changes vs North Melbourne

• Thread starter Thread starter ioppolo

Obviously but they need this pressure from the 2's to make them realise their positions are at stake. Hopefully winning tough games of footy is a carryover affect of this, waking them up to the fact they need to show some heart.

It's good to see the midfield having multiple options, this is by far our weakest area on field.

Unfortunately we still lack acceleration and strong bodies.
So true.

Would love an explosive type no doubt.

On Sheed, can't see the logic behind picking him.

Another week in the 2's back the week after I think.

In my mind the only game that is a 100% loss for us from here to the end of the season is Adelaide away.

GWS away we are a tiny chance - maybe 15/85. Hawks a bit better cos it's at home - 35/65.

I'd be very happy to get 1 win out of those 3 games.

We will be favourites in just about every other game, with this week and the Pies at the G the hardest games. Unlike a few of the other top 4 contenders, we are beating the teams we should beat, week in, week out. If we get over North, flat track mode those below us, and snag one of our last 3 matches, we should sneak into the top 4 with a 15-7 record given our percentage. Top 2 is dreaming though.

As for changes this week - I have no idea. I know I like our defence a whole lot better without Emac, though.

I can't see McGinnity being dropped either. Comes down to Hill or Jetta I reckon. I'd be happy for Hill to play.

Hill in for LeCras. Like for like, though Hill provides much more pressure and versatility these days.

Having a crack at Thursday's team:

B: Barrass, Schofield, Sheppard
HB: Hurn, McGovern, Butler
C: Gaff, Priddis, Masten
HF: Cripps, Darling, Hutchings
F: LeCras, Kennedy, Brown
R: Lycett, Shuey, Yeo
I (from): Wellingham, Hill, McGinnity, Redden, Jetta, Nelson, Ellis

Last three to miss out. Jetta and Nelson to play for EP, Ellis to be held over.

Well, Ginners won't be dropped, he made team of the week, lol. A first for him, no doubt, and richly deserved.
I hope we are currently negotiating a 3 year 1+million dollar contract as we speak . Special talent .
In my mind the only game that is a 100% loss for us from here to the end of the season is Adelaide away.

GWS away we are a tiny chance - maybe 15/85. Hawks a bit better cos it's at home - 35/65.

We will be favourites in just about every other game, with this week and the Pies at the G the hardest games. Unlike a few of the other top 4 contenders, we are beating the teams we should beat, week in, week out. If we get over North, flat track mode those below us, and snag one of our last 3 matches, we should sneak into the top 4 with a 15-7 record given our percentage. Top 2 is dreaming though.

As for changes this week - I have no idea. I know I like our defence a whole lot better without Emac, though.
Barrass is the way forward.

Wonder if Paddy will get an invite to the Brownlow count

Really hard to predict the change(s), if any, for this week.

Hill a must in, think we need to keep Jetta in the team for his confidence, he could be massive come finals time. For me LeCras goes out, he didn't have a bad game but he was selfish on a few occasions that I saw.

Redden and Duggan pushing for a recall but nobody really deserves to be dropped after the Dons game so let them have another game for EP.

Selection problems of this kind are awesome :)

Adamson is fast and big and strong, but we wont give him a go unfortunately.
Genuine questions for you and other WAFL watchers Keyser Soze, Barney44 -

Is he (Adamson) :

Explosive off the mark fast?

Does he regularly break out of WAFL standard tackles to distribute with pace?

Who would he replace in the guts as of right now? Not HFF - the guts.

Reckon we may see him later on if we drop this game. If we show form reversal (lol i know right?) MC will stay with the current group and push towards top 4.

Lots riding on this game, exciting times.

I think the time is now to drop Lecra....I mean at his best he can be elite but at the moment he is just cruising. Hill needs to come in , Cripps played a more complete game & Mcginnity cannot be dropped after last weeks effort. If he goes back spends a few weeks and dominates it will be more beneficial in the long run. With Hill back in he can just take over Lecras role with Mcginnity and Cripps the small forwards.

In: Hill, Redden
Out: Lecra, Nelson

If It rains:

Out: Brown
In: Nelson

I think Nelson was good on the weekend but i think we need will need Redden for this. Let Hutchings do the tagging it needed. If it rains though i want us to go in with one less tall in Brown.

He is fringe but he had 4.1 and 3 goal assists in a fantastic performance. Can't see him being dropped.

Fantastic performance but ??? v the bottom team at home and Simmo may keep now to get the other players to lift their consistency.A good tactic building into the 2 nd half of the season to create competition for spots which hopefully can bring the best games out of the team .

I think the time is now to drop Lecra....I mean at his best he can be elite but at the moment he is just cruising. Hill needs to come in , Cripps played a more complete game & Mcginnity cannot be dropped after last weeks effort. If he goes back spends a few weeks and dominates it will be more beneficial in the long run. With Hill back in he can just take over Lecras role with Mcginnity and Cripps the small forwards.

If It rains:

I think Nelson was good on the weekend but i think we need will need Redden for this. Let Hutchings do the tagging it needed. If it rains though i want us to go in with one less tall in Brown.
If it rains you want Nelson dropped twice?

Stuff Redden, from all accounts he wasn't great in the packs on the weekend, would reward Nelson for playing well.

Jacko's minutes in the midfield were better than anything Redden has shown this year. He may not be the saviour but if it's between him and Redden, and one played a good game in the seniors and the other in the WAFL, I'm keeping the first.

Having a crack at Thursday's team:

B: Barrass, Schofield, Sheppard
HB: Hurn, McGovern, Butler
C: Gaff, Priddis, Masten
HF: Cripps, Darling, Hutchings
F: LeCras, Kennedy, Brown
R: Lycett, Shuey, Yeo
I (from): Wellingham, Hill, McGinnity, Redden, Jetta, Nelson, Ellis

Last three to miss out. Jetta and Nelson to play for EP, Ellis to be held over.

Spot on Fivey! Shame for Jetts to miss as he's one game away from hitting some form. Unfortunately we have been saying this all year.

Will Simmo sacrifice that high half forward role to have another man in the midfield? He's done this against sydney the hawks and in the last quater against the crows. Let's hope not.

If It rains:

Lecras will never be dropped unfortunately.

Can't see us getting into the top 4 without 16 wins this year. The top 8 is just too even and is miles ahead of the bottom 8. For what it's worth... the Squiggle has us finishing on 14 wins... which would see us in 8th place. The top 5 teams are all predicted to finish on 16 wins. So we can only really afford to drop 1 more.

Who would he replace in the guts as of right now? Not HFF - the guts.
No one, he isn't ready.

Might have been happy for him to have a go as a pressure forward if they weren't going to play McGinnity but luckily they finally gave him a shot.

I can't remember him being named by the coaches in the best players and I think the fact that they dropped him to the WAFL reserves shows where he stands at the moment.

No one, he isn't ready.

Might have been happy for him to have a go as a pressure forward if they weren't going to play McGinnity but luckily they finally gave him a shot.

I can't remember him being named by the coaches in the best players and I think the fact that they dropped him to the WAFL reserves shows where he stands at the moment.
Cheers mate.

Is he quick off the mark? Explosive almost?

Can't see us getting into the top 4 without 16 wins this year. The top 8 is just too even and is miles ahead of the bottom 8. For what it's worth... the Squiggle has us finishing on 14 wins... which would see us in 8th place. The top 5 teams are all predicted to finish on 16 wins. So we can only really afford to drop 1 more.
On reflection, you are probably right - last year 15 wins was only good enough for 5th.

I can't see us getting to 16 wins.

I think teams like st Kilda have proven that top 8 teams are only miles ahead of bottom 8 times as far as consistency is concerned. Most bottom 8 teams on their day can knock over a top 8 team. Additionally the gap between the bottom half of the 8 and the top half has never been narrower so I don't think teams will need any more wins then last year to make top 4, think percentage is going to play a huge part this year