Chapman gone

Due do the hits on the players heads all 3 ,Franklin, Chapman and Richards should have been suspended not just 2 of them

There is no mystery about it, Mark Fraser predicted this in the Buddy explanation. Richards was Negligent but Chappy was Reckless as he jumped. If you still don't believe this is the reason, when the Verdict video becomes available, watch it and thats what Mark will say again! Now I know its cool to say that you don't understand and its chook lotto but in reality, most of these decisions have been extremely consistent if you take the time to look at it!

I'm not complaining about this verdict, i'm saying the PROCESS they use is behind closed doors, we don't hear their logic.
What we get is Mark Fraser's summary of the reports - not their logic in deliberation.

They could be saying 'for the sake of TV, let's give this guy a week but we'll get the other guy off because that team needs the help'. Then Mark Fraser comes out and says 'we felt it was a week because it was high contact and that one was low'.

If there's nothing to hide then they should release the logic in making the decisions so teams and players can FULLY understand why they came up with what they do, not have it behind closed doors for 10 - 15 mintues so Fraser can give us a 10 second summary later on.
What takes so long to come up with the decision? What's their process? We don't know, we only know the summary of the verdict.

And whether they should or shouldn't be reportable, with the research on brain damage caused by head knocks and the devastating impact that has on peoples lives (look at the suicides of NFL players with brain damage causing mental illness) I can live with my player being ruled out. I hope he isn't but the head needs protecting from what it can be protected from.

Then don't play footy if your worried about consequences 30 years from now. Or be pro-active and wear a helmet if you think it's too rough.
It's not like they have a gun to their head to be paid a million dollars to kick a ball around. They choice to follow this lifestyle and now it's being softened up at the expense of protecting 'what ifs'. As a paying fan of the sport, i'm not paying for that bullshit.
They could have a hammer fall on their head on the job site or get cronic back pain from sitting at a desk for 25 years if they'd prefer to risk life doing anything else for a 10th of the pay and zero security later in life.

I'm not complaining about this verdict, i'm saying the PROCESS they use is behind closed doors, we don't hear their logic.
What we get is Mark Fraser's summary of the reports - not their logic in deliberation.

They could be saying 'for the sake of TV, let's give this guy a week but we'll get the other guy off because that team needs the help'. Then Mark Fraser comes out and says 'we felt it was a week because it was high contact and that one was low'.

If there's nothing to hide then they should release the logic in making the decisions so teams and players can FULLY understand why they came up with what they do, not have it behind closed doors for 10 - 15 mintues so Fraser can give us a 10 second summary later on.
What takes so long to come up with the decision? What's their process? We don't know, we only know the summary of the verdict.

Have you watched all the Verdict videos? Have you watched the Verdict video for round 23 when Buddy went out? If you haven't I would suggest, this is EXACTLY what he does in the video! Exactly what you want. And this ruling, is exactly to what he said would happen if you jump. It would go from Negligent to reckless. If the cats were saying, and I am sure they wouldn't, that they didn't know the difference, then heads should roll for not doing their research.

Here is, BF willing, the exact point where he talks about it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=X4D0fV66gHk#t=71

(if the above link breaks, its yt URL with watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=X4D0fV66gHk#t=71 added to the end).

Have no problem with the league trying to protect the head.
No probs with Chappy and Buddy getting a week, but Richards should have gone too- the lack of consistency is the problem.

Cats fans should be annoyed with Chapman. He knows the rules - don't bump people in the head.

He's now removed himself from their preliminary final team because of this lack of discipline.

Disappointing.
Neither disappointed nor annoyed w Chappy. We are pretty used to it at the cattery these days. Get over it old bean!

2 weeks for a very light bump while impacting an opponents kick. :rolleyes:

Love the Hawk flogs who applaud this while very content that their skipper can break an opponents jaw and elbow another with the pointy end of his elbow without sanction.

Something clearly going on with the MRP that smells a bit fishy.

Are these the same Hawk flog who thought Buddy should get off and were laughed at by Cats supporters?

The fact is Cats people, if you all called for Buddy to be rubbed out then you don't have a leg to stand on here. Neither of them should get done for the bumps they performed IMO, but don't go hanging Buddy out to dry and then come here whining when your bloke gets a week.

Cats fans should be annoyed with Chapman. He knows the rules - don't bump people in the head.

He's now removed himself from their preliminary final team because of this lack of discipline.

Disappointing.

Yes, uneccessary act - was in trouble from the get go the way this is adjudicated. But roger me, it must be difficult to counter that natural instinct in a knock out final when the side is up and about and adrenaline is surging. But I guess that's why they're professionals.

Would be disappointing to see that being his last game. Equally disappointing the comments directed from Hawks fans suggesting they'd like him to play only to rub his nose in it if it were to be his last game. Perhaps someone can clarify what exactly Chappy has done to justify the hate from Hawk fans? Does this date back to the alleged 'pact'?

If so, I can't understand the hate for a player allegedly determined never to lose to a team that beat them in a GF. That resolve is something that has made him a champion and no doubt had some small part in his heroics in the 09 GF. Or is the hate because he has played well against the hawks? I can't recall him being suspended (but happy to be corrected).

Genuinely curious.

Chappy's stands out to me as he clearly left the ground in the bumping motion, whereas Buddy and Richards did not.

Similarly, Buddy and Chappy's were both clumsy, late and unnecessary but Richards' could be easily argued as a shepherd, so i'm not surprised by the respective verdicts

Are these the same Hawk flog who thought Buddy should get off and were laughed at by Cats supporters?

The fact is Cats people, if you all called for Buddy to be rubbed out then you don't have a leg to stand on here. Neither of them should get done for the bumps they performed IMO, but don't go hanging Buddy out to dry and then come here whining when your bloke gets a week.

I honestly think he would have gotten off if he didn't jump. He did cause for the ball to go out on the full but yes, when compared to the Buddy incident, had to go. And I agree, both acts didn't warrant suspension. It's finals football. Free kicks at best.

How the f*** does chapman get reckless when he is going at a bloke with the ball ( yes a little late but not much in it ) & Richards gets negligent when going a bloke who doesn't have the ball & tried to lift the elbow as well on the way through unbelievable

They should either both go or both be reprimand, I agree the jumping thing has been made clear but so has the point if you go past the ball & then choose to bump & get them high & it was reckless & unnecessary for Richards to bump at all

Watch Gerard Whatley spend the entire evening explain and whinge that the bump is dead.

The only thing I felt might of made Buddy's rough was that the team the incident happened against and they then came up against them the next week. It seemed known that sending for scans means medium impact and so why would they not send their player for scans knowing it would see the player outed. Now, if it was the Hawks, I would expect that gamesmanship, so you can't blame the Swans if that was the reason.

But in reality, Buddy has been heading towards that report all season! Thankfully it didn't cost us a game and in fact may have given him a nice freshen up! But yes, Buds week was fine! As is Chappys and as is Richards reprimand. All extremely consistent especially on the back of Pods and Longers (???) earlier results.

JMTC

Well he did get a week. 120 points down to 93.75 with a guilty plea.

What part of Neg - High - Low do you disagree with?
If he got a week okay then. Should be reckless because it was late and the ball was well gone.What constitutes reckless? Maybe they need to make it even more complicated and have deliberate or something-there is a fair gap between neg and reck. How was Buddy's, in particular, graded as worse?

How the f*** does chapman get reckless when he is going at a bloke with the ball ( yes a little late but not much in it ) & Richards gets negligent when going a bloke who doesn't have the ball & tried to lift the elbow as well on the way through unbelievable

Because Chappy jumped off the ground. Ted didn't and neither did Buddy. Jumping pretty much guarantees a head-high hit unless it's Brent Harvey trying to take out Sandilands.

Stop sooking fellas. Nothing in it.

Insufficient force, thrown out.
Just attempting to smother, braced for contact and kept arms in.
That was my take on the incident 100%. No head contact

AFL won't suspend Richards, so they'll have to let them both off. Classic AFL.

No head contact. Nothing to see

1 week down to 0..negligent. Pleads guilty..

Low impact and a bit negligent... early plea... no weeks... all good. Chappy licking his lips to inflict some more pain on the Hawks this Friday night. :thumbsu:

AFL won't suspend Richards, so they'll have to let them both off. Classic AFL.
I don't understand because he got 2 weeks down to 1 .... it's almost like you guys have no idea what you're talking about.

Common-sense decision with Chapman, was what most astute observers thought of Franklin, but the Swans "Bone Bruising" report put him in.

Still haven't seen the Richards incident, which is strange seeing as Franklin's was shown 1000 times before the night was through, and Chapman at least a few dozen.

I think the MRP are running about 90% this year, a massive improvement over previous years. Perhaps removing Gieschen and Anderson (formally or informally) from the process has helped in that regard.

Common-sense decision with Chapman, was what most astute observers thought of Franklin, but the Swans "Bone Bruising" report put him in.

Still haven't seen the Richards incident, which is strange seeing as Franklin's was shown 1000 times before the night was through, and Chapman at least a few dozen.

I think the MRP are running about 90% this year, a massive improvement over previous years. Perhaps removing Gieschen and Anderson (formally or informally) from the process has helped in that regard.

Good call. Bloody tough job if you ask me! All these incidents people say are the same, in reality, rarely are!

Chapman gone