Preview Changes & prematch discussion Rd8 vs Richmond

Their handballing is reminiscent of the 2016 Bulldogs in how well their efficiency and forward movement was, which I would say was a large contributor to them winning finals. Unquestionably the best handballing in the game right now.
Pies handball though......most of Bulldog's handballs are very questionable to a throw.

But yes Pies definitely best handballing side in the comp.

As for someone saying Dusty might be out this week...doesnt surprise me. I think he had been playing deep fwd a lot more than in the past due to playing on a niggle. I was wondering why and it wasn't just because they have the luxury. No reason why you wouldnt play your best player in the middle more often than not.

I always thought the SCG was never the ground you'd make your AFL debut on....accident waiting to happen. I think by the club taking Ahern up to Shytney and not playing VFL, getting around him after the game is a sign that he will be getting a game this week. Just a hunch, was thinking about it the other day.

Suck it Nicnait...as I write the above that news come in :)

cant believe we are $4. Richmond struggle against tall forward lines look at how they played against the crows where jenkins tore rance and the whole defence to bits. Brown I can see kicking 5+ again especially if ends up at any period one on one with rance as he is a mediocre at best one on one defender. Add in Waite who always gives this mob grief plus ziebell playing a predominant forward post I think we are going to win. Our home ground, our fans and our shinboner spirit will get us across the line. We will show the football world who the real best defence and defender in the comp is. Cant wait to belt them

Hope your right.

You forgot to mention one thing though.

We hate playing against hard running fast midfields.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

cant believe we are $4. Richmond struggle against tall forward lines look at how they played against the crows where jenkins tore rance and the whole defence to bits. Brown I can see kicking 5+ again especially if ends up at any period one on one with rance as he is a mediocre at best one on one defender. Add in Waite who always gives this mob grief plus ziebell playing a predominant forward post I think we are going to win. Our home ground, our fans and our shinboner spirit will get us across the line. We will show the football world who the real best defence and defender in the comp is. Cant wait to belt them
You make football sound so easy Makepeace, Troy

That will be interesting - Waite is the most likely to play up the ground, which I imagine Rance would be happy with as he can chop out and attack but Waite has caused some real damage this year in that floating role. He then comes back forward and can mark on any player - particularly a guy like Rance who IMO is weak 1 on 1 against this type (high marking, athletic).

Who takes JZ - he's a big threat, particularly if you put your best on Brown, Wood & Waite.
Grimes... Would shut JZ right out.

We'll see I guess. To be honest I rate our forward line higher than I rate Richmond's defence (as in back half). It's whether we can get the delivery regular and in the right spots.

Bloody training is tomorrow:( Bloody Sunday games and bloody mothers day, " sorry mum I don't give a shit I'm going to the match".

" after all I've done for you, I am 83 and might not live much longer" ....... ( fingers bloody crossed mum, fingers crossed)

Do what I’m doing and bring her along!!!!!

Brown and Rance battle along with supposedly Jacobs and Martin's will decide this game.

Rance can handle the occasional long bomb in a 1v1 contest. But as the game progresses, Brown will get space. He will get room to move and that's where the game is going to be decided. Once Brown gets moving and jumping, RIP. Rance will have to watch Brown like a hawke. Brown doesn't stay stationery. Nor does Waite or Wood. Actually, come to think about it, Richmond could be absolutely ****ed here if they don't stay switched on in the middle.

On Rance again..

Petrie absolutely destroyed Rance over his career. We can go back to 2012, Round 17. 4th Quarter. Rance gets 4 goals kicked against him. 4. In one quarter. He tries edging him under it, bumping, spoiling but he just couldn't stop Dish from kicking 7 for the night.

On Jacobs and Martin..

It won't be Jacobs and Martin. It will be Cunners and Martin. Go get em Cunners! And if Cunners needs help, he has a very angry Anderson to assist.

Jacobs will go to, you guessed it, our old friend #helpfindtrent Cotchin.

If Brown is targeted every time it comes in, Waite and Wood can just do whatever the **** they want. Because the spares or possibly their direct opponents have gone to Brown. If this happens, it's over. This happened SO MANY times in the past.

The Richmond defenders had a habit of falling all over each other in crucial contests in the past against us. It happened so many times it made Hardwick look away in disgust. If that shit happens again, lol. But, I'm pretty sure they have structures in place this time.

If Richmond has any ounce left of the ol' panic-to-win Richmond, this could be funny.

Brown and Rance battle along with supposedly Jacobs and Martin's will decide this game.

Rance can handle the occasional long bomb in a 1v1 contest. But as the game progresses, Brown will get space. He will get room to move and that's where the game is going to be decided. Once Brown gets moving and jumping, RIP. Rance will have to watch Brown like a hawke. Brown doesn't stay stationery. Nor does Waite or Wood. Actually, come to think about it, Richmond could be absolutely ****** here if they don't stay switched on in the middle.

On Rance again..

Petrie absolutely destroyed Rance over his career. We can go back to 2012, Round 17. 4th Quarter. Rance gets 4 goals kicked against him. 4. In one quarter. He tries edging him under it, bumping, spoiling but he just couldn't stop Dish from kicking 7 for the night.

On Jacobs and Martin..

It won't be Jacobs and Martin. It will be Cunners and Martin. Go get em Cunners! And if Cunners needs help, he has a very angry Anderson to assist.

Jacobs will go to, you guessed it, our old friend #helpfindtrent Cotchin.

If Brown is targeted every time it comes in, Waite and Wood can just do whatever the **** they want. Because the spares or possibly their direct opponents have gone to Brown. If this happens, it's over. This happened SO MANY times in the past.

The Richmond defenders had a habit of falling all over each other in crucial contests in the past against us. It happened so many times it made Hardwick look away in disgust. If that shit happens again, lol. But, I'm pretty sure they have structures in place this time.

If Richmond has any ounce left of the ol' panic-to-win Richmond, this could be funny.

What happened last time we played North?

The Tigers get better as the game goes on. Our blokes need to work harder each quarter because the tigers seem to run harder the longer the game goes.

Our blokes cant afford to burn themselves out in the first half, frantic footy must be avoided. Keep the ball as much as possible with slow play early in the game and turn it into a shoot out in the last. They rely on teams tiring against them by trying to run the ball through the lines, and when they tire Richmond change their set up to a more open field to allow for easier ball movement.

What happened last time we played North?
Ha.

Seriously? We were trying to discuss changes/structures constructively and you want to start trolling and get smart?

What happened in 2016? Smashed completely to bits.
What happened in 2015 EF? Beaten. After your mob was leading mind you.
What happened in 2014 when your team was 6 goals up? Overran. Convincingly.
What happened in 2013 when your team was seemingly top 4 material? Your team was obliterated by HT. By a side struggling to find form.
What happened in 2012 when your club was on its knees struggling to win games consistently? Choked.

What happened in the years leading up to the early 2010s? Beaten by the North Melbourne Football Club.

Do not look for history in clashes between North and Richmond. You can celebrate winning the flag (your thread is there for it), but you cannot try to prove a point when the evidence contradicts/proves our club has been far superior. Your club waited 37 years for a flag. 37. And what happened in those 37 years?

Go back to the banter thread. Wrong place.

Just when I thought the Richmond flogs weren’t as bad as the Sydney flogs.

Flogerish Tiger: hold my beer.
Some Richmond posters have the mentality to relent that they have been shit and shit for a while in recent times, even after the flag of 2017.
Sydney posters have no such grasping of the concept of football talk.
I can cop a couple of Richmond posters but Besides the VFL bloke who supports the Swans they are all mediocre.

In: Ahern, Waite
Out: EVW, Turner

EVW is a massive out against Richmond, I would have played him on Butler.

Thompson - Riewoldt
Tarrant - Townsend/Loose
Williams - Castagna
Atley (Must play back) - Edwards
Macmillan - Caddy
Wright - Butler

Clarke to the wing, he is way too loose to play on these dangerous forwards

Astbury will go to Brown. Rance doesnt play on the oppositions best forward. I reckon he gets Waite, or could go to Wood and try and zone off to get in front of Brown.

Looks like Nankervis will miss with a sore ankle. Prestia as well.
all the best for the game Roo boys and girls.
Love what your side is doing this season. Certainly have stuck it up the pundits so far, including me.