Choco and Wayne Campbell....dammit

RobsJourney

According to Heraldsun Choco wants the Melbourne job and we also look likely to lose Wayne Campbell to the Dogs as their new head of football.

Crap and crap.

It could be seen as a good thing. Well ran football clubs are always being raided by other clubs for their personel. It is a compliment to our football department that other clubs come looking for our guys.

yeah but still, f**k those clubs!

I agree but how long is it since its our guys who have been the hunted? Says to me the club are doing all the right things, and in line with that I would trust them to find quality replacements.

It's all coming from Choco's brother.

When I read the part saying "he felt underused at Tigerland", I thought to myself, well **** that.

While I have been a strong supporter of Choco staying at Richmond (and yes I know his past record) I don't believe Choco is Senior Coach material anymore. He is ideally suited for mentoring now. Not the massive, current, modern job of analysing, coaching and directing an entire playing list.

Melbourne and Choco would implode into one tiny, ugly speck and become another mess in Melbourne's current history.

I wish him luck, but Melbourne would go nowhere under Choco and all Choco would receive from Melbourne is a bunch of Red & Blue ulcers.

Prefer to do without the compliments and keep them. :)

He's an assistant coach, with a fairly minor , but public, role here - 'Development'. He gets a lot of press because 'Ex-Premiership Coach' always makes a good newspaper article. he's always going to get written about more than the Geelong non-entity in charge of their 'Young Player Development' (who incidentally, seems to be doing a good job, too, based on results).

If we give Williams credit for Vlastuin and Ellis, we have to weigh that against Griffiths and Elton.

Obviously, it is better to keep him (he's only been here a short time, and stability is important) - but that will also depend on how much we re paying him - we have a limited Football department budget, and he may be taking up a fair chunk of that. Alternatively, we could have got him cheap because he wanted to keep his name up front for any senior position. He obviously wanted the GWS role, he would love to go back to Port Adelaide, and I reckon he secretly covets the Collingwood job.

He's good for our club, so we should get the most out of him while we can. It certainly won't be forever (unless Hardwick fails, and Williams takes over).

It most cases I reckon it looks like poaching, but it's worth remembering that these guys want larger roles/more cash/more importance. They want better jobs. You can't hold them back from those if you can't offer them one.

With Choco, I've signed the petition and don't want him to go.
But we were always going to be a stopover, it was just a matter of how long.
Not only Melbourne, but Brisbane and West Coast jobs might open up as well.
With Wocka, he wants to be a footy manager and we'd wish him well in this.
But think we have a beauty in Dan Richardson.
:thumbsu:

Lets be honest, we were very lucky to score Choco in the first place and everyone knows he's a better coach than most of the guys with senior jobs now. The positive thing is, with the way we are going and heading there may very well be experienced guys out there happy to move into Choco or Campbell's jobs if they leave:thumbsu:
Out of interest, what's Sheedy doing when he finishes at GWS? Is that this year?

When did you speak to him last, and what did he say?
Spoke to him last week mate, told me that I have a good hairstyle, unlike that Bazzar bloke ;)

But in all seriousness, until we hear directly from him via a club interview or any other media source, then we shouldn't jump to conclusions about where he is or isn't heading.

It will all come out in the wash soon, it's getting exciting down at Richmond, maybe he may want to stick around for the ride.