Changes for the next game

honestly, some of the in's and outs i've seen are laughable - mcmahon and mcguane all deserve a spot in the side - pattison given a rest? and who the hell will be the 2nd ruckman?? don't even DARE say Polak - cos he has never done a decent job there

OUT: Jackson, Schulz - Both lacked polish and stood out like a sore thumb. Were caught "watching" several times, and let themselves be out positioned in one and ones with smaller players.

In: Bowden, Polak

Give Bowden a really hard test to prove himself - all good and well to stand up at VFL level - but a player of his seniority should be doing it against the best in the world - and geelong that is.

If Polak is fit - give him a go - if not, pettifer - lets not give petts an easy game to earn his way back in - won't be any cheap goals against geelong. if he puts in a shocker - send him back to coburg for at least a fortnight. if he plays a good match - tell him that if he can do it against geelong, he can do it every week.

Basically - lets put the heat on our 2 "senior" coburg fella's which have needed a kick in the ass. Lets give them the toughest senior game to earn their respect back. if they fail, they will know that their spot will be out straight away - and will miss the essendon blockbuster. with cotchin, JON, Hughes, Jackson, Schulz all chomping at the bit to earn a spot again - both Petts and Bowden will definitely feel the pressure - and if they don't react - bye bye.

i think best to give cotchin one more week for coburg. lets not rush him, play him against geelong and the kid could get beaten up and flogged in his first game. sime players react well to such things - but considering cotch is coming off a serious injury - best to leave him for the next week against essendon - and let him tear them a new one:D

i am tipping that he wont be the only one that gets a debut call up for that game. ;)

Or a tokem call up because of the occasion. *cough*JON*cough*

1%ers lol..didn't see many. Ok Edwards fanboy. We'll see if he's in the side in 3 years.
Thats because you clearly don't watch the game and have NFI anout footy in general.
The only way he won't be in the side in 3 years is injury:rolleyes:

Thats because you clearly don't watch the game and have NFI anout footy in general.
The only way he won't be in the side in 3 years is injury:rolleyes:

Needs some more weight on him I reckon. Hopefully a move to the wing later in the year will see him get more of the pill. I really hope he doesn't end up as a speacialist foward

:)Edwards will be a superstar within three years time...mark my words!
Oozes class and is going find more and more of the pill every game he plays.
To suggest he won't be in the team in three years time - injury aside - is plain laughable!!!
He ain't going nowhere!!

Raines? Listed as 1 week on the websites injury list. Would be a very handy inclusion. Could be a swap for those of you calling for Newman/Jordy to go.

Mcguane shouldn't be dropped, was a ripping tackle on Riewoldt...almost won us the game!

I'm not sure Pettifer was dropped was he? Was he suspended for something typical Petts and just hasn't come back since because the boys are showing heaps?? Is this correct?

If Plough is serious about beating Geelong, both Pettifer and Bowden should return imo, however it might actually be more beneficial for the club to leave it largely unchanged...

Remember, you learn more from a match you lose than those you win.

So I'll go with; DJ out...Polak in.

This year is about consolidating the youth in the team into a unit that is capable of makeing the finals for the next 10 years and hopefully deliver us a premiership. Our backline is looking stronger each week I wouldn't change much except to bring Polak in.

We have, Raines, Polo, Bowden, Pettifer, Coughlan, Graham and Cotchin who could easily replace anyone in the team and our current standard would not drop (unless we replaced them all at once) and a flotila of young promising players.

This is a great place to be in we have a team that is competitive with the best in the competition and have depth to cover any losses. As the season wears on we will need these guys and we will win games we are supposed to and some we are not supposed to.

I kind of beleive we will still make the finals but if we dont this season is definetly not wasted we have gained a lot of respect from the football community and our team shows signs of being capable of making the top 4 in the next 3 years now that makes me very very happy.