Changes v Collingwood

Hoons game against Collingwood in that final was something special. Has a great kick and can add a lot to the team when he is in form and confident. Just coming back from a serious knee injury, I say back the lad especially now with the season we are having. Big time player for us in the future

Out: Jonas, Lobbe, Schulz, Stewart
In: Clurey, Trengove, Butcher, Amon.

People sooking about other people wanting Butcher to be picked can suck a lemon. The year is shot, we need to make the important list decisions at the end of the season with some knowledge about the key forward position. Butcher has been pretty good in 3 out of his last 4 AFL games. He'll no doubt be shit this time, because Warren Tredrea would struggle with how we move the ball, but we need to change something.

I don't know Warren is well Warren he could just do it ;)

Trengove for Jonas (Jonas needs a break. Don't even play him in the Magpies)
Neade for Monfries (Still don't mind Monfries but need to try something different)
Harvey for Schultz (Will be suspended)
Amon for Moore (Amon offers more)
Clurey for Stewart (Yes he was okay tonight but not in our long term plans)

Play Pittard on the wing and leave Ryder permanently up forward with Lobbe/Trengove rucking combination from last season. Put Neade in the forward line to rove all those ball to ground's in the forward 50 that always seem to bounce away from us.

The likes of Boak, Wines and Ebert need to lift and win the ball out of the middle or we're ****ed no matter what we do.

how about asking Phil Anselmo, ex Pantera, if he wants a game? someone to fire the lads up.

I still think Ryder and Lobbe look lost in the same team together.

I am warming to the idea of giving someone like harvey a crack in the AFL - can't see why not, they said Krakouer wasn't AFL match ready one week and picked him the next.

At least he'd be ****ing hostile !!

Why Butcher though? I honestly don't understand it. His SANFL form has been average at best and he has been playing as a DEFENDER. He isn't even playing forward. Why give a spot to a player who has had his opportunity to play AFL (and failed), not playing great SANFL footy, and can't kick compared to a player who hasn't had an opportunity, is in good SANFL form and can kick (AKA Harvey)

Jonas should have been dropped a month ago, so I won't be holding my breath on that call, but if it is made Clurey would be the obvious replacement.

Stewart shouldn't be dropped on tonight's performance, but stranger things have happened with some of this season's bullshit selections.

I would like to see Harvs get a gig against the aints and/or cold toast, Port's forward 50 entries are so ratshit atm that bringing him in against the wobblers could f*** with his confidence.

Frustratingly I'm pretty happy with the balance of our lineup right now.

The only major structural issues are the lack of a tagger, no key forward and the Monfries dilemma.

Monfries is doing a role but nothing else. He flies for marks and doesn't take them, battles hard in contests but never wins them, he isn't particularly quick or evasive and his ball use is ordinary.

Harvey may just have to be played for us but after watching him live I'm afraid it'd be throwing a sheep to the wolves. Schulz has flat out lost it and although his tackle wasn't as bad as the Gibbs one I expect to lose him and that'll leave us with a gaping hole if Harvey doesn't get a crack.

I'm not even sure if the tagger situation has a resolution but right now we desperately need to develop another mid. AhChee is showing some signs that he may be worth persisting with, Moore is faltering and Young is being played out of position.

Colquhoun is doing well and the Polec injury is giving him a fantastic opportunity to develop. But he is not the answer, he is an outside mid and years away from offering any physical presence.

White on as sub would be handy but that obviously ain't available.

All I can personally see is maybe Jake Neade coming in to add some forward line flair and O'Shea or Clurey coming in to replace Jonas. I highly doubt we will make these tough calls though.

Out: Jonas

In:
latest

Why Butcher though? I honestly don't understand it. His SANFL form has been average at best and he has been playing as a DEFENDER. He isn't even playing forward. Why give a spot to a player who has had his opportunity to play AFL (and failed), not playing great SANFL footy, and can't kick compared to a player who hasn't had an opportunity, is in good SANFL form and can kick (AKA Harvey)

Right now, Harvey has probably 4 years left on the list even if he doesn't get any better. For Butcher, he's staring down the barrel of being delisted, and he's doing so because we've managed his development awfully and he's been unlucky with injury.

Give the dude 10 games at AFL level to save his career. Back him in for at least 5 of those games, regardless of form. We have nothing to lose and everything to gain. I'd argue that 3 out of his last 4 games at AFL level have been reasonably good.

If he barely has a touch in 5 weeks, you can put that line through him in permanent texta and bring in Harvey.

First thoughts:

Jonas for Trengove.
Moore for Amon

Schulz is tempting, but we don't have a genuine leading forward on our list outside Gray/Wingard/Monfries(also nearly dropped) and himself.

Right now, Harvey has probably 4 years left on the list even if he doesn't get any better. For Butcher, he's staring down the barrel of being delisted, and he's doing so because we've managed his development awfully and he's been unlucky with injury.

Give the dude 10 games at AFL level to save his career. Back him in for at least 5 of those games, regardless of form. We have nothing to lose and everything to gain. I'd argue that 3 out of his last 4 games at AFL level have been reasonably good.

If he barely has a touch in 5 weeks, you can put that line through him in permanent texta and bring in Harvey.
I don't agree with bringing players in because they are facing delisting, players have to earn their spots and be accountable for their performance. No one gets a gold pass. That's the only way we as a club will get better. The way I see it is Harvey has been playing the better footy so he gets the spot. Butcher wants to be an AFL footy player/save his career then prove it in the SANFL. If he does then I will be the first one in line to pump him up.

Ebert CHF? Lol.

Lets have him lead to row z in the pockets like his cuz

Changes

monfries==for==>Neade
We need more crumbing power around the forward line. maybe our tall forward woud work better if our small forwards werent also playing tall

shultz==for==>Trengove
Ryder to full forward. Jay either suspended or dropped

Jonas==for==>Clurey
Obvious reasons.

Hoon==for==>Amon
Broadbent is very lucky. But i think we would be too undersized if broady went. Hoon needs a few years getting stronger. He does some good things and his time will come. While they are both young and not strong enough, Amon is faster.

Changes

monfries==for==>Neade
We need more crumbing power around the forward line. maybe our tall forward woud work better if our small forwards werent also playing tall

shultz==for==>Trengove
Ryder to full forward. Jay either suspended

Jonas==for==>Clurey
Obvious reasons.

Hoon==for==>Amon
Broadbent is very lucky. But i think we would be too undersized if broady went. Hoon needs a few years getting stronger. He does some good things and his time will come. While they are both young and not strong enough, Amon is faster.

Jay should not be suspended. Nothing about that tackle was a sling action what so ever.
Neade yeah maybe if he turned it on for more than 1 quarter. He has played like our season.

I don't agree with bringing players in because they are facing delisting, players have to earn their spots and be accountable for their performance. No one gets a gold pass. That's the only way we as a club will get better. The way I see it is Harvey has been playing the better footy so he gets the spot. Butcher wants to be an AFL footy player/save his career then prove it in the SANFL. If he does then I will be the first one in line to pump him up.

If we wait until a key forward dominates the sanfl before we bring him into the afl we will never have a key forward , and forever be fielding a 40 odd man list with a handful of tall key position players that we keep on the list season after season waiting for them to show us they are an afl footballer

Because we're 5-8, Schulz is 30+ and our season is shot.

If for whatever reason Harvey is considered unready by fitness and/or footy metrics, then it only makes list management sense to select the key forward who has one last hurrah to prove his worth, either at Alberton or on the trade table.

If we wait until a key forward dominates the sanfl before we bring him into the afl we will never have a key forward , and forever be fielding a 40 odd man list with a handful of tall key position players that we keep on the list season after season waiting for them to show us they are an afl footballer
We have one though already! Harvey! He has been the most dominant out of our tall forwards. So in my eyes he gets the spot a head of butcher

Jay should not be suspended. Nothing about that tackle was a sling action what so ever.
Neade yeah maybe if he turned it on for more than 1 quarter. He has played like our season.

neade sounds like the perfect sub then, get moore onto the park. give him a month to see what he can do