Changes V Crows

• Thread starter Thread starter Skade

Out: Rocca, Pendlebury
In: Wood, Wellingham.

Sidebottom should go out if there was a good enough mid ready to step in but there isn’t. Sidebottom will be a player though so another final will help his game next year. If Nathan Brown is fit I’d bring him in for Leigh Brown but I doubt that will happen.

OUT: Rocca (inj), Pendles (inj), McCarthy
IN: Wood, Wellingham, Cook/Dick

I don't think you guys need to go too crazy with changes. You weren;t that terrible. Even though alot of players were way down on form, I actually thought you were still in with a chance mid way through the last qtr. There just wasn;t any spark.

Adelaide are a very good team and are very attacking of late, so I think this may work in your favour if you can capitalise on the rebound.

It will be a cracking game and I'm hoping the Pies can put a stop to the Adelaide juggernaut.

Brad Dick instant recall. We lacked a serious crumbing forward yesterday and it showed at the amount of times the Saints swept the ball away once it hit the deck.

Chris Dawes should replace Pebbles (if injured). Dawesy has a very good record against the Crows popping up with some nice marks and important goals at crucial stages in the battles we've had with them over the last couple of times.

Cam Wood should also be in the mix. Played well against the Crows last time too and we definitely needto provide Josh with some relief in the ruck. Wood is also capable of taking some big marks and kicking goals.

Wellingham should be back in too. We all love J-Mac but I said a few weeks ago that he should not play senior footy this year because he would be underdone. The last two weeks have shown. He should have just been given the year in the VFL to build fitness and confidence. Wellingham has been a terrific contributor all season and has earnt a place among our best 22.

Ben Reid/Nathan Brown definitely have to come into calculatons. If Nathan is fit, he should replace Leroy Brown who clearly is uncomfortable and cannot play as FB/CHB. If Nathan doesn't come up, Reid needs to be considered strongly. He has the versatility to play on the power forwards and the Riewoldt types IMO. A kid at Hawthorn has done well this year by the name of Schoenmakers who has played on the oppositions FF/CHF. Reid is ready and his form is good enough.

Goldsack should be considered too. Provides us with great flexibility as a key defender, small/medium defender or even to have a run on the ball at different stages. He wins his one-on-one battles and backs himself. I think he is in our best 22 and could play Leigh Brown's position IMO. He is fearless and will throw his body into the contest.

The best thing is, that while our captain has an undeserved sniper reputation on here, your captain is possibly the worst in the AFL, after his second cheap eye gouge.

Here I was thinking Matthew Lloyd couldn't be outdone. Juddy has proven me wrong it seems.

Out: Rocca (Injured)
Pendles (Injured)
Medhurst - No intensity & out of form
Johnson - gives us nothing, the only reason to keep him in the side is as a stopper, but gave no indication he could do this on Saturday

Ins: Wood - should never have been dropped, we were flogged in the ruck and Adelaide took full advantage of Bombers ruck deficiencies. Will also give Fraser a chance to go forward.

Dick - replace Medhurst, will give us some pace and bite in the forward line

Clarke - can do a run with job better than Johno as well as improve our disposal skills.

???? - A midfielder to replace Pendles, unfortunately there is no adequate replacement here, but would probably have to be Wellingham.

People wanting McCarthy dropped have rocks in their heads. While he wasn't great he was the hardest Pies player at the ball in the last half. At least he is showing some desire.

The best thing is, that while our captain has an undeserved sniper reputation on here, your captain is possibly the worst in the AFL, after his second cheap eye gouge.

Here I was thinking Matthew Lloyd couldn't be outdone. Juddy has proven me wrong it seems.

You subscribe to the Western adage of "Shoot first and ask questions later"?
Let someone that little bit wiser than you decide on what really happened.
That would make for a more current way of doing things, I think

The Rocca experiment was worthwhile and i thought it worked in some respects but its a blessing in disguise that he has hurt his ankle because it makes it very easy to drop him.

In: Wood, Dick, Wellingham
Out: Rocca, Pendlebury, McCarthy

I don't like having sidebottom and beams in the team because it makes our midfield inexperienced...but Steele was very good yesterday.

Can't believe you guys.

Collingwood supporters had more posts on the Brisbane board on Saturday night than Brisbane supporters did.
No love for Carlton at all?

That being the case we've had only one final loss to endure.
You guys will have two.

Yes, but posting on here shows you enjoy the same fetish.

There is an element of truth in what you say in that if you can't find success youself, you may descend into enjoying a bit of 'schadenfreude'.

It seems to be a delight enjoyed by both Collingwood and Carlton supporters for as long as I can remember.

But smiddy, Judd was only trying to immobilise the opposition. :p

Which was stupider - the action or the explanation?

OUT: Rocca, Pendlebury
IN: Wood, Wellingham.

2009 is far from over. We will show this weekend why we should still be considered as a strong chance this year. Adelaide have beaten a lack-lustre Carltank and an incredibly depleted Essendon and all of a sudden they are premiership threats? Pfft Please.

Adelaide are coming to Melbourne this week to take us on. We have a point to prove. We do not lose 3 in a row. We will smash the crows this week and Geelong would be wise not to take us lightly. I can't wait to have another crack at St. Kilda or the Bulldogs come Grand Final day.

Wood comes in. Fraser out injured/rested/omitted
Dawes in for Rocca. Need more than just JA as a marking option up forward. Travis seems content playing further upfield. Daes to pinch hit in the ruck when Wood needs a rest.
Goldsack in for L Brown (Don't mind Leroy against the the cats or saints but not against the dogs or crows)
Wellingham in for Pendlebury
Dick in for ??? Tough one. Is Davis fit? Why isn't he playing midfield 80% of the time. If he is restricted to a forward only role then Dick misses. Otherwise maybe McCarthy for Dick.

Anyone got the side that played against the Crows last outing? I'd reckon similar to above apart from L Brown and Pendlebury

In:
Blair(best VFL midfielder by a mile)
Wood(played best game in career against Crows recently)
Goldsack (shouldn't have been dropped & can play on Porplyzia or Burton)

Out:
Pendlebury (injury)
Rocca (injury)
Brown (Goldsack is better option against Crows forward line)

The Rocca experiment was worthwhile and i thought it worked in some respects but its a blessing in disguise that he has hurt his ankle because it makes it very easy to drop him.

In: Wood, Dick, Wellingham
Out: Rocca, Pendlebury, McCarthy

I don't like having sidebottom and beams in the team because it makes our midfield inexperienced...but Steele was very good yesterday.

I agree, but I would have Barham ahead of Wellingham.

OUT: Rocca...WTF would youbring him back in????, lack of commitment.....

IN: Commitment and full on pressure on all parts of the ground......

Please do me a favour.....do the Magpie thing as you have done in the past....just win this game.

Go the Magpies.........Good Ol Collingwood...........

I don't think Mick will pick Stanley but I watched him on the weekend and he had a really good game.[/quote]

yeah he has something against stanley. he's always picked in the afl team when we have heaps of injuries therefore he looks shocking. would like to see him in when we have no injuries.

Ok, if we select off form, these are the changes this week

Out: Rocca (inj), Pendles (inj), Lockyer (useless last 2 weeks), McCarthy, Beams (last 2 weeks have been poor)

In: Blair (elevated), Reid, Wood, Stanley, Dick

I know those changes won't all happen, but the 5 names I have included as ins were the best 5 players on the ground in the VFL last week apart from McCaffer (still recovering from a knee problem) and Cook (legal problems this week it seems).

-------------------------------------------------------------------

Now, what I think Mick Malthouse will do;

Out; Beams, Pendles, Rocca

In: Dick, Wood, Goldsack

Dick and Wood are stone cold certainties to play, MM told Gavin Brown at 3/4 time last week they would only play the first 10 minutes of the last quarter, and then we didnt see them again.

Now, what I think Mick Malthouse will do;

Out; Beams, Pendles, Rocca

In: Dick, Wood, Goldsack

Dick and Wood are stone cold certainties to play, MM told Gavin Brown at 3/4 time last week they would only play the first 10 minutes of the last quarter, and then we didnt see them again.

You've omitted two midfielders there and not replaced either of them.

OUTS: Mids X 2, Key Position Forward

INS: Small Forward, Ruckman, Tall HBF

Thats not very balanced.

I think/hope we will see something like this -

OUTS: Rocca (inj) Pendles (inj) Johnson

INS: Wood, Wellingham, Clarke

I'd also consider bringing in Dick for McCarthy.

I agree, but I would have Barham ahead of Wellingham.

CT we can't have another player come in that turns the ball over. We already have Johnson, Toovey and O'Bree.

Wellingham adds the polish in the midfield that we are lacking at present with Davis injured and playing predominately forward.

I've been doing my best to tip Adelaide games right down the line this season, as little bias as possible. Managed a pretty good record over the journey so far, tipped the Saints over us by 54 and they won by 57, tipped Geelong by a couple of kicks at Skilled Stadium and they got up by a couple of points, and tipped Collingwood by 14 at AAMI a month ago; they got up by 21.

Crows by 35 this time. Too many targets up forward, too much run through the midfield; if Bock comes back the defense will be at full strength. It's easy to look at who they've beaten and underestimate them, but believe me, they're playing above and beyond how their were even a month or so ago. The pies would need something pretty special to get up imo.

we need mids that are going to have a fair dinkum crack.

Rocca and Pendles def out but I would also leave out macca and beams as well as I suspect he is tired. Would prob also leave out l.brown just because of matchups and bc I want wood in.

Obree bloody lucky he stays bc will need his experience and he deserves chance at redemption post his 12 touch and 8 error game.

Wood comes back bc crows suit him, Clarke and sellers fresh legs on 6 day turnaround. Goldsack bc of matchups but also hardness. I would then take either Dawes or dick depending on whether they want to take tall or small in. I am leaning small only because of 6 day turnaround and let's Davis play more mid.

Stanners and cook v unlucky.

In: wood, Clarke, goldsack, wellingham & Dawes or dick

Out: rocca, pendles, beams, l.brown & macca

I've been doing my best to tip Adelaide games right down the line this season, as little bias as possible. Tipped the Saints over us by 54 and they won by 57, tipped Geelong by a couple of kicks at Skilled Stadium and they got up by a couple of points, and tipped Collingwood by 14 at AAMI a month ago; they got up by 21.

Crows by 35 this time.

So does that mean you have got 3 out of 23 almost right so far?