Changes for 2nd Test

I made the comment 'controlled manner' because Steve Smith does not have a specialist batsman's technique and whilst, he might get lucky every so often, he will never be able to give you any consistency and presently, that is what is killing this Australian batting line-up.

Consistency huh? He's passed 50 3 times in his last 7 test innings, and one of the 4 scores that was less than 50 was 46. Looks pretty consistent to me

He averages 32 in test match cricket. It simply isn't good enough for a bloke occupying a specialist batting position and his situation, also shared by others in this Australian batting line-up, explains why they fail to consistently post scores above 300.

I made the comment 'controlled manner' because Steve Smith does not have a specialist batsman's technique and whilst, he might get lucky every so often, he will never be able to give you any consistency and presently, that is what is killing this Australian batting line-up.

Steve Smith will give us a lot more consistency than Maddinson.

He averages 32 in test match cricket. It simply isn't good enough for a bloke occupying a specialist batting position and his situation, also shared by other in this Australian batting line-up, explains why they fail to consistently post scores above 300.

If we drop all the people with questionable techniques who average in the 30's we won't have a team left.

He averages 32 in test match cricket. It simply isn't good enough for a bloke occupying a specialist batting position and his situation, also shared by other in this Australian batting line-up, explains why they fail to consistently post scores above 300.

He's played 8 tests. His last 4 he's averaged 43

Steve Smith will give us a lot more consistency than Maddinson.

Does he have a better technique than Maddinson? I would say no.

My approach to opening, is along the lines of Les Favell, if the ball is in your hitting zone go for it. When your opening the field is up, the ball is hard and there are runs for the taking - Watson seems to have worked this out. Your team is miles better off having your number 3 come in at one for sixty, rather than one for ten, even if the crease has been occupied for one hour.

This is where a bloke like Cowan who couldn't get a regular gig with the NSW State side is a major liability to the test team. Just look at how rattled the English bowling and fielding looked when Agar was taking it to them in the first test.

If we drop all the people with questionable techniques who average in the 30's we won't have a team left.

It's strange isn't it how Agar and Pattison look to have two of the best techniques in the Australian line-up. The only other two that get a pass mark are Watson and Clarke; Khawaja possibly.

My approach to opening, is along the lines of Les Favell, if the ball is in your hitting zone go for it. When your opening the field is up, the ball is hard and there are runs for the taking - Watson seems to have worked this out. Your team is miles better off having your number 3 come in at one for sixty, rather than one for ten, even if the crease has been occupied for one hour.

This is where a bloke like Cowan who couldn't get a regular gig with the NSW State side is a major liability to the test team. Just look at how rattled the English bowling and fielding looked when Agar was taking it to them in the first test.

We're not talking about opening, because Watson-Rogers will more than likely be persisted with.

Smith's technique is almost secondary to his attitude and 'fighting' capabilities at the moment. As Langer always used to say - character over cover drives.

It's strange isn't it how Agar and Pattison look to have two of the best techniques in the Australian line-up. The only other two that get a pass mark are Watson and Clarke; Khawaja possibly.

There's this bloke who's made 80-odd runs shy of 20,000 FC runs in the side named Chris Rogers. He has the best technique in the Aussie side by a fair margin

oh and learn to quote more than one post at a time mate

There's this bloke who's made 80-odd runs shy of 20,000 FC runs in the side named Chris Rogers. He has the best technique in the Aussie side by a fair margin

oh and learn to quote more than one post at a time mate

Rogers has a sturdy technique, but I wouldn't label it as classic or 'the best' in the team. He reminds me a bit of Katich and Chanderpaul in that he shifts across his stumps a fair bit, probably why Anderson/Saker snaffled him at midwicket and looked very chuffed about it.

You're using Watson as an example of how to bat?
His greatest strength(getting the front foot out and going for it when the ball's in his hitting zone) is his undoing more often than not. He often looks good, but with the way he bats it always seems as though it's only a matter of time before he gets out bowled/lbw.

So the game of musical chairs in the Aus cricket team continues. Dunno why Harris was not included in the first test and Cowan, as much as I wanted to see him succeed cost himself his spot, at least now he can come play with a team that wins things ;)

Pardon my ignorance, but what are you referring to here? Tassie state team?

Watson has a terrible technique. Sure his offside play looks great when he presents the full face of the bat.

He falls across his pads far too often - which makes him a massive LBW candidate.

I'd back Rogers' technque over Watson any day of the week as a Test batsmen.

Rogers has a sturdy technique, but I wouldn't label it as classic or 'the best' in the team. He reminds me a bit of Katich and Chanderpaul in that he shifts across his stumps a fair bit, probably why Anderson/Saker snaffled him at midwicket and looked very chuffed about it.

The idea of a "textbook technique" can be a bit folly.

Technique should be all about having the right weight transfer and allowing you to have a still head (ideally in line with the ball) and balance when the ball arrives. That and bringing the bat through on either a perpendicular or vertical line.

Even moving your feet is not exactly required, however very few can achieve the above criteria without moving the feet.

The biggest flaw I am seeing in many batsmen around the world, and Hughes is almost the poster-child for it - is they bring the bat down on a plane from point to square leg, rather than from keeper to bowler.

The IPL and T20 money means many of our players no longer play country cricket in the winter, as such the ability to play the swinging ball is leaving our players.

Watson has a terrible technique. Sure his offside play looks great when he presents the full face of the bat.

He falls across his pads far too often - which makes him a massive LBW candidate.

I'd back Rogers' technque over Watson any day of the week as a Test batsmen.

I grant you he isn't Barry Richards or Gordon Greenidge but he is definitely one of the better techniques in that Australian line-up.

It's interesting how posters are questioning my nominating Watson as having a decent technique but are letting Clarke slide by.

I reckon Clarke has issues with his technique in taking an initial large step forward to the fast bowlers which means he plays a lot of deliveries off the front foot which he should be playing off the back foot. It means he is vulnerable when the ball starts seaming about and one reason why I don't think he will be anywhere near as successful as he has been in recent test series'.

Time for the other specialist batsmen to step up.

He averages 32 in test match cricket. It simply isn't good enough for a bloke occupying a specialist batting position and his situation, also shared by others in this Australian batting line-up, explains why they fail to consistently post scores above 300.

This isn't the glory days anymore, there's no Law, Love, Lehmann, Katitch, Maher, Elliott, Hodge, Hussey around piling on metric tonnes of shield runs.

I firmly believe in Smith, but even if I didn't, he's streets ahead of every other middle order option we have.