Chris Tarrant - Did we do the right thing?

It is too simplistic to compare the output of Chris Tarrant in year 1 of a trade to that of #8 draft pick and Paul Medhurst.

Freo picked up Tarrant because they believe their time is right now........we traded Tarrant because we are in the process of building a 5 year continuous assault on the top 4......that in my belief starts next year. Reed will hopefully be a key component of that assault in seasons 2010, 2011 and 2012.

The development of a young Travis Cloke has already made Chris Tarrant a distant memory and irrelevant. There is no way Cloke would be blossoming the way he has if Tarrant was still playing for the pies.

Tarrants ability to create scoring shots for his team mates is not being missed by us. We do not have a problem with creating scoring opportunities....the likes of Didak, Rocca, Davis and Cloke will see to that......Medhurst would rather pass a kidney stone than the football but right now the way we are converting, that probably aint a bad thing.

Our issue is conversion.....and Tarrant would only add to those woes.

I think Freo would be happy with Tarrants performances of the past few weeks. I think Freo will come good and will be a shot at the premiership...and I think Tarrant will be a big part of that....especially at Subiaco.

There doesn't have to be winners and losers in a trade. You can have both teams benefit or both teams lose out......if Tarrant is a key player in Freo's finals drive this season they would consider the trade a success. If we continue to develop as a team and Reed can play 200 games for a continual premiership contender....then we will be thrilled.

If we continue to develop as a team and Reed can play 200 games for a continual premiership contender....then we will be thrilled.

If we continue to be a premiership contender i will have to have a date with the west gate! I want to actually win one! We are traditionally far and away the best premiership contender in the league. I want results! :)

It will be interesting to see what transpires !
Collingwoood meet Freo in 2 weeks time.Tarrant will play against us for the first time and Medhurst will play against his old side.
Pity I am going to miss the game ,I'll be flying home from Las Vegas .I'll have to check papers for the outcome.
Although,if Ben Reid comes along next year,the trade was worth it.
I still believe we have seen the best of Chris Tarrant.

Still is really hard to tell at this stage. I think you guys got a good one in Medhurst if you can ever get him out on the park. If you can get Travis Cloke to step up and kick straight i don't think you'll have any regrets.

I've been to quite a few pie games this year and cloke still looks to struggle a lot. he has no problems getting the ball but in front of goal is at times comical.

still feel taz is a very handy pick up for freo. him and pav runnin round up forward is a scary thought but guess with a side like freo its not too worryin.... for them to hand up the performance they have when at the start of the year they were flag favourites, makes no sense!!!

Pavlich and Taz have no chemistry whatsoever.

However I think Chris Connolley is the worst coach in the AFL so it could be a fault in the gameplan, as they've always had a pretty good forward line but it was never really a strength of theirs. There is no blocking for each others leads, or leading into each others space (especially the space Taz leaves) that should be happening.

I don't think there's much difference betwen Travis and what Taz was offering before he left. They both work hard, never stop leading, take some strong marks, and both make you want to watch their kicking at goal with your hand over eyes. Upside is Trav is a kid.

Don't get me wrong boys, i was one of the biggest taz fans goin around during his time in the famous black & white, but we did do a wonderful thing in trading him. Tarrant has 2 maybe 3 years of optimum footy left in him, during this time chances are we not going to be seriously pushing for a flag (maybe 2009, fingers crossed) so instead we've brought in quality kids that will be playing top footy when we are good enough for a premiership tilt. Not too mention he was a trouble maker. Pies got it right!

taz was one of my fav players when he was playin but now that he left i think we will finish off better.

something that i think is wierd is that we traded him for no.8 in the draft (ben reid) whic is what number we got taz for in 97.:confused:

Tarrant v Cloke
Naturally Tarrant is more of a complete player at the moment because he has been at this level for much longer, but if you look at the two I think most people would go with Cloke because he's young and still has a lot of improvement left in him. I think theres probably some technical flaw in his kicking (I have no idea what it is) which is why he's inaccurate whereas Tarrant was a guy who just could not kick goals when it mattered. He always kicked them when the game was already won or lost.

I agree with Maxwell in that off loading Tarrant was a good move. Yeah he will have some big games for the Dockers, but Reid will for us and we'll get to see him play more big games because he's fresh off the blocks.

yer it was a good decision. tarrant was a dud. even though he is playing good footy at freo i watched him play the other week and he cant kick straight he kicks helicopters. just wait soon fremantle will be wishing they never got him and we got medhurst.

WHAT??? stupidest thing ive heard. freo are happy with him and no chance of him leaving for a few years

Yep, Taz "dropping the ball from his shoulders" when going in to kick.

Did anyone see Rix and his shots on goal? Geez his action is laughable

Yes, but thats taking NOTHING away from Chris Tarrant, who has the ability to be one of the best forward in the AFL if he tries hard enough, with a little luck. He obviously does do the things that you want to see in forwards, he runs, and always chases, and thats an invaluable asset. But he is heading towards the wrong side of his 20s, and we got ourselves a very young raw 18yo with the potential to be A LOT more versatile then Taz. Reid seems to have the potential to be more naturally talented, and thats what we need.
Medhurst is also a slight quick fix until Reid develops and is the ??? of the package, and I mean ??? in a good way, because Meddy can turn out to be the biggest part of this deal!

I come here in peace.

I was a knocker of Tarrant and I must admit that I realise now that it was because he was a Collingwood player initially.

Now he's at Freo, I realise, he's overrated legitimately. He really doesn't do a lot as far as team contribution is concerned. He does take a good grab, and always has, but goalkicking is something I don't think he's been great at and tonight again showed.

Let's hope he does get his act together because it'd be massive waste of talent if he doesn't.

So do I think you've given something up that you shouldn't have. No, not in the slightest.

I come here in peace.

I was a knocker of Tarrant and I must admit that I realise now that it was because he was a Collingwood player initially.

Now he's at Freo, I realise, he's overrated legitimately. He really doesn't do a lot as far as team contribution is concerned. He does take a good grab, and always has, but goalkicking is something I don't think he's been great at and tonight again showed.

Let's hope he does get his act together because it'd be massive waste of talent if he doesn't.

So do I think you've given something up that you shouldn't have. No, not in the slightest.

Very good post mate :thumbsu:

I come here in peace.

I agree with you that people rubbish our players just because of who they play for. But the rest of your post is largely rubbish.

When fully fit, Tarrant is a genuine gun. We all know that, even despite his wobbly goalkicking. We got a good trade for him on the basis that he's a genuine AA player. He's having a good year at Freo.

I come here in peace.

The only thing he can't do is kick accurately for goal. He is a very good team player, he covers plenty of ground and works hard to lock the ball in. And he is also excellent at goal assists for a big bloke. Which all in all renders your post a load of bollocks. When he was up for trade EVERY club was in the queue until he limmited his choices to staying or going to the West, not bad for an "overated player". You really should try to watch the other teams play more often and that might broaden your knowledge, MIGHT.

for once in their history, collingwood did do the right thing. tarrant reminds me of kent kingsley. has 1 good year where he kicks a few goals, becomes the focal point down forward, then gets the best defender and cant hack it.

both kingsley and tarrant are good 2nd or 3rd string fwds, whilst tarrant was at collingwood and kingsley at geelong, they were always going 2 b seen as the focal point up fwd. rocca has passed it, so tarrant was in most peoples eyes a natural successor to rocca as the focal point up fwd.

tarrant will never b a superstar, but will b a handy pick up for freo as pavlich is always going 2 get the best defender, i dont know who collingwood got for tarrant, but hopefully (eventhough i do naturally hate collingwood) he will be a better player in the long run. tarrant will chip in for 40 or 50 goals a year at freo, medhurst, whilst he is a hungo, is a miraculous player.

kingsley should go well at richmond as richo always gets the number 1 defender and he should have the same year (goals wise) as taz. but put simply, with all the expectation on tarrant at the pies, he was never going 2 live up 2 it, so, in the end, better 2 get rid of him, ease the pressure on the cap, and get on with life

Tarrant reminds you of Kent Kingsley:confused: Tarrant >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Kent Kingsley. You need to put down the crack pipe my friend.

Good trade for both teams I reckon. Tarrant has been great for us. If he has kicked straight = AA. As it is still very good for us.

But I tell yo one thing... Medder will never, ever be a midfielder.