Changing teams you support

cant trust a man who changes teams every few years, have know a few, worst (cousin) was hawks supporters in the 80's, changed to WCE in mid 90's, then to essendon 2000's, now geelong.

i will always be carlton, bit hard to change now that i have a carlton tatt, do have a big soft spot for saints, wife is mad saint and go to a lot of games with her.

In my opinion if you change teams for any reason other then your team folding your a flog I'm a Richmond supporter toughest gig in footy but never even thought about it,and as for other reason family member gets drafted then you would have a soft spot for that team
Not really. Consider my dad was a richmond fan because he liked watching Maurice Rioli play and was a huge west perth fan. He supported richmond in the VFL but he was a west perth fan

Lots of W.A. (especially anyone over 30) would of has two teams, a VFL team they rooted for then a WAFL team, and were far more passionate about the WAFL

i will always be carlton, bit hard to change now that i have a carlton tatt, do have a big soft spot for saints, wife is mad saint and go to a lot of games with her.
I would thought being married was enough punishment

cant trust a man who changes teams every few years, have know a few, worst (cousin) was hawks supporters in the 80's, changed to WCE in mid 90's, then to essendon 2000's, now geelong.

Have to ask, is he not quite right?

West Coast is the reason I watch footy, it's pretty much the reason I watch any sport. Started watching in 1992, they were awesome and loved the colours as a youngster. When Port moved in, I instantly became a Port supporter (living in adelaide) as well as continuing with the Eagles. Was never going to support the crows, they creeped me out and their fans are weirdos.

When I was a kid, my Dad used to take me to the footy (now it's me takes him). We'd stand in the outer at Windy Hill. I wore a Terry Daniher number 5 jumper. I had a duffle coat with Paul Salmon, Simon Madden, Billy Duckworth, Paul Van der Haar, Tim Watson and I Hate Carlton badges. And my true hero was an innovative coach named Kevin Sheedy. I revelled in back-to-back premiership success in 1984-85 as my beloved Bombers took all before them.
Life took me to Sydney in the early 1990s and I didn't get to see the Bombers so often. There was the annual game against the Swans at the SCG, and a few pilgrimages to Melbourne every year. By now my heroes were the likes of Long, Wanganeen, Lloyd, Fletcher and Lucas. And of course Kevin Sheedy the visionary was still at the helm. I missed out on tickets in 1993, but was there in 2000 - perched up the top of the old Ponsford Stand as Hirdy's invincibles completed a near unbeaten season.
I never thought I would ever switch, even as my links to Sydney were stronger. Swans games were a welcome footy fix, and many of my best mates are Swans - but they could never be my team.
Sydney is home. I live here, I watch my sport here. It's a great place to live, except that not enough people follow footy. I'd long been a believer that Sydney should have a second team.

Then came the announcement that a second Sydney team was coming. Having lived in Sydney for so long, I was interested.
This was a chance to be there at the start, to be a pioneer for footy in what's far from the game's heartland. As well as being actually able to see my team play more than a couple of times a year. But if this project is to work, we needed start-up supporters - and still need to work to get more.

Some will say it's the wrong thing to switch from a club drawing 60,000 on Easy Street, with a premiership window coming up, to one drawing barely 10% of that on Struggle Street. But Easy Street is a long way away.
I was hardly ever at Essendon anyway - they'd barely notice I wasn't there, because I hadn't been there anyway. But by throwing myself into supporting this new club, I could make a difference, and play my part in growing the game I love in the city I love. And, having believed Sydney should have a second AFL team, to put my money where my mouth is.

At a launch in late 2010, the club announced themselves as the Greater Western Sydney Giants; and the first foundation memberships went on sale. I was the first to sign up, and I've never looked back. I'm in the Orange Army, the cheer squad; and our little group may not have big numbers but we're making our presence felt and punch above our weight in terms of active support.
The Giants have been unbelievable to me. I've had experiences with this club that I'd never have been able to have following a giant club 1000kms away in absentia. This is the best football adventure I've ever had; and I don't regret a thing.
It's not always easy when we lose every week, often by big margins. But we have a good list of young players. And we have hope. Growing support for this new club, far from football heartland, is tough. But I'm determined to what I can to make it work.

If that makes me a turncoat scumbag, then so be it. But a turncoat scumbag who has the interests of our great game at heart.

snipped worthless emotional crap

If that makes me a turncoat scumbag, then so be it. But a turncoat scumbag who has the interests of our great game at heart.

You are a scumbag of the highest order. If you had the interests of our game at heart you'd campaign to fold your pathetic club. What happens when 'life takes you to Hobart', switch to North? Pathetic.

If someone changing football allegiances makes them a scumbag in your eyes, then your priorities are skewed to a very odd degree. I'd always thought scumbags were rapists and thugs...

As for the thread, I often think back to a classmate I had in Primary School whose reaction to Geelong losing in 94 and 95's Grand Finals was to change teams and support Melbourne. God, I wish I was still in touch with him so I could inquire as to how that decision's panned out.

You are a scumbag of the highest order. If you had the interests of our game at heart you'd campaign to fold your pathetic club. What happens when 'life takes you to Hobart', switch to North? Pathetic.

I have an easy life, but far out, yours must be the easiest ever.

Getting, clearly, upset and agitated over someone you will never meet changing who they cheer for on the weekends? Calling them a scumbag?

I have an easy life, but far out, yours must be the easiest ever.

Getting, clearly, upset and agitated over someone you will never meet changing who they cheer for on the weekends? Calling them a scumbag?

Let me guess, swapped in 95. I'm not upset or agitated, just seeing it how it is.

Calling someone a "scumbag" seems at least a little agitated. Far too emotionally invested considering the topic, at least.

And no. The only club I've ever supported in the AFL is Fremantle. They're the only footy club I've ever had a full on interest in. I was born into it.

And let me guess, you helped kill off the state's native competition and swapped in 87?

Not really. Consider my dad was a richmond fan because he liked watching Maurice Rioli play and was a huge west perth fan. He supported richmond in the VFL but he was a west perth fan

Lots of W.A. (especially anyone over 30) would of has two teams, a VFL team they rooted for then a WAFL team, and were far more passionate about the WAFL

Nah, not really.

People only cared about the WAFL because they could go to the games and catch it on TV. You didn't get TV coverage of the VFL, and the only nods on the radio and newspaper were minimal and glossed over.

You might've had a club you liked for some reason (plenty of Perth fans having an affinity for the Bombers or Melbourne Demons, or Claremont and Richmond/Carlton), but no one had a sincere and vested interest.

It's terms like 'turncoats' that stop Tasmania or even Ballarat from getting a club because the AFL is silly enough to think fans wont flock to a local team where they can actually see their team every fortnight because the fans already follow a club. Instead of taking a punt at getting new fans by putting a team in Western Sydney, might work in the long haul but they are sinking millions in the process.

It's interesting how so many Lions supporters on this site have the Gold Coast as one of their "other" teams. I reckon a lot of them are on the cusp of turncoating.

True, I think it's similar to when Fremantle entered the competition many people supported both WA teams. Seems that most fans have firmly settled on one side or the other nearly 20 years down the track though.

There are many adequate reasons for change teams. If you are from Greater Western Sydney and have been supporting Essendon, and have switching because you finally have a team from where you live, that is acceptable.

no it is not

Once you have found the team you want to support then stick with them through thick and thin.

so which one is it then?

once you've sung the song once, that's your team. once you've said out loud "YES WE'VE WON", that's your team. you stick with them. doesn't matter if they're the Equatorial Guinea Butterflies or your local footy club 2nds.

I followed NFL for one year in 1990, I chose the Redskins. I haven't watched NFL in 20 years and I've completely lost interest, but I'm a Washington supporter til the end because that's my team. I'll never follow another NFL team. loyalty.

True, I think it's similar to when Fremantle entered the competition many people supported both WA teams. Seems that most fans have firmly settled on one side or the other nearly 20 years down the track though.

I actually remember being on a bus to waverly in the mid 90's from some scummy train station, I was about 16 years old. WC fan asks me 'what time are the dockers playing?' or some such. 'I don't care I said - they are scum'. He was horrified, could not believe it had come out of my mouth. Obviously never met a Victorian before.

I probably cheered harder for West Coast tonight than I have cheered for the Lions in years, mainly because my brother plays for them (he played quite well today).

Changing teams you support