Changes for next week

- Jolly has been average to poor all year,he isnt that big a loss as people are making him out to be.Id prefer a 100% Wood to a 50% Jolly who is a fair chance to break down early

- Fasolo shouldn't of been dropped.Its time to drop the hammer on Dids he is just completely out of sorts and we have waited and carried him all year. A Fasolo coming off the bench In a grand Final when it opens up could be a match-winner.The funny thing is Fasolo is closer "model" than the the old didak we all love want firing than the 2011 didak

-Beams just had a shocker.Need his run and goal kicking power.

This is the way I have been thinking, too. Add Goldsack if Reid is not going to be able to play the game out to what the Sack might be contributing.

Totally agree, last game, what has he got to lose? 3 weeks? He should go our as a bowling ball and roll a few.

Assuming Jolly and Reid play, my outs would be Beams and Wellingham (however he does play well against Geelong, so might keep him in). One player I would squeeze in is Goldsack as can play him as a forward tag.
Not sure about Fasola as he seemed up against it in round 24. I would keep Dids in but start him on the ground not as a sub.

The whole team didn't look up to it in round 24. It'd be a silly thing to base his inclusion on, considering how well he has performed throughout the latter half of the season.

Brown absolutely has to play.

If they do risk Jolly, Brown has to play in case Jolly breaks down *
If they don't risk Jolly, then Brown will be Wood's back up.

His strength and physicality will be important against Geelong's big bodies.

Similarly, Goldy is a huge chance to come in, with reid's situation.
If Reid out, Goldy likely replacement.
And if they risk Reid, you might want Goldy in as his backup, in case he goes down.

Goldy's tackling will be huge, he really sticks his tackles.

Beams may miss in this case.

Lot hinges on whether Jolly and Reid come up obviously.

My guess is Reid will play and Jolly won't.

* I wonder if they do risk Jolly, if they MAY consider then dropping Leroy and play Wood as second ruck instead, so if then Jolly does break down they have a better replacement??
Leroy has been pretty horrible this year overall, except patched here and there.
I doubt this scenario BTW.

Fasolo

I know we all want a fairy tale but Josh Hunt is a very strong man and he will rip Fas a new one. I think playing Fas would be an act of desperation and relying on a kid to spark us in a GF does't make sense. We had our mojo back in that last quarter.

Didak

Removing Didak from the side means that Geelong can pay all their attention to Swan, Pendles and Daisy which will not hold well for us. We need enough midfield depth to keep them distracted.

I must be the only one who thought Didak showed something in the last quarter. His long raking kick to Cloke was a ripper. Probably the only penetrating kick we had into the forward line all night along with the one Sidebottom launched to Dawes.

Jolly/Wood
They won't play Jolly unless they are supremely confident he won't break down. If he plays I doubt the injury was serious or an injury at all (unlikely).

I went back and watched round 8 again. At the ground I thought Wood was hopeless but on the replay he actually didn't look that bad. He competed pretty well - all he has to do is compete.

Goldsack

Required to run with Kelly and/or cover Reid. However, if Mick decides he doesn't want to stop their loose man his position in the side may not be justified.

Beams/Wellingham/Krak

I suspected that Krak might have been dropped but Mick said a few things which suggests that he wont be.

Wellingham was back to the form that almost got him traded in 2009. He showed genuine fear for the contest. If he wasn't explosively quick and capable of making a quick impact he wouldn't be playing next week.

That leaves Beams. Coaching staff need to decide whether the midfield depth he offers equals or exceeds the contribution Goldsack could make in a shut down role.

He is the most likely to get dropped but his one saving grace is that he tends to play well against Geelong.

We should only be making 2 changes max.

The obvious one is Wood for Jolly.

The other sees someone out for Goldsack, I love the guy but Dids is done for this season, no preseason and just couldn't get into it this year. :(

Keefe,
Sinclair,
rounds,
caff
Wood
Fasolo
Goldsack

I'm missing two?

Wasnt there a thread about Nathan Brown being available for the finals if required? Id assume he one of those 2 you are missing?

Is it worth the risk if Reid doesnt pull up? As good as the sack is the big bodies of Pods and Hawkins will trouble him.

Any news lately on the fitness of Brown?

Nath declared himself out of it a couple of weeks ago..

I was missing Buckley and J Mac

Dam just hope Reid pulls up ok.

Goldsack needs to play. Either Beams, Krakouer or Didak to miss. Beams - a shocker, Didak - average all year but not much opportunity in the Prelim, Krakouer I thought was a bit slow tbh in defensive pressure and general play but his magic can turn a game. Decisions..............

Next week against thye Cats will read as a different book.!
Credence to Clarkson, he totally did his research on Collingwood for friday night.

Geelong are flat track bulllies.
A very physical side. They always appear to be blocking the player on the mark, runnng over the mark and man handling players, but somehow manage to do all of this within the rules.

We need some strong bodies next week.
Jolly - Has to go! He will get his dodgy knee targeted again by Ottens.(Rd 24)
Beams-Must stay for his size(he was in our best against Geelong Rd.24)
Harry O-(the same)

Some of the lighter bodies will come into question?
We have 1 too many!
Didak, Krak, fall into this. (Wellingham and Blair should be safe)

Anyone consider playing 2 rucks? Brown hasn't been doing anything Wood can't do lately. When he went to the backline the other week he was hopeless. Geelong play 2 rucks and with Jolly under an injury cloud Wood could certainly help. Ottens is a huge problem for us

No change unless Jolly doesn't get up. If he's no good, then Wood plays. Given the risk to Reid as well, Leroy is a certainty to play.

Dids starts and Krak as the sub.

I would have thoguht Krakouer should be dropped.

Was very ordinary when the ehat wsa ona dn really did nothing.

Bit different to kicking junktime goals when you side is miles in front

Oh the author of 'The Krakouer Myth' from the main board. Back to enlighten us with your personal vendetta.

You may not have noticed but all small forwards don't do much in finals unless their side demolishes their opponents.

Yeah, have seen your thoughts on Krakouer before, you seem to have abnormally strong feelings against him.

Seeing you've ventured over here, and at this stage you are most welcome, why don't you tell us more on his strengths and weaknesses as a player as you perceive them.

Would never make 3 significant changes going into a GF!

Beams - Just had a poor game, although with no desire to provide any pressure was a worry. Will feel the heat this week, but will hold his spot.
Needs to justify his spot this weekend, and it will be all credit to himself if he does, but if he isnt able to it might really hurt his reputation.

Didak Sub or Start?
Must have a solid hitout this week. No sure where he is mentally, but could this be set for him on the weekend? I think he will be out with a point to prove.

Jolly?
Wood has shown he can do the job if required. I feel comfortable with Wood in the side. Leroy needs a big game though, and if he can kick 1 or 2 up forward it will really benefit the side.

If you have fit players ready to go i.e. Wood, Sack, & Fasolo, it would be crazy not to consider them.

Jolly hasn't set the world on fire, and Reid looked very sore. If they're a risk, don't play them.

Yeah, have seen your thoughts on Krakouer before, you seem to have abnormally strong feelings against him.

Seeing you've ventured over here, and at this stage you are most welcome, why don't you tell us more on his strengths and weaknesses as a player as you perceive them.

Thanks very much for the invite and the chance for me to inform you about Kraks situation.

Strengths- Front and centre work, Snapping goals, awareness in traffic, playing well in dead time

Weaknesses- Pace, Doesn't do enough in a game, Tank not good enough, too one dimensional, producing when it matters,

If you guys are honest, he hasn't done anywhere near enough in the second half of the year or when it matters

He was really shown up in a high pressure game when he was just too slow tog et rid of it, clangered a few and simply barely did anything of note.

I would drop him for Didak and bring in another sub

Thanks overtheline, that's a much better overview.

Agree with you re pace and tank as relative weaknesses, though not so much re him doing his best work in dead time. His tackling pressure could be better aswell.

He's kicked some really important goals at crux times for us this year.

I think he's worth his place, though if Goldy and / or Didak come in ( and I think Didak might come into the 21 this week) both he and Beams will be looked at.

Thanks overtheline, that's a much better overview.

Agree with you re pace and tank as relative weaknesses, though not so much re him doing his best work in dead time. His tackling pressure could be better aswell.

He's kicked some really important goals at crux times for us this year.

I think he's worth his place, though if Goldy and / or Didak come in ( and I think Didak might come into the 21 this week) both he and Beams will be looked at.

NO Worries.

I just reckon he got a disproportionate amount of publicity earlier in the year and everytime he breathed it made the front page.

I reckon he has been pretty disappointing in the second half of the year.

Changes for next week