

Am i right in suggesting that Scarlett doesn't like to get taken away from the goalsquare too much? Maybe if it rains we can change the matchups and just have Mooney and Hall in a boxing ring in the centre. "i'd like to see that"

Schneiderman said:
The SCG suits the Cats because they have no real CHF or CHB in the current side. Even when at their strongest they get a LOT of goals from their midfield.

A lot? Not kicking enough goals is probably the biggest critisicism of our midfield.

Ling 6 goals in 14 games
Corey 4 in 11 games
Bartel 8 in 14 games
Kelly 4 in 14 games
Tenace 1 in 9 games

Off the bench Riccardi has 11 goals from 13 games and Byrnes has 8 goals from 14 games.

We get goals from players like Chapman, Steve Johnson (when fit) and Gary Ablett. The first two are virtually permanent forwards these days and Ablett spends a fair chunk of game time in the forward line.

I look forward to seeing another of our father-sons, in Blake, debut :)

swans play a draining game, in a way i'm glad a lot of our top line are out, it would probably be worse on them in the long run. i'm expecting a tough close game - i would EXPECT that geelong can win, but i am by no means taking it as a given.

Swans were highly impressive tonight. If only we played like that all season. But we were at the Cats all night giving them nothing in the middle of the field and Adam Goodes was back to his best form. Barry Hall had a great game kicking 5 goals and we've hit a good bit of form over a tough few weeks ahead.

:rolleyes: what a differance a week makes well done Swannies.
To all you cats fans if only is not an excuse for losing ok so you had 10 players out, is the depth of Cats list so bad? i suppose it is if you look at the VFL results.
i enjoy watching the cats play but for christsake a loss is just a loss there's always next week.

Bazmanau said:
:rolleyes: what a differance a week makes well done Swannies.
To all you cats fans if only is not an excuse for losing ok so you had 10 players out, is the depth of Cats list so bad? i suppose it is if you look at the VFL results.
i enjoy watching the cats play but for christsake a loss is just a loss there's always next week.
That's very harsh mate. They were severely depleted tonight. Imagine if we had to play without Jolly, Kirk, C.Bolton, O'Loughlin, O'Keefe, Mathews, Buchanan and Ablett(approximate equivalents in our team). They caned us in the first quarter without putting it on the scoreboard. If they had kicked 5.1 instead of 1.5 who knows what might have happened

Cats V Swans