Toast Chad ****ing Wingard

Chad is destroying the myth that #6 draft picks are only average or duds.

This was on the AFL site in October 2008 going thru what the best pick at wvery number has been

6 – JAMES WALKER (FREMANTLE)
Recruited from: North Ballarat Rebels (1997)
Walker gets the vote as he is the only No.6 to play more than 100 AFL matches. He played 151 games – the sixth most in the club's history. Clearly the most talented was Allen Jakovich (Melbourne – 1990), who starred in his brief stint, booting 201 goals in just 47 matches, at the incredible average of 4.27 per game. Long-term, Steven Salopek (Port Adelaide – 2002) and David Myers (Essendon – 2007) will challenge.

Since 2008 pick 6 has had
08 Chris Yarran
09 Gary Rohan
10 Reece Conca
11 Chad
12 Jack MaCrae

Brought this up on the Draft and Trading Board too- Chad is that good #6 should just about be considered a lucky number to have!
Last 10 years.

1998 : Murray Vance (delisted by Carlton)
1999 : Damian Cupido (delisted by Essendon)
2000 : Dylan Smith (delisted by Nth Melb)
2001 : Ashley Sampi (delisted by West Coast)
2002 : Steven Salopek (dropped by Port and trying to get back in the team via the SANFL)
2003 : Kepler Bradley (struggling at Fremantle)
2004 : Tom Williams (going ok at Bulldogs but is generally a much maligned player by the Bulldogs supporters)
2005 : Beau Dowler (finding it hard to get a game even with the Hawks having lots of injuries to KPP's.
2006 : Mitch Thorp (always injured but hasn't really set the football world on fire when available either)
2007 : David Myers (see Mitch Thorp)
2008 : Chris Yarran (poor work ethic and off field issues haven't exactly made for a great debut year.)
2009: Gary Rohan
2010: Reece Conca
2011: Chad Wingard
2012: Jackson Macrae

Fair to say this "curse" has been well and truly broken- Wingard is looking an absolute steal at #6 and if the draft were done over he'd be just about the first picked.

I'm a big fan of Macrae too, Richmond were criticised for picking Conca over Heppell but he's still developing into a solid midfielder and Dave Myers is finally looking like backing up his first season, stepped up well with Jobe Watson out these past two months. Yarran is a disappointment and Rohan obviously experienced a terrible injury, while old Kepler is somehow still plodding along as a role player for Fremantle.

Case closed!

The heck Gary Rohan is a potential star but that broken leg has been a disaster.

Remember a jet like Rohan called Jamie Lawson, small aboriginal guy like Lewis Jetta for the swans called Jamie Lawson. When I moved to Sydney and they were really terrible in that 91-95 period he was one of the few shinning lights before Lockett and Roos git there, and a genuine excitement machine with blistering pace. He broke his leg late in 1994 and never played again. He was only 22 when it happened.

Yeah those last few years have been pretty good for pick 6. One guy who I really rate is Myers - he's a monster sized inside midfielder who is always going to take multiple tackles before going down, but he's also got a pretty good tank and if allowed to get on the outside I rate his kicking as highly as Daniel Rich's. Bombers won't need to look far for a replacement for Watson in a few years because IMO this guy will be capable of doing what Watson does.

But yeah, Wingard's consistency alone is remarkable, but then you add what he is when he's at his best. It's so bloody good to have one of those players where you can just sit back with a smug grin on your face and think shit, we've got him.

Can't remember which thread it was in, but someone recently raised the question of where Chad would rate in a list of 'metres gained' players. Inside Football have done a list of the top 20 players. Chad (the only forward to make the list) comes in at 15, Brad Ebert at 17. Dangerfield and Richard Douglas from the Crows come in at 11 and 12 respectively. Interestingly, Chad's retention rate (ball kept in team's possession after disposal) is the best of the four and his metres gained per disposal is better than Catboy's as well. Having said that, there is not a big difference in the numbers between them. The top three for Port are Wingard, Ebert and Boak.

Brought this up on the Draft and Trading Board too- Chad is that good #6 should just about be considered a lucky number to have!

Chad was actually #1, GWS were just too stupid to realize :D

Wingard showing why he is such a good kick. He has checked out Adelaide Oval as well as Alberton and brought his mate and also bloody good kick Jakey Neade into his Part II video with his mates at Spimoni Productions. Saw this Saturday morning.

I thought Motlop's Magic could become a competition for the kids. Well we now can market it as Wingard's Wizardry

Published on Aug 20, 2013
Chad Wingard's amazing NEW trick shot video featuring Jake Neade and the boys from Spimoni Productions.

Had another "bad game" of 21 disposals (11 contested) 4 clearance, and a goal.

This kid is ridiculous.

whilst restricted with a groin injury

G'day guys,
this bloke will be a star. Seriously, at 20 years of age and for him to be doing the things he is now is phenomenal!! Almost reminds me of Ricciuto, not the same build. But certainly has the same impact.
With him, Wines and Ebert in the midfield for the next 10 years, Port will be right up there.
Wish we had him!! I really like him. Reckon he is one of the main reasons you guys have improved so much this year!!:thumbsu:

Current squad is by far the most talented Port squad since our premiership.

I would say better but we need 50 more games of experience in the players and a couple of KPP are yet to step up or be recruited

lol I just realised that the two threads about Wines and Wingard are both prefixed by "Playerfirstname ****ING playerlastname"

Gee we are fine users of the english language when we get fired up.