Prediction Changes vs WCE ~ Round 3 2019

I reckon they'll rotate one more on ball, go with one less permanent rotation forward. We've only been going with the 4 mainstays at the centre bounce so far but I think that will change, with Adams in. Varcoe was playing minimal minutes so I think they'll rest Beams, Treloar and Sidebottom forward a bit more. Also interesting to note Phillips change of role from a full time wing to a substantive half forward. Greenwood I'd expect to continue in his tagging role.
Yeah don’t disagree.
I’m not a fan of Phillips forward either - as a guy who needs the field in front of him and not great decision making over 360 degrees. But he does put pressure on the running half backs to spend a lot defensively.
I’d prefer to see Adams as the fwd and Greenwood as the tagger but not convinced that will happen.

I reckon they'll rotate one more on ball, go with one less permanent rotation forward. We've only been going with the 4 mainstays at the centre bounce so far but I think that will change, with Adams in. Varcoe was playing minimal minutes so I think they'll rest Beams, Treloar and Sidebottom forward a bit more. Also interesting to note Phillips change of role from a full time wing to a substantive half forward. Greenwood I'd expect to continue in his tagging role.

I think Phillips is the one who will suffer with Beams back causing chain reaction to push him off the wing, his main strength is running his opponent off their legs and he won't be able to do that as well if he isn't on the wing and isn't really skilful enough to be a great forward. It's bound to happen somewhere though, the main thing is we improve overall.

We desperately need Adams back for that attack on the ground ball but hopefully he is told not to centre anything in his 1st game back. He's going to be rusty and we can't afford easy turnovers, especially against a well drilled Weagles.

He really isn’t.
I’m not sure if Keeffe has the mental strength thats ideal for going deep into september, that seemed to be a main critique of Keeffe. Perhaps one could make an argument for Roughead in that area, but he has a final series of 4 cut throat games behind him so he atleast has that.

And while a handy kick, Keeffe never really tried to bite off much, so its not as if we are losing heaps in that area as Roughead seems to be atleast an adequite kick whilst also being one who unlikely tries to break a game open his disposal

I’m not sure if Keeffe has the mental strength thats ideal for going deep into september, that seemed to be a main critique of Keeffe. Perhaps one could make an argument for Roughead in that area, but he has a final series of 4 cut throat games behind him so he atleast has that.

And while a handy kick, Keeffe never really tried to bite off much, so its not as if we are losing heaps in that area as Roughead seems to be atleast an adequite kick whilst also being one who unlikely tries to break a game open his disposal

Keeffe was good at marking players on the lead, he was more athletic than Roughead. I don't know if he is now.

Just to put into context our depth; here is our “seconds” team. For round 3.

Note: all players not in the firsts are being listed, notwithstanding some are injured (even long term) and one is provisionally suspended.
It’s an excercise indicating the list depth so to speak.
Obviously the captaincy (such that it would be) falls to Dunn as he’s a club leadership holder.

They are named as best as I’m thinking to position, again so we can see the next “soldiers” in line. And by indication where they might be played.

Magpie Seconds

B. F Appelby ~ L Dunn (c) ~ I Quaynor
HB. M Scharenberg ~ W Kelly ~ N Murphy
C. B Crocker ~ D Wells ~ T Brown
HF. W Hoskin-Elliott ~ B Reid ~ T Varcoe
F. J Daicos ~ R Wills ~ T Goldsack
R. M Lynch ~ B Sier ~ C Brown
I. J Madgen ~ T Broomhead ~ S Murray ~ A Bosenavulagi

E. A Toehill, M Keane

Collingwood Forwards 2018 season averages.

Goals.
de Goey 2.29
Mihocek 1.81
Hoskin-Elliott 1.62
Thomas 1.46
Stephenson 1.46
Cox 1.04
Varcoe 0.65

Goal Assists.
de Goey 0.81
Hoskin-Elliott 0.73
Varcoe 0.60
Thomas 0.50

Mihocek 0.50
Stephenson 0.38
Cox 0.21

Score Involvements.
de Goey 6.9
Thomas 5.9
Mihocek 5.6
Hoskin-Elliott 5.4
Stephenson 5.2
Varcoe 4.6
Cox 4.2

Disposals.
Thomas 16.58

de Goey 16.10
Hoskin-Elliott 13.19
Stephenson 12.31
Varcoe 11.85
Mihocek 11.56
Cox 9.88

Metres Gained.
de Goey 297.7
Mihocek 250.1
Thomas 230
Stephenson 228.8
Hoskin-Elliott 212.8
Varcoe 203.4
Cox 174.3

Tackles
Varcoe 3.10
Thomas 3.08

Stephenson 2.88
de Goey 2.29
Mihocek 2.06
Hoskin-Elliott 1.73
Cox 1.58

1%
Cox 3.75
Mihocek 1.75
Hoskin-Elliott 1.58
Varcoe 1.40
Stephenson 1.15
de Goey 1.00
Thomas 0.88

Marks
Hoskin-Elliott 5.19
Cox 4.96
Mihocek 4.94
de Goey 4.38
Stephenson 3.88
Thomas 3.31
Varcoe 2.10

Inside 50's

de Goey 3.43
Thomas 3.15
Mihocek 2.50
Stephenson 2.42
Varcoe 2.40
Hoskin-Elliott 1.96
Cox 1.33

Clearances
de Goey 1.86
Thomas 1.65
Cox 0.63
Hoskin-Elliott 0.38
Varcoe 0.30
Stephenson 0.27
Mihocek 0.19

Note: all players not in the firsts are being listed, notwithstanding some are injured (even long term) and one is provisionally suspended.
Obviously the captaincy (such that it would be) falls to Dunn as he’s a club leadership holder.

They are named as best as I’m thinking to position, again so we can see the next “soldiers” in line. And by indication where they might be played.

Magpie Seconds

E. A Toehill, M Keane

Still better than Carlton.

You used not finishing top 10 in best and fairest to support your claim that he had a poor year and then through out words like passenger. If I misrepresented your opinion, maybe its your writing that is the issue and not my reading.
What? Being a passenger regularly would support him doing poorly in the BnF, what are you even trying to say?

Collingwood Forwards 2018 season averages.

Goals.
de Goey 2.29
Mihocek 1.81
Hoskin-Elliott 1.62
Thomas 1.46
Stephenson 1.46
Cox 1.04
Varcoe 0.65

Goal Assists.
de Goey 0.81
Hoskin-Elliott 0.73
Varcoe 0.60
Thomas 0.50

Mihocek 0.50
Stephenson 0.38
Cox 0.21

Score Involvements.
de Goey 6.9
Thomas 5.9
Mihocek 5.6
Hoskin-Elliott 5.4
Stephenson 5.2
Varcoe 4.6
Cox 4.2

Disposals.
Thomas 16.58

de Goey 16.10
Hoskin-Elliott 13.19
Stephenson 12.31
Varcoe 11.85
Mihocek 11.56
Cox 9.88

Metres Gained.
de Goey 297.7
Mihocek 250.1
Thomas 230
Stephenson 228.8
Hoskin-Elliott 212.8
Varcoe 203.4
Cox 174.3

Tackles
Varcoe 3.10
Thomas 3.08

Stephenson 2.88
de Goey 2.29
Mihocek 2.06
Hoskin-Elliott 1.73
Cox 1.58

1%
Cox 3.75
Mihocek 1.75
Hoskin-Elliott 1.58
Varcoe 1.40
Stephenson 1.15
de Goey 1.00
Thomas 0.88

Marks
Hoskin-Elliott 5.19
Cox 4.96
Mihocek 4.94
de Goey 4.38
Stephenson 3.88
Thomas 3.31
Varcoe 2.10

Inside 50's
de Goey 3.43
Thomas 3.15
Mihocek 2.50
Stephenson 2.42
Varcoe 2.40
Hoskin-Elliott 1.96
Cox 1.33

Clearances
de Goey 1.86
Thomas 1.65
Cox 0.63
Hoskin-Elliott 0.38
Varcoe 0.30
Stephenson 0.27
Mihocek 0.19
Far too much logic and reason, Varcoe tackles roughly so he has been playing well.

He has definitely had some good games and good moments over the past 18 months, far too few and inbetween though. His offensive stats are quite poor, and people say "yea but he does a lot defensively".. well he gets one 1%er and 3 tackles...

He's always been that impact player who pops in and out of games though, he is never going to be consistent. I am not saying he doesn't deserve to get dropped on his output this year but he is a player that can give a team a spark with a moment of brilliance that only shows up as 1 stat or 1%er on paper. He can bring a bit of magic and pumps the team up, if he can find form he will get back in. But someone had to go and his output has been lean and Adams will clearly improve on that so good move, onward and upwards!

Don't understand why Sidebottom doesn't launch into the pill more.. he can catch the opposition off guard cause they're expecting him to pinpoint these 15-40 meter passes.. what goes unnoticed a bit I reckon re is that the bloke has a decent roost.. should be looking at options further up the ground more I reckon re..

F stride out and lay into it re..

Just have a look at his bomb in the 2nd outside 50.. 55 out the bloke hits the fence.

Outstanding player by the way.. just an observation.

really feels like we are close to our best team just missing Wilbur and Dunny

Dunn? Nah.

Right now, we're extraordinarily close to best 22. I'd argue Hoskin-Elliott and Sier are all that's really missing. At least from a "general consensus" point of view.

Personally? I'd say we're HE, Sier and Quaynor away from true best 22. I think Quaynor will make his way in at some stage and stay there once he does. Only issue is, who comes out. I'm kinda hoping Will Kelly is ready sonner rather than later because with Dunn and Scharenberg both injured, that key back depth starts to get tested again should Moore or Roughead go down. Lucky Goldsack is there.

Dunn? Nah.

Right now, we're extraordinarily close to best 22. I'd argue Hoskin-Elliott and Sier are all that's really missing. At least from a "general consensus" point of view.

Personally? I'd say we're HE, Sier and Quaynor away from true best 22. I think Quaynor will make his way in at some stage and stay there once he does. Only issue is, who comes out. I'm kinda hoping Will Kelly is ready sonner rather than later because with Dunn and Scharenberg both injured, that key back depth starts to get tested again should Moore or Roughead go down. Lucky Goldsack is there.
In terms of defenders to go out for Quaynor you’d have to say that the most vulnerable would be Aish at this stage.

Dave I know it is hard for you (especially when you’re baited) but don’t let anyone sway your love of certain players, irrespective of what they say about them.

Just my two cents mate.
It’s blatantly obvious that you cant say a bad word about Ox. We’re all sick of it.

Magpie Seconds

E. A Toehill, M Keane
It’s really not that great.

With the exception of Varcoe the names I see us listing as emergencies each week don’t inspire me with confidence.

Still not sure on the Phillips hate all the time on here, he would be one of the first players picked each week simply because of his two way running. I'd hate to see us not give him game time then him wanting to leave come seasons end he's actually quite a good player for us very underrated I feel.