Analysis Changes vs. Lions

• Thread starter Thread starter QL 21

Out: Priddis (soreness, possibly in the arse from the kicking he should be receiving), Shuey (knee or something), LeCras, Schofield

In: PARTINGTON, Mitchell, Karpany, Lamb

B: Hurn, Barrass, Cole
HB: Duggan, McGovern, Sheppard
C: Gaff, Mitchell, Jetta
HF: Hutchings, Darling, Karpany
F: Cripps, Kennedy, Petrie
R: Vardy, Sheed, Yeo
I: Nelson, Redden, Partington, Lamb
E: Schofield, Masten, Hill (held over)

Priddis for Mitchell is a no-brainer.

Shuey looks to be struggling as others have suggested. Give him a rest and get Partington in pronto. Otherwise Hutchings comes out for Parto.

LeCras a bit of a scapegoat, had been ok the past fortnight but went missing again. Karpany didn't do much on the weekend but probably should have come straight back in on his AFL form.

Schofield a bit unlucky too but we've got one defender too many and we're a bit tall for my liking. Give Lamb a shot.

Vardy only survives because he's the closest thing we've got to a fit number 1 ruck that isn't Giles. He's been rubbish since the bye apart from one quarter against the Bulldogs. He might be cooked for the year.

Out: Priddis (soreness, possibly in the arse from the kicking he should be receiving), Shuey (knee or something), LeCras, Schofield

In: PARTINGTON, Mitchell, Karpany, Lamb

B: Hurn, Barrass, Cole
HB: Duggan, McGovern, Sheppard
C: Gaff, Mitchell, Jetta
HF: Hutchings, Darling, Karpany
F: Cripps, Kennedy, Petrie
R: Vardy, Sheed, Yeo
I: Nelson, Redden, Partington, Lamb
E: Schofield, Masten, Hill (held over)

Priddis for Mitchell is a no-brainer.

Vardy is not a number 1 ruck. 16 ho 1 mark and 4 possessions is not good enough. Giles would be better because he is a number 1 ruck and did well on the week end.

Shuey looks to be struggling as others have suggested. Give him a rest and get Partington in pronto. Otherwise Hutchings comes out for Parto.

LeCras a bit of a scapegoat, had been ok the past fortnight but went missing again. Karpany didn't do much on the weekend but probably should have come straight back in on his AFL form.

Schofield a bit unlucky too but we've got one defender too many and we're a bit tall for my liking. Give Lamb a shot.

Vardy only survives because he's the closest thing we've got to a fit number 1 ruck that isn't Giles. He's been rubbish since the bye apart from one quarter against the Bulldogs. He might be cooked for the year.

Well hopefully guys like Parto Lamb Watson Venables (if fitness/form aĺlows) get some games to round out the year. Hope is also Priddis and LeCras are put out to pasture.
I would perhaps keep Le Cras on the list, but only as insurance. He needs to be told that there's no guarantee he'll be playing at AFL level, only if his form warrants it. I somehow think Le Cras won't accept this anyway so will probably retire in any event.

He had plenty of good plays as well, put it this way I'd rather have Cole on the park making 5 mistakes a game and learning from them than Wellingham out there making the same 5 mistakes he's always made.
Was at the game yesterday , all 3 were trying thier rings off... I watched Nelson continualy run to space and present himself , to be ignored...I watched Cole try and take the game on and I watched Duggo display hunger and effort....They made errors , but , with time all 3 will be better.... what was soul destroying was watching Treloar, Adams and Grundy run it out of every contest ....Zero pressure in there when it counted ...Hutchings did ok on sidebottom , Gaff taken right out of it by Greenwood... no answers in the guts

Mate, you are the potato. Darling could be a superstar, gets in great position to take contested marks every game but spills probably half through weak hands. Also every overhead mark he takes he has his elbows bent which allows an easy spoil. Have you never noticed this? Basic stuff you are taught in under 10s footy.I stand by my comments, weak as f-ing piss a senior player dropping a straight forward mark when we needed him to stand up.
Well then it's up to the coaches to correct this? The whole team including the coaches just seem to have lost their way.

After the siren: Meltdown torches Eagles' credibility - http://m.afl.com.au/news/2017-07-23/after-the-siren-eagle-meltdown-torches-finals-credibility
"Selection this week was telling. Sam Mitchell was 'managed' despite the importance of the game, while Matt Priddis played. Priddis had 16 touches and 11 tackles on Sunday, but by half-time, he had more tackles than possessions. Given that Priddis has a playing deal for 2018 and Mitchell does not, it would seem likely that Mitchell's move into full-time coaching will start next year. It is becoming increasingly difficult for the Eagles to play them both.

But do you reckon if the Eagles had their time again, they might squeeze another year out of Mitchell and instead bring down the curtain on Priddis's magnificent career? And what of Mark LeCras, Will Schofield, Lewis Jetta and others who are consistently inconsistent?"

Could not have put it better myself. We bet on Priddis and now we have a better player in the coaches box. He has had a magnificent career but surely it's time. If Priddis battles to keep up now how the hell will he keep up next year?
I really think Priddis will have to make the call as it's obvious neither coach or MC can! Matty has been a really good servant of the Club but if he doesn't pull the pin he won't be remembered for his past achievements which will be a shame.

The year is cooked, completely passsed well done

Start getting games and experience into some young kids so at least we have something to look forward to.

Doing the same thing over and over and expecting a different result is the definition of insanity
You've hit the nail on the head here;)

I think at least one of Cole or Nelson (Hell maybe both) need to have a big preseason to increase their tank to make it plausible to play in the midfield. I think both have that bit of grunt and speed that would be beneficial to us around the ball.

Also the fact we seem to have collected HB flankers (Nelson, Cole, Shepphard, Yeo, Duggan) makes it essential that one or more of these guys can stand up in other positions if needed.

Personally would love Cole to develop into a lockdown small back and Nelson develop into a midfielder.

FOR THE LOVE OF GOD!! DROP PRIDA!! I have always backed up Simmo and the coaching staff but I am gob smacked to what team is selected every week. We cant string 4 quarters together because we have a retirement village and the old-timers cant keep up. We need to drop Prida, Pertie, lecca to start. Parto Mitchel and any other young guys will help us finish off the year. Boys have really let me down this year

Agreed that he isn't dropping underperforming senior players. However, the gameplan cannot be blamed every time we lose a close game. We easily got 90+ tackles when the players brought ferocity and will to tackle in the Geelong game. If the intent isn't there to tackle from the players, he can't do much.

So many times today our players went to tackle and simply couldn't stick it because they didn't go hard and it was a lazy half assed attempt that got shrugged off . The tackling skills are not there to execute that gameplan - admittedly by the slow players mostly.
That's the thing though that Simmo doesn't seem to want to make changes for under-performing players. He keeps playing them hoping for change but it's been going on all year with certain players. Then he drops a young blood who has done nothing wrong. That is a coaching/MC issue.

Not unlucky at at all. Check this out.

Sumich is also an idiot. As a player he had a few good years then lost it mentally and could not kick a goal to save his life. The resulting chip on his should is Pilbera sized.
Always played well in big games though, like Tony Evans. Probably played one season too long. In his hey-day was a damn good full forward and kicked the most goals for our Club 6 years in a row from 1989-1994, and one year kicked 111 goals - so he was no slouch! He obviously knows how to develop young players going by his recent success.

Was at the game yesterday , all 3 were trying thier rings off... I watched Nelson continualy run to space and present himself , to be ignored...I watched Cole try and take the game on and I watched Duggo display hunger and effort....They made errors , but , with time all 3 will be better.... what was soul destroying was watching Treloar, Adams and Grundy run it out of every contest ....Zero pressure in there when it counted ...Hutchings did ok on sidebottom , Gaff taken right out of it by Greenwood... no answers in the guts
Yep the problem isn't with our young half backs, it's the same problem we've had for years and that's the midfield.

my wishful thinking for the remainder of the year. play youth ahead of experience at all costs i dont care who has runs on the board. sack simpson as coach maybe look at suma or ratten as long as it is someone who can make the tough calls. trade priddis lecras and mckensie possibly to a side like gold coast who is looking for experience in exchange for youth or draft picks. delist the likes of buttler wellingham hill etc.
we need change unfortunately simmo is to soft to make it.

I'm usually pretty mellow and love the bloke, but to those getting behind Lecca dare I ask what is the point? He offers around 2 goals a game, 12-odd possessions and can't catch small defenders on the rebound. When he and Karps played against Port, Karps was relegated to the open wing away from his areas of strength in the traffic and around stoppages, whilst Lecca did his usual seagulling.

He needs to be transitioned into depth asap. This season is headed nowhere fast and he doesn't offer much moving forwards.

Mate, you are the potato. Darling could be a superstar, gets in great position to take contested marks every game but spills probably half through weak hands. Also every overhead mark he takes he has his elbows bent which allows an easy spoil. Have you never noticed this? Basic stuff you are taught in under 10s footy.I stand by my comments, weak as f-ing piss a senior player dropping a straight forward mark when we needed him to stand up.
Yeah agreed.. if the game yesterday is a good game from Darling then our standards are very low for him and the rest of his career.

He's had a good few weeks (compared to how he was playing) but it's still nowhere near what he's capable of and that's really frustrating.

I want to see simmo have stern words to the senior players then back them in to turn things around.

Come on Simmo!!

After going back and having a think.

Out: Priddis, LeCras, Shuey (inj), Vardy (rested) Hutchings
In: Parto, Karpany, Mitchell McInnes Lamb

McInnes in isnt a great change but at least he is fit and I think would at least offer more around the ground than Vardy currently... or Giles for that matter. If no McIness then keep Schofield/Barass and play Gov in the ruck with Petrie. Can see us being pantsed again in the ruck no matter what

After going back and having a think.

Out: Priddis, LeCras, Shuey (inj), Vardy (rested) Hutchings
In: Parto, Karpany, Mitchell McInnes Lamb

McInnes in isnt a great change but at least he is fit and I think would at least offer more around the ground than Vardy currently... or Giles for that matter. If no McIness then keep Schofield/Barass and play Gov in the ruck with Petrie. Can see us being pantsed again in the ruck no matter what
I like these changes and this week is a perfect opportunity to see what our reserves have got, but am apprehensive to drop Hutch. He offers us a way to at least check their barometers in Zorko/Beams. If our midfield is so woeful, it makes sense to give it a defensive edge. Hopefully including some younger bodies gives us the run to at least hold the spread more efficiently.

my wishful thinking for the remainder of the year. play youth ahead of experience at all costs i dont care who has runs on the board. sack simpson as coach maybe look at suma or ratten as long as it is someone who can make the tough calls. trade priddis lecras and mckensie possibly to a side like gold coast who is looking for in exchange for youth or draft picks. delist the likes of buttler wellingham hill etc.
we need change unfortunately simmo is to soft to make it.

Let's not get ahead of ourselves, this isn't the EPL. Can't sack a coach who took the team to a Grand Final 2 years ago. It's the MC that needs to be fired.

I like these changes and this week is a perfect opportunity to see what our reserves have got, but am apprehensive to drop Hutch. He offers us a way to at least check their barometers in Zorko/Beams. If our midfield is so woeful, it makes sense to give it a defensive edge. Hopefully including some younger bodies gives us the run to at least hold the spread more efficiently.

Oops I think I changed my mind after posting. I agree I would be apprehensive to drop Hutch and would send him to Zorko if he plays. So add him in the team with either McInnes or Barrass/Schofield making way.