gbatman

Justice League
In my mind there are two major issues Carlton need to deal with before we can be one of the top clubs in the competition and that is clearances, particularly from the center and dealing with the blind long kick to no one in particular/not to advantage.

Clearances are definitely the big issues for the team, particularly with clearing it from the center. This has been an issue since beyond 2009 when we recruited Brock Mclean to assist in this problem but since then we haven't really made great strides. Curnow and Bell have came to the club for the same purpose but are yet to really impose. 2011 Carlton did fairly well in comparison to other recent seasons but the problem was still there and was masked with the defences ability that season to stop goals and rebound from defence.

The top 4 clearance sides of 2012 were Hawthorn, Adelaide, Sydney and Collingwood in that order which just so happens to be the order of the 2012 Ladder. We can not succeed in finals unless we join these sides and become a top 4 or top 5 minimum clearance side.

Forget our alleged lack of quality key position forwards, there is a bigger hole. Big forwards don't do so well when it's not coming to them and they aren't getting some ball coming cleanly from the center. Likewise the defenders will eventually be worn down by the ball coming their way far too often from ball ups.

The top clearance players in 2012 were Josh Kennedy, Scott Thompson, Patrick Dangerfield, Sam Mitchell, Jobe Watson and Joel Selwood is up there in center clearances.

People look at our midfield and it looks great on paper. Judd, Carrazzo, Murphy, Simpson, Mclean, Gibbs. These guys were beaten 17 - 9 in the nab cup grand final by a side tipped not to make the 8. This group has been beaten and smashed time and time again in the past. They are good players, they are good in open play but close it up, make it a physical contest and they are regularly beaten.

You look at the names listed here and compare those to the top Clearance players in the AFL. Carlton don't have a player like Kennedy, Thompson, Dangerfield, Mitchell, Watson and Selwood. Judd at his best is a great clearance player but he's not a big strong bullocking player, he's powerful, smart, skilful, brave and hits the ball hard. Murphy is a very good footballer but not yet a big clearance king and Gibbs has a lot to prove. Carrazzo has had his good moments but hasn't fired during the nab cup at all. Is he waiting for round 1? Mclean has his good days but his starts to games are poor, he doesn't hit the footy with a great deal of force or momentum and is not in the class of these mentioned players. He's not really a powerful hard hitting player. Maybe he could be but at this stage he is not one of the top clearance players in the comp. Simpson is a wingman and not built for the inside stuff.

So where is our next A grade clearance player/players coming from? The last time we had a player that fits the description of having a big and strong body, skills to play on the ball and pace and power was Kouta. He was the last player we had in the center who could consistently beat opponents physically. Could our first grade onballers step up this season and make Carlton a top clearance side and hence a top side? There is a lot to prove.

Mitch Robinson I thought would play a role here. He's hard at it and is big and strong but his skills let him down and he lacks consistancy. Tom Bell looks a likely type. He does have the size and strength but has a bit to go in perfecting his game in here. David Ellard was going well early nab cup until he was injured.

The future looks good but these guys are a few years down the track. Graham and Menzel are both good sized well built kids that have serious class. Buckley is only a little bloke at this stage but goes hard and who knows how he will end up, has the pedigree for a clearance player. These guys are a long way off yet though.

Ed Curnow is a well built hard at it in close player, could he step up? His disposal can let him down at times but he could improve. But to what level? Jaryd Cachia is potentially a guy who could be promoted to play a strong bodied hard nose in our center but can he get on the end of it enough? I know MM was grooming O'Keefe earlier in the year to play a role in here but again he is injured. I thought Touhy was the right build and athlete type to go on the ball but so far we haven't seen it. Duigan is a strong body but I am not sure if he has what it takes. Again we haven't seen him in there.

This years premiership midfield consists of players like Jack, O'Keefe, Kennedy, Bolton and Goodes who are big powerful competitive hard hitting animals. IMO we have a long way to catch them. The next big thing in player drafting will be, if it isn't already, is selecting players who can put on size/muscle, carry it without it hindering them and that can play midfield, read if off the ruckmen and win contested ball thought I am sure that is hard to identify at draft age but those that can win premierships.

Malthouse has a fair bit of work on his hands when it comes to taking us into the top 4 in my opinion and whether or not we make the top 4 will all come down to how our midfield steps up this season in regards to successfully clearing the ball out of the center and how we go winning the clearances around the ground this season. Last time he coached he had Swan, Ball and Pendlebury who were very successful at clearing from stoppages. Building our current group up to be able to do that is the key to our success.

Does any one think it is the players and a lack of particular types or is it something to do with how we set up at stoppages or how we go about it?

Don't let the media blow smoke up our midfields arse by saying how good it is and how our forward line or backline or lack of quality talls are our problem, this just isn't true. Our midfield is our weakness. When we lose, it is most often because we have been beaten here. We have not dominated in the midfield consistently for a very very long time and this is the reality.

IMO this is our greatest hurdle.

Oli Wines would have been a great get, but not to be.
I agree with what you have posted gbatman. Very good write up on one, if not our biggest issue.
I was a little surprised we didn't go after Moloney in trade month... Not sure what Brisbane had to give up for him, but going just on pre season, he seems a good get for them.

Kouta was a manufactured inside mid after he slowed down through injury. Do we have anybody else that we can manufacture into an inside mid because of their strength? We used to see Pavlich and even Jonno Brown take turns in the centre square. Do we have someone like that we can use?

I reckon Walker has potential to stand in a tackle and dish off. Failing that it is a matter of waiting for Bell who has the obvious attributes.

We're skinny and weak. More Tom Bell is definitely part of the answer.

We also should probably lay off recruiting the Andrew Walker, Kane Lucas, Dennis Armfield, Shaun Grigg, rangey athlete types and invest in the odd tank. Even our "hard in and under" types like Ellard and McLean aren't exactly physically imposing.

I reckon Bell almost warrants a game purely to give us a boost in this area. Forget the ball sometimes, just crash the man. We are far too pleasant to play against.

Oli Wines would have been a great get, but not to be.
I agree with what you have posted gbatman. Very good write up on one, if not our biggest issue.
I was a little surprised we didn't go after Moloney in trade month... Not sure what Brisbane had to give up for him, but going just on pre season, he seems a good get for them.

Moloney would have been a great get I would have though but it wasn't to be. I've often thought this.

Beautiful post - can we frame this post?

Just stick it on the fridge.

Kouta was a manufactured inside mid after he slowed down through injury. Do we have anybody else that we can manufacture into an inside mid because of their strength? We used to see Pavlich and even Jonno Brown take turns in the centre square. Do we have someone like that we can use?

I reckon Walker has potential to stand in a tackle and dish off. Failing that it is a matter of waiting for Bell who has the obvious attributes.

How would Simon White go in there? I big pinch hitter is an option to go in there when we are getting belted.

Not sure about White. In an ideal world, Mitchell would run all day and have the skillset of say the Hawks Mitchell. He would be one brutal midfielder. Get around him!!!

Marcus Davies?, Simon White? I don't know. Cluching at straws really.

Does Mick give a game to Bell just because he's a big boy? I assume he hasn't had much game time this preseason for a reason and he doesn't appear injured.

Or has Mick seen enough previously to know Bell will be playing rnd 1 anyway (hope so).

Having played in the middle against guys who have 10 to 12 kgs on me was hard yakka. You can do it but let me tell you it's alot easier to put a big man down when he's moving at speed vs hardly moving at all which is pretty much the case of first possession at a centre bounce.

I've long said that White is someone who I would like to see trialed through the middle of the ground. Doesn't appear to be in the plans though, as if it were I would have thought we'd see it at some stage throughout the NAB Cup.

A feature of his game that has long been talked about is his running ability. Would have been great to see it get tested a little more through the preseason.

Friday night's clearances were more a matter of Brisbane's on-ballers sharking our ruckwork than anything else. We smashed them in hitouts, but they consistently went to the opposition. I don't think it was a matter of quality - there was something fundamentally wrong with our setup.

That said, having a bull like Bell in the middle always helps.

Your best thread yet Gbatman :thumbsu:

I agree with the calls for Bell to be in the team. He can barge past opposition midfielders and can't be bumped off the ball. Has shown he can win enough of it in the VFL, now needs game time in the AFL to become a 25+ disposal per game on baller.

Moloney would have been a great get I would have though but it wasn't to be. I've often thought this.

Just stick it on the fridge.

With respect..............FFS!?!?! :confused:

And if people remember we were one of the best at this in 2011 (ranked 3rd behind filth and swans) and 2nd in 2010 (behind swans)

After 3 rounds last year, I would expect we would've been first and then sh!t hit the fan and got injuries. Haven't recovered since

Up close: 2009 NAB AFL U18 All-Australian team
Lucas provides good run and carry with 35 handball receives for the carnival, but also isn’t afraid to get his hands dirty with 14 clearances and 34 contested possessions over the tournament's five matches.
Up close: 2009 NAB AFL U18 All-Australian team

I know Sugar doesn't kick like Gibbs, Yarran, etc. but his clean hands and agility in traffic bar the odd error have been impressive. Showed his poise and run in 2010 before tearing his hamstring twice.

One doesn't need to be a beast to win the ball and get it out. Pendlebury doesn't exactly play like Dangerfield, Selwood, Kennedy, etc. who smash themselves and barge their way through. Hughes said Lucas played midfield on Scully in the championships.

We're definitely underselling the effectiveness of Judd, Murphy, Mclean, Robinson, Curnow and Gibbs who can win centre clearances in the middle and at stoppages. Hard to write off Gibbs as a mid when he hasn't been played there.
I've long said that White is someone who I would like to see trialed through the middle of the ground. Doesn't appear to be in the plans though, as if it were I would have thought we'd see it at some stage throughout the NAB Cup.

A feature of his game that has long been talked about is his running ability. Would have been great to see it get tested a little more through the preseason.
Ridiculous call. A KPP such as White would be killed. Don't know why you would propose this. He's no Walker who is approx. the same height, but can run like a mid and break out of traffic.

I think Judd's below-standard (massive standards that they are) season last year really showed this as a possible cause for concern last year.

In 2011 he was 2nd in Total Clearances, 5th in Total Contested Posessions and 1st in Total Goal Assists.
In 2010 he was 4th in Total Clearances, 5th in Total Contested Possessions

When he wasn't firing in 2012, there wasn't anyone who was stepping up to fill that void.

Now, I'm optimistic for a return to form for him now that this is possibly his last season, there's no captaincy requiring his undivided attention and psychologically that must be freeing and physically less demanding as he now doesn't have to be the #1 training player when he's not feeling 100%, as he has admitted to probably training too overzealously when he should have been resting his wearied body. But there's very little chance he will hit the clearance and contested possession levels that he had in 2010 & 2011.

So, who's going to step up?

Carrazzo was 13th in 2012 with 6.1 per game. His work definitely can go unnoticed, and I think that MM's game-plan of not going in with a full-blown tagger means this may free up Carrots to do some more in and under work with freedom this year.

Murphy was 21st in 2012, below players like Tuck & Liberatore. Now, obviously he isn't a complete inside midfielder like these two names but when other players in a similar vein to Murphy like Beams & Pendlebury are getting more of their own clearances per game, it means that he can probably elevate this aspect of his game.

Finally, I think there's a real chance for Gibbs to prove himself in this respect. He was the leading contested ball and clearance player in the U/18 championships and was playing in a midfield full of grown men in SA when he was 16. I think there's an inside midfielder here waiting to be utilised.

Also, for all the plaudits McClean received for his revival last year, you would be suprised to know that he was only averaging 4.4 clearances a game. Less than some part-time mids like Blair (4.6), Cruize Garlett (4.7) and ruckman Ben Hudson (4.6). I think this also might indicate that Brock does a lot more outside running and link-up work than he may get credit for, but that his insane endurance gut running, spread and racking up late possessions needs to be complemented with more of his own clearance work.

---

Also, Tom Bell was averaging 4.1 clearances per game for his 7 games last season. He was 3rd overall in this statistic for eligible rising star players, only being beaten by Toby Greene (freak) and Mitch Wallis (pedigree, pure inside game and more experience). I have been really surprised at how little he has featured in this pre-season and I haven't heard from anyone let alone MM as to why this has been the case. He was the most exciting discovery for us last year and I'm wondering whether he's suffering from 2nd season blues, or if MM felt someone like Ellard or Curnow was a better fit for the role.

Ridiculous call. A KPP such as White would be killed. Don't know why you would propose this. He's no Walker who is approx. the same height, but can run like a mid and break out of traffic.

It may have been a ridiculous call if White was a KPP - but he's not.

Simon has in the past been forced to play in a position which he is not necessarily suited to. He has been included in the senior side largely on the back of injuries to the likes of Jamison and Henderson and as a result has been required to play as a key defender. That is not his go and we have often seen him struggle as a result. His best position is, quite clearly, as a 3rd tall at either end, flexibility being the main asset he brings to the table. Another main asset, which we have yet to really see is his running ability. We've heard plenty about it but as yet have not really seen it - mainly due to 1) being forced to play out of position, and 2) not being available or considered for selection when Jamison and Henderson have been fit.

Who is suggesting he is a Walker who is an athletic freak? That's quite a long bow you've drawn there, I most certainly have not made that comparison.

Would you endorse White as a midfield candidate if there was a 30 second youtube video available which demonstrated him running through the midfield at AFL level 3 years ago? :rolleyes:

The midfield seemed to go OK in the 4 games or so games when it was all playing together last year, so I think we are over reacting to the loss (I am a big fan of Bell though).

No point putting big bodies in the centre square if they can't find the ball. Jordan Russell is a good example of this and the jury is still out on Gibbs despite his good NAB form.

One doesn't need to be a beast to win the ball and get it out. Pendlebury doesn't exactly play like Dangerfield, Selwood, Kennedy, etc. who smash themselves and barge their way through. Hughes said Lucas played midfield on Scully in the championships.

Let me try that again.

And yet Pendlebury is listed at the same weight as White (91kg) and 1cm taller at 191. Alot harder to move out of the way at a centre bounce than someone like murphy who's listed at 82kg and 182 cm's.

There are more and more big midfielders contesting stoppages these days and we need at least one if not two of our own in there to create space and/or muscle the ball out.

I'm not saying they all have to be gorilla's, they don't but it would certainly give our setup more presence.

I think Gibbs and Bell are the answer.
Both of these players are just starting their AFL centre bounce careers.
Realistically we can expect improvement from them in the clearance numbers the more they play in the guts.
They are both big strong men, one of which is supremely talented in all aspects of the game, the other is just learning the ropes.
Add Kreuzer to the mix and I think that is enough big midfielders.

I think Gibbs and Bell are the answer.
Both of these players are just starting their AFL centre bounce careers.
Realistically we can expect improvement from them in the clearance numbers the more they play in the guts.
They are both big strong men, one of which is supremely talented in all aspects of the game, the other is just learning the ropes.
Add Kreuzer to the mix and I think that is enough big midfielders.

I think that's the best answer. I also think that this is something that will come from incremental improvement from all players in the midfield. I think rather than thinking we need to trade in a seasoned inside mid (like Moloney), I think this is just something that will be helped by every midfield lifting their clearance and contested possession rates this year.