Changes for next week

I would have Didak starting with Fasolo sub.
Beams is a notoriously bad set shot but Fasolo can produce the goods.
Yep, I agree.

I agree with most here also.

Beams should go out for Fasolo, the kid is a big game player, Dayne Beams is not, he is a home and away footballer, and it showed up again tonight.

The only thing that might save Beams is that he has a very good record against Geelong, kicking 3 and 4 goals against them on several occasions.

Either way, I'll be happy if Jolly and Reid come up, I'd be shocked if Reid doesn't play, he actually looked better as the game went on, and looked like his old self again late in the game.

Jolly is the concern IMO, I'd say 50/50 as to whether he plays next week at this stage.

So with that;

In: Fasolo
Out: Beams

(injuries pending on course).

Assuming everyone pulls up OK, I think:-

In: Fasolo
Out: Beams

If Reid misses, Goldy in. If Jolly misses, Wood in.

Not looking good for next week IMO

Does Leroy have anything to worry about with the MRP?

I couldn't tell if the hit was high or not from where I was...

Nah, not much in it.

Watched the replay, it was a shoulder to shoulder hit that caught Lewis unaware, he is right to play next week.:)

Sorry guys was at the game just got home. What's wrong with Jolly? He looked ok on the ground?

Can't be sure obviously, but very near the end he came off with what appeared to be a very significant groin injury.

There was some report it was a cramp, but unusual place and didn't really look like it.

There were other reports it was a torn adductor and he'd be a definite out.

Looked much more like this to me.

Before he came off, he was very near a contest at a crucial time, and just couldn't appear to move at all toward it.

Not looking good IMO, but you never know

Would be a bold move to drop Harry. When he goes on a run we all love it, but his awareness is below par and he seems to run the gauntlet too often for little reward.

What's the general consensus on Dids? Given the opportunity tonight he may have been more influential, but I have a feeling his selection could have been based more on the big-game factor/finals experience rather than picking someone like Fasolo.

Even now it looks like Beams might make way for Faz, I'm still interested to here the faithful's thoughts.

Awesome atmosphere at the game tonight too. Loved every minute.

Injuries play a big part in this. Also with Beams, he has a good record against the Cats, which needs to be countered in. He was pathetic but his form has been good going onto the prelim. Way too many underperformers though, Goldsack, Fasolo and Wood look like the only players that could enhance the team IMO.

Home from the game...
Jolly looked dangerous drifting forward! I wish it would happen more often!!

On Harry he won't be dropped.. he is great one on one..
He had a shocker against Essendon and Geelong this year but he played a blinder against West coast and he isn't in bad form right now. He stays

I was surprised to hear beams got subbed out.. Mick must of been furious with him!!!.. considering we had players out there limping around.. Who was beams on? Why was he so bad? Thoughts?

Home from the game...
Jolly looked dangerous drifting forward! I wish it would happen more often!!

On Harry he won't be dropped.. he is great one on one..
He had a shocker against Essendon and Geelong this year but he played a blinder against West coast and he isn't in bad form right now. He stays

I was surprised to hear beams got subbed out.. Mick must of been furious with him!!!.. considering we had players out there limping around.. Who was beams on? Why was he so bad? Thoughts?

Don't know who was on Beams but they did a decent job. 2 handballs in 3 quarters of football isn't setting the world on fire.

Harry wont be dropped. He did shit himself once or twice but his run off the backline is invaluable, just look at his last game. If we were dropping players for one bad game, half the team would not be playing next week.

Only forced change will be Wood for Jolly, with maybe Fasolo coming in for Beams.

Re: Changed for next week

Looks like Jolly is in big strife. Reid definitely looked hampered (how gutsy is he to play out the match and also make some big plays?), Beams was suffering from invisibility, and Johnson battled at the end too.

Wood for Jolly at the very least, would like to see the Sack and Faz in too.

Harry's constant fumbling and just general shitting himself is shitting me at the moment.

Harrys hands are normally tip top, he didn't handle well tonight but he wasn't the only one, was pretty dewy out there and the pressure was extreme, no way known Harry will be dropped, for me i thought Krakoeur was average, must have been a line ball decision between him and Beams to be subbed off.

Re: Changed for next week

IN: Wood, Fasolo
OUT: Beams, Jolly

Beams just turns to shit when playing in finals while Jolly will not get up this week. He will be a big loss but I'd like to see us do something the Hawks do very well, go third man up.

Pendlebuy would be perfect for it but we'd kinda lose his calm nature in the packs. Maybe even a Goldsack. It would completely negate Ottens/NN/Cox who are all potential match winners on their day.

Injuries play a big part in this. Also with Beams, he has a good record against the Cats, which needs to be countered in. He was pathetic but his form has been good going onto the prelim. Way too many underperformers though, Goldsack, Fasolo and Wood look like the only players that could enhance the team IMO.

Agree re Beams, Mick always talks about horses for courses thingy and he has an imposing record against the Cats.

Dids is the one who will be on tenderhooks all week, had the whole quarter to show his wears and had zero influence on the game, just like in the last month.

Out: Jolly, Didak

In : Wood, Fasolo

reid will play, he went off early and got a massage and strapping (didnt go downstairs for a jab) and played out the rest of the game, not 100% sure but didnt jolly go back on after a massage and strapping? he definately didnt go down to the rooms, which usually means a quick jab. compression and a rub means an impact injury shouldnt be a major concern.

yes things can happen, but assuming we play geelong. the weather forecast looks ok - cool maybe showers, but no rain.

we have to find ways to combat geelongs height if jolly & reid miss. wood & goldsack look the obvious options. IMO beams stays - his recent form is great, just poor last night. there might be history re:finals but in that case it comes down to play him or trade him. i say play him. didak on the other hand - OUT. his days are finished. some flashes of brilliance in recent weeks but theres just not enough to deserve a spot. we need someone who will work and be accountable. 1st choice has to be fasolo - the best sub in the game surely. 2nd choice im thinking sinclair. only as a sub. his desperation & tackling might be needed in a desperate last qtr. if johnson misses then ben2 gets the gig.

here we go again - A GRAND FINAL.

Beams won't get dropped, after 1 poor match? Didak, there's no way a sub can get in to that sort of game. Of about 200 subs used this year I reckon only 3 have made an impact, it's just a dead position, especially in finals. I would think Beams could do that next week.
Might depend on Reid's condition though, Goldsack might be the right coverage if Reid has any doubt on him.

Too early to call changes, I would suspect it might just be Jolly for Wood.
Cam hasn't let us down this year, so I have no issue with it at all.

Regarding Beams, the 7 weeks after injury he played well was when we had no Heath Shaw, midfield always missing one or two(wellingham, ball) so he predominately played midfield/wing then forward. Now all those boys are back he's back to forward, a little midfield. He always starts on the bench too.

Mick should just back him, start him on the ground play midfield / wing and push forward where he finds space because his opponents lose him.

Also with Fasolo, if you remember the Geelong game he was just outclassed and outmuscled. Reminds me last night when Swan just knocked Isaac Smith of the ball on the wing. Fas won't handle that. He might be the dream boy but this is the Grand Final, play players who have experienced that and can handle it.

I think if it is Geelong the stronger bodies are needed and blokes than can play through the midfield as the war of attrition will be great, even more so that last night when a lot of boys where struggling towards the end.

I'm still unsure about Fasolo against the cats. If he plays he will be a sub, but he did look out of sorts in round 24. Not sure if he is ready for an AFL GF just yet.

I'd like to see Goldy come in. I think he could do a defensive job at either end. Just not sure on who to drop. Harry should stay and Beams has a good record against the cats.

Reality is though, we may need an extra mid/clearance player to shark ruck contests if Jolly is out. Once we cleared the ball from the middle, we looked good.

Got some news about Reid, from a close mate of his that comes to uni with me. He has not pulled up well at all and is in doubt for the GF. Its gonna be a nervious week waiting to see who will play. If Geelong win tonight, I think we will lose on Sat.

Think we all agree that Woody comes in for Jols and Goldsack for Reid, both as injuries require.

Of the rest:

Beams. Would be having a long chat with him this week to see where his head is at and whether, psychologically, he was likely to bounce back. His hard body, in and under, and record against The Cats could be useful. If out, Goldsack or Fasolo. Simon Buckley an outside chance, too.

Didak. Look, we all love him but I cannot see him impacting next week. His body is not up to finals pressure at the mo. I know he was only the sub but he still had a quarter - our best quarter - and did nothing. Along with confidence in his body, the magic has deserted him.

Jonno. If injured, ?? Goldsack or perhaps Simon Buckley.

Brown. Is he guaranteed a start, or would we consider Woody (if Jols comes up, of course)?

Ultimately, I suspect our team sheet will be dictated by injuries insofar as if we have forced changes, we will not want m/any more due to team disruption. If we choose to not change 50:50 injured players, we may freshen up with a couple of other changes. I DO worry about Didak, either way, and feel Fas should come in. I also suspect Wood and Goldy will come in, for Jols/Brown and Reid/Jonno. Hopefully we don't need to make >3 changes.

Therefore,

In: Wood, Fas, Goldy
Out: Jolly/Brown, Didak, Johnson/Beams/Reid

Jabs for everyone that requires them next week.

Beams must play, there's no way he will put two stinkers in a row now- he will be burning deep down inside and will want to make amends.

Reid played out the game and kicked the footy well in the last term. He must play.

Jolly- unless he seriously cannot take to the park, he gets jabbed, strapped and sent out there.

In GFs you need big efforts from big players- nobody will give us half arsed efforts in the big one.

If there is any change at all we are considering it would be repeating last year's selection by bringing the Sack back in at the expense of somebody for his flexibility and freshness. He is ferocious and his tackles stick- something we didn't do much of last night.

Think Dayne is a deer in the headlights at the momment, really looks lost in fast an tough contests. Thought Steele did at times last night too, that was one quick game. The worry with Beams is his finals record is average. Fasolo give a great contest and give that X factor. Would be surprised if Fasolo doesn't come in for Beams..

Wood for Jolly if injured or after Browns performance over the last month, Wood may play anyway especially as Geelong and WCE play 2 ruckman. So maybe Wood & Jolly (drop Brown)

Reid is in real trouble. With Cats & WCE height, they may even play Keefe. Personally, big fan of the Sack and think he is the best side just not sure where...

Changes for next week