Preview / changes v North Melbourne

Morris to Thomas is the obvious one.

I'd assume Rance to Petire and Moore to Hansen or Tarrant. I think Hansen, as he seems to roam around a bit more, which should suit Moore.

As for the third tall (say Tarrant), I can only imagine McGuane. Naming Miller and McGuane in the same line up is a strange move (forced by injuries I guess), but one can only assume Miller will be the backup ruckman, playing forward. In which case, I don't see room for McGuane up there, forcing him to go back.

The only other option is for us to ask Dea to play tall, which I can't see working.

I'm liking our chances in the air with those match ups.

at the end of the day liking your chances in the air is a fair call, but the ball has to be in the air down at your end, more than it is at the other end.
This is where the game will be won or lost, i.e. out of the middle. For all our shitness in terms of results and last weeks **** up, at the end of the day the one constant throughout our up and down year has been we get it into F50 a hell of alot more times than the opposition. You might be the whipping boys that are on the end of an accurate tiger outfit. Because if they are, game over by half time..

I'm starting to think we should rest everyone this weekend according to the North board, anyone would think we are playing an in form Hawthorn or Collingwood the way they are carrying on. They have won one more game than us with a piss easy fixtureo_O

I liked this post:

What end is the "North" end? We should have a lot of supporters there this week. The entire Ponsford end would look great in Blue and White. Not to mention the MCC/AFL members reserve would provide a wonderful barrier between us and the ferals.

Lol @ lot of supporters more like 3 men and a dog

Oh and this one:

You may as well rest Maric this week. He won't have the guile to combat Goldy. Big Ivan will get his pants pulled down, save him the embarrassment imo. Not expecting big things from Martin either, kid just doesn't seemed to be as focused on his footy this year and it's nigh on impossible to just flick the switch and hit form straight up.

Richmond better hope they can at least break even in the middle because any advantage we get will be translated into a big winning margin. The 9 day break will do wonders for our spread and ability to run out the game. North by 71 pts. Don't laugh, I get it right every week.

redface.gif
redface.gif
redface.gif

at the end of the day liking your chances in the air is a fair call, but the ball has to be in the air down at your end, more than it is at the other end.
This is where the game will be won or lost, i.e. out of the middle. For all our shitness in terms of results and last weeks **** up, at the end of the day the one constant throughout our up and down year has been we get it into F50 a hell of alot more times than the opposition. You might be the whipping boys that are on the end of an accurate tiger outfit. Because if they are, game over by half time..

Allow me to put on my pro North hat and play DA.

I think your blokes are a good chance of taking the honors in the midfield, but the Richmond mids won't exactly be getting the ball on a platter as Goldstein gave Maric a frightful hiding when they last played on each other in an AFL match.

We will most likely double up on Reiwoldt and be paying very close attention to Nahas this time. Grima is in red hot form and kept Reiwoldt quiet in round 24, 2011 and we will have Atley to go with Nahas this time. I think we can keep the pair of them to 5-6 goals.

Where will Richmonds other goals come from? The tiges will no doubt attempt to get Miller out free as an option/decoy, but Goldstein has been pushing back in defence in 2012 and will look to cover him.

I think you are in a similiar position to Carlton whereby you also have to retain a lot more ball to inhibit Norths forward aerial power and to manufacture goals.

I liked this post:

Lol @ lot of supporters more like 3 men and a dog

Nah, they have more than that...if we push them all together,they might even fill up a bay. Maybe.

I think your blokes are a good chance of taking the honors in the midfield, but the Richmond mids won't exactly be getting the ball on a platter as Goldstein gave Maric a frightful hiding when they last played on each other in an AFL match.

We will most likely double up on Reiwoldt and be paying very close attention to Nahas this time. Grima is in red hot form and kept Reiwoldt quiet in round 24, 2011 and we will have Atley to go with Nahas this time. I think we can keep the pair of them to 5-6 goals.

Where will Richmonds other goals come from? The tiges will no doubt attempt to get Miller out free as an option/decoy, but Goldstein has been pushing back in defence in 2012 and will look to cover him.

I think you are in a similiar position to Carlton whereby you also have to retain a lot more ball to inhibit Norths forward aerial power and to manufacture goals.
No doubt we need goals from Deledio, Cotchin, Martin, Edwards, etc.

Has been the case all year.

Luckily they all know how to kick goals - well, Edwards, in a Lindsay Thomas kind of way ;)

No doubt we need goals from Deledio, Cotchin, Martin, Edwards, etc.

Has been the case all year.

Luckily they all know how to kick goals - well, Edwards, in a Lindsay Thomas kind of way ;)

No doubt they will be looking to hand off wide to Grigg and Houli in order to get forward and crreate scoring options.

It might sound a bit ridiculous, but I reckon Tony Shaw made a good point on Fox last night we he stated that sitting on Grigg and Houli stifles a lot of Richmonds forward momentum. These two probably don't get enough attention due to the guns in your midfield. Tactically, they are very important to Richmond.

No doubt they will be looking to hand off wide to Grigg and Houli in order to get forward and crreate scoring options.

It might sound a bit ridiculous, but I reckon Tony Shaw made a good point on Fox last night we he stated that sitting on Grigg and Houli stifles a lot of Richmonds forward momentum. These two probably don't get enough attention due to the guns in your midfield. Tactically, they are very important to Richmond.

Tony Shaw?
redface.gif
redface.gif
redface.gif

You can only stop so many...Sure, that would interupt our structure, but do you really think letting Cotch/Dusty/Lids off the leash is a good idea?

Dont think you can really use any of Maric's previous match-ups as a good example. His improvement has come from nowhere. Graham had nil all draws with Goldstein last year but I wouldn't be going around using that as a case.

I reckon that this is going to be a cracker of a game.

We are looking to consolidate contention. You are looking for redemption.

Reckon both sides will give it their all and because of that I reckon it'll only be a couple of kicks that decides it.

You can only stop so many...Sure, that would interupt our structure, but do you really think letting Cotch/Dusty/Lids off the leash is a good idea?

Wright will go with Martin when he goes forward.
We will rotate on Cotchin.

Deledio is tricky. Wells or Harvey might even go with him.

I don't think we will see too much fancy clearance work from North in this match. It will be win the ball and smash it forward to get it away from those three.

ummm...i am thinking, thinking, thinking....a certain No 4 might be the answer to your question. ;)

In: Daniel Jackson, Jayden Post, Dustin Martin, Ivan Maric
Out: Angus Graham, Jeromey Webberley, Jake Batchelor (Leg), Tom Derickx

INTERCHANGE
Jayden Post
Brandon Ellis
Brett O'Hanlon
Addam Maric

EMERGENCIES
Angus Graham
Jeromey Webberley
Brad Miller

INTERCHANGE
Jayden Post
Brandon Ellis
Brett O'Hanlon
Addam Maric

EMERGENCIES
Angus Graham
Jeromey Webberley
Brad Miller

pretty reasonable in my book. We have a couple of tall options that can play forward or back, in Mcguane and Post. I am warming to our chances as we get closer to Sunday.

ummm...i am thinking, thinking, thinking....a certain No 4 might be the answer to your question. ;)

He would want to hit the ground running.

North have scored 121, 136 and 149 points against mid ladder or better sides in 3 of our last 4 matches since we rejigged the forward line with the three talls. The other being the game in slippery conditions in Tassie.

Richmond have only barely cracked 100 points once in their last 5 matches.

INTERCHANGE
Jayden Post
Brandon Ellis
Brett O'Hanlon
Addam Maric

EMERGENCIES
Angus Graham
Jeromey Webberley
Brad Miller

No Miller? Hmmmm.

Glad Miller isn't playing.

Go Jayden! Hopefully he plays in the forward line.

North have scored 121, 136 and 149 points against mid ladder or better sides in 3 of our last 4 matches since we rejigged the forward line with the three talls. The other being the game in slippery conditions in Tassie.
All at Etihad. No roof to be your savior on Sunday.

And your defense has conceded 89, 103 and 96 in those games. Don't expect a shootout this weekend.

He would want to hit the ground running.

Richmond have only barely cracked 100 points once in their last 5 matches.

No Miller? Hmmmm.
This game is at the MCG. Not the bastketball court that is Etihad.