Prediction Changes vs Swans Round 5

• Thread starter Thread starter DickDunn

Who should replace a suspended Lycett?

Again this priddis debate is going into teams who defend their man at all costs and those who refuse to see any value.

He matches up incredibly well on some teams and is very damaging

He gets lots of possys with other teams without being as damaging

He seems to do sfa against hawthorn.

This is a matter for the wce coaching panel to figure out - hawthorn seem to have him sorted - can they get around this?

As it stands id have him play against all the other teams except the dogs, hawthorn, and the suns

With them id want to look into it more - i think if we sat him on sam mitchell he would do well. At least break even.

But to deny there is a problem at all is just exacerbating a problem that needs to be looked at, figured out and eliminated one way or another.

Priddis got 2 votes against Bulldogs at Subi
Priddis got 2 votes against Hawks at Subi
Priddis got 2 votes against Suns at GC
Priddis got 3 votes against Suns at Subi

But yeah, let's drop him for those teams...

Yeah nah - who do they tag now?

Shueys been copping the tag for years now - not priddis.
shuey actually hasn't been tagged all season and actually priddis was round one and he had like 29 touches in a half before they moved robinson off him.
shuey's biggest weakness is his inability to break a tag (which probably stops him from being a top 10 mid) and the fact that he isnt a huge accumulator of the footy. good sides (without priddis in) will stick a man on him or will try an minimize his influence. He was awesome on friday but 22 touches against most good sides wont win us the game considering his our best inside mid. Till shuey reaches elite status and even few of our other inside mids become more dependable, we will struggle without priddis against good sides.

shuey actually hasn't been tagged all season and actually priddis was round one and he had like 29 touches in a half before they moved robinson off him.
shuey's biggest weakness is his inability to break a tag (which probably stops him from being a top 10 mid) and the fact that he isnt a huge accumulator of the footy. good sides (without priddis in) will stick a man on him or will try an minimize his influence. He was awesome on friday but 22 touches against most good sides wont win us the game considering his our best inside mid. Till shuey reaches elite status and even few of our other inside mids become more dependable, we will struggle without priddis against good sides.

Shuey was massive on Friday, he's not one you look at disposals to gauge, much like Judd in that way.

He was a contested beast with 8 clearances, which you know are quality when they come from him.
Plenty of inside 50s, again quality off his boot.
He just seemed to really step up, along with a few others.

Tagging doesn't happen so much these days, Jacobs from North is probably the only pure tagger, others like Robinson and Viney just do a role, but play a very attacking game.

Did all that from less than 80% TOG.

But but but... you can't trust those umpires and their judgement, they are all Priddis' lovers (except with the free kick count coincidentally)! Forget statistics, they don't tell the full story, no matter how many you show nor how much you explain them. Don't listen to expert analysis from past footballers and journalists, they know nothing. AFL.com articles - rubbish. Opposition teams - they say he is good but if they don't tag him they don't mean it. Our own club through B&F, again, they have no idea. Selection panel who picks him every time available - again no clue.

The only people that can give a fair and realistic assessment on whether a player is deserving of B22 are those with opinions on BF. Everything else is "biased".

yeo will most likley play a negating role on parker. Yeo is still very new to the inside midfield role and so does get lost on occasions. Yeo played a really good game on fyfe and kept fyfe's output down tilll 3qt but even still fyfes impact wasn't as great as his numbers suggested.

Parker won't follow Yeo forward, Mills will probably get him if he goes forward.
Will Yeo follow Parker forward?

We don't have a genuine tagger anymore (since Bird left), we usually go head to head in the midfield.

But but but... you can't trust those umpires and their judgement, they are all Priddis' lovers (except with the free kick count coincidentally)! Forget statistics, they don't tell the full story, no matter how many you show nor how much you explain them. Don't listen to expert analysis from past footballers and journalists, they know nothing. AFL.com articles - rubbish. Opposition teams - they say he is good but if they don't tag him they don't mean it. Our own club through B&F, again, they have no idea. Selection panel who picks him every time available - again no clue.

The only people that can give a fair and realistic assessment on whether a player is deserving of B22 are those with opinions on BF. Everything else is "biased".
Indeed, anyway back to adding those delightful posters to the ignore list, and concentrating on this game.

So tempted to get on a plane for the game, but was hoping to snag a fare under $100 from Melb, but no luck...

Mitchell is most likely to play on Priddis.
Doubt Parker will play on Yeo. Perhaps Cunningham will run with him.
That is interesting. I think Yeo was going to tag Parker the same way he did Fyfe. Will be interesting if Sydney want to tag Yeo.

Great match ups every where regardless cant wait.

Indeed, anyway back to adding those delightful posters to the ignore list, and concentrating on this game.

So tempted to get on a plane for the game, but was hoping to snag a fare under $100 from Melb, but no luck...
Yeah I reckon it's going to be a cracker of a game. Would fly over for it also if I could. Just hope NicNat and our midfield burst out of the blocks with intensity. If they do, we're in for a great game no matter what the result.

That is interesting. I think Yeo was going to tag Parker the same way he did Fyfe. Will be interesting if Sydney want to tag Yeo.

Great match ups every where regardless cant wait.

Not really tagging. Cunningham usually runs with half forwards/mids (if that is Yeo's role).
He might get Jetta.

Would be an interesting match up (Yeo v Parker)... both pretty good in the air.

Errrr i think you might want to re- read my post

yeo will most likley play a negating role on parker. Yeo is still very new to the inside midfield role and so does get lost on occasions. Yeo played a really good game on fyfe and kept fyfe's output down tilll 3qt but even still fyfes impact wasn't as great as his numbers suggested.
I dont even think negative is the word for the role he does. Its closer to make sure he doesn't rip our anus' when they have the ball and when we do make him chase you instead of completely negative

Parker won't follow Yeo forward, Mills will probably get him if he goes forward.
Will Yeo follow Parker forward?

We don't have a genuine tagger anymore (since Bird left), we usually go head to head in the midfield.
we do as well. but its more to do with developing yeo's inside game game than stopping the opposition. after all we let micthell of the chain the last few times we played hawks. Someone like parker will lead yeo to the footy and teach him to get tomthe right places.
Shuey was massive on Friday, he's not one you look at disposals to gauge, much like Judd in that way.

He was a contested beast with 8 clearances, which you know are quality when they come from him.
Plenty of inside 50s, again quality off his boot.
He just seemed to really step up, along with a few others.

Tagging doesn't happen so much these days, Jacobs from North is probably the only pure tagger, others like Robinson and Viney just do a role, but play a very attacking game.

Did all that from less than 80% TOG.
i agree about shuey and how he doesnt need a lot of touches to be good. But against top 4 teams you need your best mid to have more that many touches. Thing with shuey on friday night was that at half time and mid way 3qt he was on his way to 30-34 touch game. so it meant that he dropped of a bit in the second half.

Damage was done in the first half.
I think he was probably rested a bit more 2nd half as he had 77% TOG.

I'd be happy for him to continue having 20 odd touches with the efficiency (95%!!) and damage that he had Friday (2 goals / 4 i50s / 8 Clearances).

He just needs to continue having more kicks than handballs IMO, as Shuey is a bit of space able to use his kicking is lethal.

Do we really need to start tarnishing Unitas with this "tagger.. will play a negating role" bullshit?

Bottom line is, he's occasionally a lemon and needs a class opponent who he can follow through stoppages and lead him to the ball. That's it. It's not like he's pulling a Crowley and is a deadset potato who's not interested in winning his own ball. Just doesn't know how to accumulate it enough yet.

The moment we start shackling him to a shit role like tagging, i'd take that as a massive step backwards in utilizing a player with his talents.

Damage was done in the first half.
I think he was probably rested a bit more 2nd half as he had 77% TOG.

I'd be happy for him to continue having 20 odd touches with the efficiency (95%!!) and damage that he had Friday (2 goals / 4 i50s / 8 Clearances).

He just needs to continue having more kicks than handballs IMO, as Shuey is a bit of space able to use his kicking is lethal.
Thats good in theory but the fact is that against different teams and different games will have different scenarios. You want shuey this season averaging around 25-26 disposals, 6 clearances, 4.5 inside 50's and 6.5 clearances and 6 tackles. Also go look at the all australian thread on the main board. North scum ripping into shuey and saying ziebell the plodder has x factor.

Do we really need to start tarnishing Unitas with this "tagger.. will play a negating role" bullshit?

Bottom line is, he's occasionally a lemon and needs a class opponent who he can follow through stoppages and lead him to the ball. That's it. It's not like he's pulling a Crowley and is a deadset potato who's not interested in winning his own ball. Just doesn't know how to accumulate it enough yet.

The moment we start shackling him to a shit role like tagging, i'd take that as a massive step backwards in utilizing a player with his talents.

It can help with development.

Look at Viney from Melbourne, he's done a few years tagging - everyone could see how good he was in his own rite, but Roos obviously wanted him to continue to learn.

Now he, and the team, are tearing it up.

It can help with development.

Look at Viney from Melbourne, he's done a few years tagging - everyone could see how good he was in his own rite, but Roos obviously wanted him to continue to learn.

Now he, and the team, are tearing it up.
I believe that helped scooter as well. tagger for like 4 years then was let off the chain and his offensive game improved in leaps and bounds. the only thing that stopped him from being a great player was his footskills and now injury.

Thats good in theory but the fact is that against different teams and different games will have different scenarios. You want shuey this season averaging around 25-26 disposals, 6 clearances, 4.5 inside 50's and 6.5 clearances and 6 tackles. Also go look at the all australian thread on the main board. North scum ripping into shuey and saying ziebell the plodder has x factor.

Ziebell on current form is definitely AA - having read that thread seems a few WC fans (not necessarily you) have only watched 1 team this year.

Ziebells been good but i dont think shuey is that much off him. But labelling ziebell an x factor is a bit too much.

I've had Shuey as BOG in the last two games and in the top 3 in round 2 (albeit everyone bar Darling was poor).
Just quietly Shuey has a lot more x-factor than Ziebell, though that doesn't necessary have any affect on output.