Changes v Collingwood

One of the most disappointing things about our current selection criteria is that Jonas wouldn't have been dropped if he was fit to play which is taking gold passes to a whole new level of favoritism, if they really wanted to make a stand they would've dropped Schulz despite him getting off his suspension.

Seems that the younger developing players in Hoon & good news stories like Krak need to play a higher standard of football than our stars of yesteryear to keep a spot in the side whilst we're more than happy with the mediocre performances Jonas, Lobbe, Schulz & co are putting up on a week to week basis.

Kinda surprised we didn't drop Ah Chee while we're at it...
That's how a few of us see it as well , if we continue to lose , and Ken continues this Gold pass/favourites routine he's gonna make a rod for his back of Chokoesq proportions , really hope it doesn't develop that way , because not only can a coach lose the players he can lose the supporters too , if that happens its only a matter of time

My reaction at the time was pretty bad, so i'll go through it player by player now that i've had a bit of time to think.

Outs:
Moore - lolle, why did we bother bringing him in if we weren't going to give him a run? Is he too tall? Too heavy? I don't get it.
Carlile - Hope it's just precautionary, but at this point, make sure he's right for 2016.
Hoon - Okay. I don't really agree but he didn't demand his position, he just played okay. Plenty I would have dropped ahead of him.
Yonus - Good, but weeks and weeks too late. Sort the issue out Tom.
Krak - Identify skills as a problem drop our only player who has regularly hit a target.

For all the talk of hard-hitting changes, this is about as pissweak as it gets. Absolutely gutless. Jonas was bashing down the door of omission for weeks, and the other 3 are soft target fringe players.

Make 5 changes, fine, but don't talk about "things have to change" and then serve up that absolute horseshit.

Ins:
O'Shea - But yeah nah we can't pick Butcher because we only reward players with sustained form.
Clurey - Weeks too late, but good. Like for like swap.
Trengove - Obviously straight back in. Can he ****ing ruck please?
Neade - Fine
Amon - Good

I'm going to keep harping on about it. Not picking Harvey or Butcher is a massive wasted opportunity. Every game we don't get into a developing KPF at this point of the season is a failure of the coaching department.

The reason Schulz isn't kicking bags is our slow movement into the forward line then bombing it on his head. He isn't a big guy who takes many big pack marks unless he has a run at it. He is forced to lead to the pocket as the opposition has numbers back and floods the corridor. We have a small forward line that needs fast movement to give our players a one on one.It's one of our big problems, slow movement, opposition takes corridor, we go wide they flood back and fill our forward line. We are not running off half back and busting through the middle as much either.Then when we try to make a risky play our skills let us down and we either turn it over or deliver the ball poorly then the receiving player has to double back and stop so we lose the overlap.Then the confidence in the other players to run on into space isn't there to create an option as they are second guessing the turnover then get caught in no mans land and look exposed. Other teams have worked us out and turn it into a slug fest and take away our space and our fit but smaller bodied players can't play that style.

Five changes sounds like affirmative action but when you look at the changes it is the usual deckchair shuffling apart from Tom Jonas who should have had a spell weeks ago.

Krakouer is the perfect example of the 'pigeon holing' selection policy that I was trying to explain in another thread. It now seems that Krakouer is seen as a defender and if he doesn't fit into our defence he doesn't play. Surely Krakouer has something to offer as a forward option? If Paul Stewart plays it will be interesting to see where he plays, if he goes up forward we will know there is no flexibility in Ken Hinkley's game strategy.

It must be a piece of cake for the opposition to match up on our guys. 24 hours before the game they know exactly who is going to play in what position.

We are shuffling the deck chairs at the moment. The coaches will go through the list and see who will be around next year.
Krak and Hoon have done enough to be on the 2016 list and are making way for O'Shea and Neade who will be auditioning to stay - both are under contract but will likely be traded if they cant perform at AFL level in the next couple of weeks.
Moore = He should be playing tonight -

At first these selections were bewildering and I didn't honestly possess the actual muscles in my face to reflect how baffled I felt.

But now it's more like just this :
malcolm-tucker-angry.gif

On further reflection: All the ins are fair enough but the out of Krakouer is disappointing. Thought Hoon was still deserving of his spot, kind of one of those drops you make to bring back a starting 22 player I guess.

We are shuffling the deck chairs at the moment.

Krak and Hoon have done enough to be on the 2016 list and are making way for O'Shea and Neade who will be auditioning to stay
-

Yes. No sense in dropping Krak otherwise, as he would be top 6 in the B&F right now :confused:

Gold passes for Jay, Hammer, Lobbes, Broadie, Gus continue, despite continued poor form. Have utmost respect for most of those I named, and they certainly had plenty of runs "in the bank" so to speak. But fair is fair - the credit has dried up a few weeks ago, and you need to play based on merit, not name/status/salary/number of media appearances you make each week :rolleyes:

Br brave Ken - heads with serious names need to roll in order to make a statement............

I really like what neade brings to the table, I just think we work better as a forward unit when he's out there. He's got speed which the team requires, has great tackle pressure inside 50 and he seems to be the link man when on the fast break. Kane Mitchell was often that link runner out on the far wing and the good lord knows that Neadey can deliver a ball to a marking target inside 50 much better than Mitchell's nine iron. Once or twice tonight the ball will be plonked on his head because he is the only marking target in the area, he won't be able to do anything but make a contest and bring the ball to ground. If he can do his best to neutralize those types of situations then I think he's gonna bring more good than bad.

Gold passes for Jay, Hammer, Lobbes, Broadie, Gus continue, despite continued poor form.

Can this one stop? Against Carlton, Hartlett started to find form, then was one of our best against Sydney.

There is no way we should drop a player who is improving each week just because he had early season poor form.

I can see why Krakouer was dropped. His GPS figures would be measured in metres not kilometres. He has a knack of getting in a good spot getting possession then distributing the ball. I had another team supporter say to me he looks slow and I had to tell them he had one of the quickest draft camp sprint times ever. But whoever sees him run? I'm not surprised people don't think he's quick. If he worked hard like Amon or showed some exhilarating dash like Stephen or Brad Hill then he would be an automatic selection. Support running? Can't recall it. Maybe PortWTF can do a youtube contradicting my recollection. :D

Stats are a funny thing too. Last week against Sydney Jonas had a DE of 75% and 5 clangers. Krakouer had a DE of 77.8% with 3 clangers. Everyone's calling for Jonas's head who is now a muppet with the ball, Krakouer is a shock omission whose skills are undeniable. Jonas had to go and Krakouer just hasn't done enough to hold his spot.

Colquhoun the same as Krak did not demand to be picked. Still built like a 12yo, shame on the Port physical conditioning department. And as I warned in the unpopular Port opinion thread still cannot be trusted when he puts ball to boot. His DE was worse than Krakouer and Jonas and he collects a stack of possessions in the open thanks to his hard running and reading of the play. Then he burns them.

Of the more senior players under pressure, Monfries has dried up as an attacking option but they must be happy with his defensive efforts. Sad to see him wasted like that. Lobbe is hanging on via reputation right now. Harvey could have come in for him and backed up Ryder in ruck. Schulz I feel for as he spends most of the game at half back helping out a beleaguered defence after we turn over another s...l...o...w transition. Still think a rest to bring in Harvey wouldn't have been out of the question. If we lose tonight it might happen. Broady, well tbh I would have given him another chance too. I like Broady. And I think there were two options for bringing Harvey in. ;)

Funny with Lobbe, he came into his own a few years ago when Redden fell over and he was the only ruck option. Now Ryder is here as a genuine ruck option his form has fallen away again. We should get that hypnotherapist back in to convince him he's the only ruckman on the list. He clearly thrives on the responsibility.

I know Colquhoun got rave reviews on this board for his game against Sydney but I just didn't see it. Constant turnovers, short stepping it to contests, struggles to kick 40 metres. It was Lonie-esque.

Absolutely agree with this Finny

Immediately after the game he was the no.1 player bearing the brunt of my frustrations

Krak however.....

I'm going to keep harping on about it. Not picking Harvey or Butcher is a massive wasted opportunity. Every game we don't get into a developing KPF at this point of the season is a failure of the coaching department.

Reckon it's over for Butcher. I want to see Harvey debut but I guess we'll have to wait until we're an absolute mathematical certainty to miss finals.

I am hoping these selections sure up our defence.

Carlile out hurts against Cloke, but Hombsch can cover him. Jonas has been a massive liability for us. The Krak is a great attacking weapon, but his defensive work is very poor right now. We have brought in 3 solid defenders, Hopefully we stop getting 100+ points getting kicked against us.

As poor/average as Moore has been in 1 & qt games, dropping him now seems hypocritical and counter-productive. Give him 5 or 6 games in a row playing as a half fwd/mid or don't play him in the first place.

The selective routine targeting of our fringe players each selection night has been laughable, resembling a 'Days of our Lives' script.