Roast Chris Mayne Why?

• Thread starter Thread starter THATSGOLD

Sco sometimes your posts come across a little self righteous.

I don't care how I come across TBH.

In this instance I highlighted KM's post because it happens a lot in mainstream media and on here that prospects are talked up 12 months out and that X draft will be a ripper. It almost never pans out that way! For instance KM's original post and follow up view are at odds with the view of Cal Twomey. In terms of knowledge of underage footy I'll back KM in, but Twomey has a much wider network and they can't both be right.

In terms of SV you're wrong it was self indulgent not self righteous. The arrogance with which my POV was treated got to me (I'm human after all) and to see the about face intrigued me.

Wells is alright? He is injury prone. He will play probably 10 more games for the pies at best. Absolute waste of money.
Elite skill levels.
He's in different category to other recruits.
Clubs can take one or two riskier picks like Wells. That's worth it.

Plus he would add a lot with Varcoe to Kirby I would think.

Wells is quality and putting him in the same sentence as say Mayne is just a bit misguided in my view.

We played our best footy when Wells was playing. He just oozes elite skill for mine.
Not something we say too often with our cattle

In this instance I highlighted KM's post because it happens a lot in mainstream media and on here that prospects are talked up 12 months out and that X draft will be a ripper. It almost never pans out that way! For instance KM's original post and follow up view are at odds with the view of Cal Twomey. In terms of knowledge of underage footy I'll back KM in, but Twomey has a much wider network and they can't both be right.

In terms of SV you're wrong it was self indulgent not self righteous. The arrogance with which my POV was treated got to me (I'm human after all) and to see the about face intrigued me.
TW or SV?
Though I get your point.

Will Mayne be paid out before his contract ends? Can't see him being at the club for four years. I don't think they will get rid of him this year but I could imagine them paying him out at the end of next season to free up the list spot.

Elite skill levels.
He's in different category to other recruits.
Clubs can take one or two riskier picks like Wells. That's worth it.

Plus he would add a lot with Varcoe to Kirby I would think.

Wells is quality and putting him in the same sentence as say Mayne is just a bit misguided in my view.

We played our best footy when Wells was playing. He just oozes elite skill for mine.
Not something we say too often with our cattle
Lmfao yes that was relevant a decade ago. He is now 32 and had constant calf injuries. Idiotic pick up.

Tomato or tomato.

SV is one if thw least confrontational posters on here.

I dont watch much TAC footy but a couple of times I've seen players I like and found other noted watchers dont rate them. Thats life. I tend to discount their views after that.

Wells in the next 2 years needs to play 40 games for us to break even, don't think it would have been a big issue had Mayne not been recruited as well, they seem to get bundle in conversation.

Still really don't know what they were thinking with Mayne?

That could be one for the footy shows in 20 years time.

Tomato or tomato.

SV is one if thw least confrontational posters on here.

I dont watch much TAC footy but a couple of times I've seen players I like and found other noted watchers dont rate them. Thats life. I tend to discount their views after that.

Haha you're having a lend yeah? There was a discussion around Mayne being the worst trade in club history and perhaps in the top three worst this century. You have missed the discussion and have no idea what you're talking about. And no it was most definitely SV and not yourself I was referring too...

I was also referring simply to "midfielders draft" or "super draft" comments that get thrown around incorrectly. Given I'm attempting to clarify that for a second time I don't think I can convince you of my POV and you'll probably think it's self righteous still anyway so I'm out.

Wells is alright? He is injury prone. He will play probably 10 more games for the pies at best. Absolute waste of money.

have to with respect dis agree with you
already played 6 so 10 no problems
wells has always been elite , pure class
great pick up and has added plenty and will add more , disapointed like all that his off season has set him back ,but he is too and he miscalculated , watch out going forward ,he alone improves us and all players forward with his intelligent ball use and confidence others have in him
I have enormous respect for him as a player like all who know the game and i asumed that not playing at the concrete dump would assist his so called durability ,didnt like most take into account the shifting sands of the Holden centre.
on a side note
anyone else been on that ground (personally it too is a shit hole)feels spongy and shifty to me, and maybe thats one of our problems with injuries as well.
didnt seem to get them at Vic park if i recall as often on a long established ground.

Mayne looks a total bust.
There is basically nothing he could do, or is capable to do that will redeem this one.
But I gave him his chance, it's a bust.
Cop it fair and square and move on.
He's not the future. And sadly he's not even the present.

I'd certainly hang on to our early draft pick and go for best available key forward, absolutely.
I'd even trade for lower pick assuming we can get this Sutherland fellow that seems the logical key player touted?
Or another ten year A grade potential key forward.

But knowing our luck we'll somehow miss by one the elite talent and get some trying hard Josh Fraser type.
That's a good ten year player over say the number 29 of Fremantle..... still get chills about it.

(Though everybody said Fraser was a golden ticket! That's the Collingwood luck. We get the other guy Pavlich I think his name was, we may have won 2002 and 2007)
yep josh fraser cops it again
a better grand finals goal kicking average than j brown for a start and a great technical ruckman in fact one of the best forward rucks ive seen
never ever were winning in 02 nor 07 the FIX was in

You really cant say we haven't done well with our drafting over the years, think most clubs would have taken Fraser #1
Yes he was THE touted one of the time.
As it was, the classic, not quite big enough to be in seniors what he was in juniors.

My real point was, the Collingwood luck, we get the absolute agreed upon best junior of the time. but then he just doesn't quite become elite, or even A grade actually, unlike the year of Nick Reiwoldt who absolutely does meet his junior status in seniors. Or that Pavlich wasn't touted as best in class (Fraser was) and we got him instead.

yep josh fraser cops it again
a better grand finals goal kicking average than j brown for a start and a great technical ruckman in fact one of the best forward rucks ive seen
never ever were winning in 02 nor 07 the FIX was in
Not picking on josh Fraser, merely saying he wasn't Riewoldt or Pavlich.
That's how it goes, we didn't quite get the luck. But happens to other teams too.

Will Mayne be paid out before his contract ends? Can't see him being at the club for four years. I don't think they will get rid of him this year but I could imagine them paying him out at the end of next season to free up the list spot.

A new coach will be given the "opportunity" of seeing if the club can recoup anything out of the Mayne investment. He will be on our list in 2018 imo.

Haha you're having a lend yeah? There was a discussion around Mayne being the worst trade in club history and perhaps in the top three worst this century. You have missed the discussion and have no idea what you're talking about. And no it was most definitely SV and not yourself I was referring too...

I was also referring simply to "midfielders draft" or "super draft" comments that get thrown around incorrectly. Given I'm attempting to clarify that for a second time I don't think I can convince you of my POV and you'll probably think it's self righteous still anyway so I'm out.

Mate clearly some wires are getting crossed here.

I can live with the punt on Wells.

Mayne for 4 years was a headscratcher. We can only hope it was a significantly front ended deal so we can pay out his later years.
Wells is a class act and agree worth the punt. I can see why Mayne was recruited but it has been a failure to date and does not look like improving. He will be on the list next year and I hope we can get some games into to him this year to know for sure if he/we can turn it around. Not holding my breath though.

The punt on Wells is only valid if we were finals contenders. The problem is we over rated the talent we had. That makes the Wells recruitment a very risky punt and ultimately a mistake.

The Mayne recruitment I just can't fathom. He's gone downhill over the last 3 years at about the same rate as Collingwood - probably more so given he can't even get a game at Collingwood. If the Gubby influence on this decision is as has been speculated then I can only assume it is reflective of how he saw the talent on our list. It was rumoured at the time that Gubby came in to assess the on and off field stocks and make the appropriate changes. I guess he didn't have the time to do that job but bringing in Mayne never made sense IMO. Either Gubby has lost his touch or he just got one wrong. If he drove the Wells decision then I'd be backing the former.

Wells and Mayne did not make no sense at all from the get go.
1. Based on the ridiculous long jeopardy of there contracts.
2.we paid overs for both.
3.becouse of there age.
4. No upside on either, just down side.
5. We could have banked the 1.1 or 1.2 million we spent on both of them. And chased way more appealing free agents this year.

Wells and Mayne did not make no sense at all from the get go.
1. Based on the ridiculous long jeopardy of there contracts.
2.we paid overs for both.
3.becouse of there age.
4. No upside on either, just down side.
5. We could have banked the 1.1 or 1.2 million we spent on both of them. And chased way more appealing free agents this year.

Yep.

If we were pushing for a flag you could convince me on Wells, but anyone who thought we were serious finals contenders this year needs their head read. Head scratching all round.

Yep.

If we were pushing for a flag you could convince me on Wells, but anyone who thought we were serious finals contenders this year needs their head read. Head scratching all round.
If Jamie Elliott had been fit all year, and Fasolo hadn't had his problems, we would have been finals contenders. The margin was that fine.